We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
310
171
67
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
171
67
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi golf course pool bar included in our package tennis courts la plazuela main pool off the menu rest and relaxation piano player room number lobster king bed small beach each meal all inclusive plan quick boat ride
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Let’s start with the positives- this place is beautiful! Staff were friendly and most of them had some English. The included breakfast buffet had an incredible number of choices and everything I tried was delicious. The restaurant by the pool had delicious food that could be delivered to your pool lounger.

While the water taxi to Barra de Navidad isn’t included in the hotel price, for 30 pesos round trip with 24 hour service, it is an incredible value and allows many more choices to eat and shop. Tip: if stairs are difficult for you, go out the front door by the lobby and someone will drive you down to the water taxi via golf cart.

The hotel is built in several buildings going up the side of the hill, and so many times you cannot get somewhere directly. From our room on the 5th floor to the breakfast restaurant, also on the 5th floor, we had to go up to the 6th floor and then back down again. Friends who were on the 10th floor had to take 2 different elevators to get to the 6th floor (lobby level).

The inconsistent: Scuba is advertised as available. However no one I asked seemed to have any information and the closest PADI shop I was able to find was in Manzanillo which was time prohibitive for me. The resort has been renamed in the past few years but is still using old collateral, so items weren’t available or were made inconsistently- the same drink at the pool bar tasted and looked differently on 2 different days. We had dinner one night in the restaurant that has the breakfast and one half of our party had drink orders taken but never received them, and plates of food were brought and set at the serving station to get cold for long enough that someone got up and physically found a server to ask them if that was our food and get it delivered.

Some individuals checking in had a credit authorization placed on both people’s credit card, others only had 1 auth for much less money places. With credit card fraud always a concern these days, the practice of writing down the full credit card info including digits in the back to the pre-auth receipt did not inspire confidence, although nothing untoward happened to anyone I was traveling with.

We were on the bed&breakfast plan which included breakfast each day, so I cannot speak to the all-inclusive package.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank TwinCitiesVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We had our wedding here at Isla Navidad and all of our guests were amazed at the beauty of the place and loved the service. It’s truly a hidden gem. Everyone in the resort and even the nearby towns are so friendly and will go out of their way to show you around and make sure you have a good time. It’s a little isolated but that’s what makes it so special and relaxing. We had the best week and will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lerudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, Gerente at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a wonderful vacation at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort.
The personal attention to every each guest is our most recognized hallmark.
I look forward to welcome you personally on your next visit.

Cordially,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This hotel is located on an island with a view of the lagoon and marina at Barra de Navidad. It is large and well maintained with almost all the services you can imagine. The access is by a small panga water taxi from the Barra side. You have a feeling that you are in an exotic location as you look out from the terrace.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank inov8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, Gerente at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the Trip advisor community. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the surroundings. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. This beautiful paradise will always receive you as your home in Mexico.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Just returned from a two week vacation at Grand Bay. To our surprise we ran into friends we met two years ago who love this resort like us. We couldn’t believe how welcomed we were from all the staff who recognized us (missed last year but have been going for the last six years.) You certainly do not get this from other resorts. It is small and homey and we love the atmosphere. We can’t believe people complain about waiting for food - you are on holiday so what is the hurry. Sit back and enjoy. Kudos go out to all the staff -Eric, Anna,Gustavo, Luis, Jennifer, Miguel, Juan,Alfonzo, Lorenzo, Pedro,Gabrielle, Abraham, Hiram and the list goes on. Juan Carlos even stopped us and asked how we were doing. Yes, there could be some improvements but we find this resort a very relaxing spot from a very busy world. See you again.
Gary and Linda

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ljgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, Gerente at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018


We want to thank you for your comments. It is always good to hear that our customers are pleased with our service. Needless to say it was our pleasure having you here at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort. I was delighted to read your comments regarding how you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments of the property and service are gratifying for all the staff including myself.
We look forward to welcoming you again to this Mexican paradise in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We spent the last 2 weeks of Feb. at the Grand and enjoyed our time there very much. The golfing was included in our package this year. The caddy and the cart are not included. The course was in excellent shape and the greens were soft and receptive. Our caddy Pancho was a lot fun and his green reading was welcomed and helpful. The hotel was fairly busy the first week with 2 conventions but the second week was not. Food at this resort is top notch with most meals outside of breakfast being menu ordered. The staff at this resort are second to none. Hats off to Jennifer. Omar,Eric, Anna, Miguel and we could go on and on. If you want a quiet relaxing holiday then Grand Isla is the spot to go. Great meeting our friends from past years. This seems to be a place were people return year after year. 15 days of perfect weather.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslaNavidad-Gerente, Gerente at Grand Isla Navidad Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

We want to thank you for your comments. It is always good to hear that our customers are pleased with our service. Needless to say it was our pleasure having you here at the Grand Isla Navidad Resort. I was delighted to read your comments regarding how you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments of the property and service are gratifying for all the staff including myself.
We look forward to welcoming you again to this Mexican paradise in the near future.
Cordially,
Juan Carlo Rincones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews