We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$53
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Muevete Por Vargas(Catia La Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Parada(Catia La Mar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
13
45
42
17
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
45
42
17
35
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Stay in this hotel if you want to have some flashbacks from the war or wish to see why extreme communism does not work. The hotel is awful in all respects. On your approach to the hotel, notice the shady man ducking into an alleyway. That glimmer in his hand is drug paraphenalia, wow, great to show the kids. Also notice the abandoned buildings with creepy people hanging around. Consider them your new neighbors for the night. Upon entering, notice the smell. That, my friend, is the smell of old and uncleaned lobby. Don't worry, it's in the room too. The hotel furniture is from what I estimate to be 1986, sometime when Miami Vice was still on. The rooms are tired, the faucet finish is chipped and faded, A/C runs loud and luke warm, rusty metal on the hinges and door locks, floors are dirty, I can go on if you like. If you like chickens, there are live ones that run around across the street. Please do yourself a favor, sleep in the airport, it's cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsddsddsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Travel brochures make this place look really nice, but if you’ve got a choice, keep on looking.

We had the misfortune of being booked here by an Airline after missing our flight. Our room smelled musty, A/C was very noisy, had flaking paint, tap water was not clear, had a small water heater in the room ( translates to having to wait for the water to heat up between showers), furniture dated, really bad location as it is not close to anything and wouldn’t go walking about at night. Right next to a drainage canal so draw your own conclusions about swimming on the beach.

Have two types of Menu, the all inclusive and a la carte. The all inclusive offering is terrible’, consists of watery Julienne Soup, thought I’d play it safe and have the spaghetti Bolognese but had some sort of unrecognizable meat on top, . Restaurant just does not have a clean feel to it, not sure when was the last time the place mats were changed. Buffet breakfast was equally horrible and disorganized. Apparently when there are more than 3-4 tables occupied the staff has difficulty keeping up. If you don’t like the all inclusive menu you are not allowed to use any credit from the all inclusive menu to order from the a la carte, you must pay full price for a la carte.

Bath had toiletries but no wash cloth. No in room internet connection that I noticed.
Wouldn't spend my own money to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

This is a follow-up to an earlier, semi-favorable review. After staying here, mysterious mail-order charges appeared on our Amex card - all shipped to Venezuela. We had to cancel the card and Amex treated it as fraud. Upon arrival, the clerk had not only taken an imprint of the card, but also written down the 4 digit code on the card - the one that does not go on the imprint. You need this number to do mail order on line or by phone. I thought it odd at the time, but relaxed when the imprint ticket was torn up and thrown away when we checked out. Apparently the information had been copied sometime between arrival and check-in the next morning. We have never had a similar experience in a hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Check-in / front desk
3  Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The whole hotel smells like the open sewer that runs by the hotel straight into the ocean. We counted more than 40 vultures at the same time sitting on top of the hotel! The air conditioner was extremely loud, which may have been a good thing, because the planes fly right by the hotel when landing.
Rooms are rundown and need badly to be upgraded. Definitely not 5-star, more like 1 or 2. Only bath towels, no hand towels, no hairdryers. Shampoo will not be replaced when empty.
English speaking reception is a challenge (only one person spoke some English); supposedly our prepaid reservation was not there and "we were let in, because they are nice".
Restaurant is way too expensive ($18 for a simple hamburger!). Breakfast was good. You get free Wi-Fi in the room. They kept our luggage safely for a few days. They had a refrigerator, which we did not need.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank handetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I stayed here with my wife on the way back to the US from Isla Margarita. We are 39 y.o. and I am a physician. It was booked by our agent when the Eurobuilding Express was full.
We arrived at 7pm. The neighborhood was very run down and seedy, but seemed relatively safe inside the hotel. The check in was a little slow and confused. The main elevators did not work, so we were brought to the service elevator. The room window was was overlooking the marina but the door to our room was on a open hallway exposed to the outside. The house across the road had a enormous party with incredibly loud music from 10pm and was STILL raging when we left at 4:30 am for our flight. Could hear it in our room though through 2 doors!
It is close to the airport, but there has to be a better option. And even though close and fast (at 430am) it was 45 dollars/euros one way!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Drivin_and_Cryin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews