We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawrenny Lodge
Ranked #5 of 23 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Lawrenny lodge is a great place to stay the owner is a lovely lady nothing is to much trouble she was very friendly and polite our room was spotlessly clean we had the best nights sleep and a great choice of
Breakfast top service all round we would definitely be going again on our next visit xx xx Lee and si

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2015

Spotlessly clean property with excellent view from conservatory , good breakfast choice .
Guest bottled beers and wines available from small bar , nicely appointed bathroom with large fluffy towels and feather duvets and pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beefCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The Lawrenny Lodge is just slightly up and away from the centre of Barmouth, but this is a distinct benefit, in that it is in a quieter area with excellent views across the estuary, close to Barmouth bridge, but still only a ten minute walk into the town.
For the slightly more energetic, there are some fantastic hill walks nearby, giving very rewarding views for your efforts.
Our room wasn't one of those overlooking the estuary, but nevertheless is was very comfortable and clean and totally served its purpose. The owners are friendly, welcoming and keen to help you get the most out of your stay. They kindly arranged an earlier breakfast for us one day when we were going out for the day and also lent us some walking maps for another trip.
The breakfasts were of excellent quality.
My wife and I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Lawrenny Lodge and will certainly be returning there in future.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MeboII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Myself and a group of friends first stayed here in June 2014 because we had entered the Trail Marathon Wales in Coed Y Brenin.

I have since been back 3 times! Twice to compete in the race and once with my partner.

Robyn and Ade (the owners) are superb hosts and do everything they can to make your stay happy and comfortable.
There are a variety of rooms which are all well maintained and spotlessly clean. There is plenty of choice at breakfast, with fruit, cereals, full Welsh, a daily special and a different muffin every day.

Barmouth town is just a short walk away, with a few restaurants, pubs, shops etc. It also has a wonderful beach. If you're interested in walking, the owners are pretty knowledgeable and will suggest various routes for you to try.

Scenery is amazing, especially if you travel to the local forest parks.

If you're thinking of visiting this area, then I would definitely recommend Lawrenny Lodge. I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights - paid a little extra for a sea view and found ourselves in a nice, bright room with double windows looking out across the road to the estuary. Everything was spotless and there were thoughtful touches, like a cafetiere with fresh coffee, a jug of fresh milk for your tea on request, and big fluffy towels! The bed was big and comfy and two cane chairs by the far window were good for sitting and reading the paper, or just watching the world go by. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided delicious breakfasts, including freshly made fruit salad, breakfast muffins and a daily special which ranged from pancakes to eggs Benedict - as an alternative to the traditional full breakfast. Home-made bread for the toast and delicious marmalade (also home-made?) completed the meal. We also liked the cosy little sitting room / bar area downstairs, where we could enjoy a nightcap after returning from our evening meal in the town. This guest house is also really well situated - not right in the centre of town, but only a few minutes' walk away, and with its own off-road parking. We decided to park the car and not use it for the 3 days we were there - it's an easy walk to the station, so on two days we took the train along the coast - one day to walk back over the hills and the other to visit Harlech. We would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickieHaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barmouth hotels
1.7 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
0.1 km away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
219 reviews
1.3 km away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ocean Drive
Ocean Drive
#1 of 23 in Barmouth
175 reviews
0.5 km away
The Tilman
The Tilman
#6 of 23 in Barmouth
55 reviews
0.6 km away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#4 of 23 in Barmouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range: S$121 - S$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrenny Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing