We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call that a Hotel !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Reviewed 28 December 2011

It was and always will be a terrible hotel. Receptionists are nice , but that where it stops. Rooms are bad, NO hot water , no early morning calls. 1 hour waiting for food after we ordered and only 6 in the restaurant !! Beds are hard , Ripped off at the bar , so we went down to the small shop up the road and bought at 1/3 price and went to our room .Bugs and cockroahes all over ,smell as is right next to sewerage as shown in photos. Dogs & rooster noise. Area is very unsafe after dark. Friends were confronted by armed locals !!!
Best advise ; DON` T GO there.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

Stay in this hotel if you want to have some flashbacks from the war or wish to see why extreme communism does not work. The hotel is awful in all respects. On your approach to the hotel, notice the shady man ducking into an alleyway. That glimmer in his hand is drug paraphenalia, wow, great to show the kids. Also notice the abandoned buildings with creepy people hanging around. Consider them your new neighbors for the night. Upon entering, notice the smell. That, my friend, is the smell of old and uncleaned lobby. Don't worry, it's in the room too. The hotel furniture is from what I estimate to be 1986, sometime when Miami Vice was still on. The rooms are tired, the faucet finish is chipped and faded, A/C runs loud and luke warm, rusty metal on the hinges and door locks, floors are dirty, I can go on if you like. If you like chickens, there are live ones that run around across the street. Please do yourself a favor, sleep in the airport, it's cleaner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsddsddsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Travel brochures make this place look really nice, but if you’ve got a choice, keep on looking.

We had the misfortune of being booked here by an Airline after missing our flight. Our room smelled musty, A/C was very noisy, had flaking paint, tap water was not clear, had a small water heater in the room ( translates to having to wait for the water to heat up between showers), furniture dated, really bad location as it is not close to anything and wouldn’t go walking about at night. Right next to a drainage canal so draw your own conclusions about swimming on the beach.

Have two types of Menu, the all inclusive and a la carte. The all inclusive offering is terrible’, consists of watery Julienne Soup, thought I’d play it safe and have the spaghetti Bolognese but had some sort of unrecognizable meat on top, . Restaurant just does not have a clean feel to it, not sure when was the last time the place mats were changed. Buffet breakfast was equally horrible and disorganized. Apparently when there are more than 3-4 tables occupied the staff has difficulty keeping up. If you don’t like the all inclusive menu you are not allowed to use any credit from the all inclusive menu to order from the a la carte, you must pay full price for a la carte.

Bath had toiletries but no wash cloth. No in room internet connection that I noticed.
Wouldn't spend my own money to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

This is a follow-up to an earlier, semi-favorable review. After staying here, mysterious mail-order charges appeared on our Amex card - all shipped to Venezuela. We had to cancel the card and Amex treated it as fraud. Upon arrival, the clerk had not only taken an imprint of the card, but also written down the 4 digit code on the card - the one that does not go on the imprint. You need this number to do mail order on line or by phone. I thought it odd at the time, but relaxed when the imprint ticket was torn up and thrown away when we checked out. Apparently the information had been copied sometime between arrival and check-in the next morning. We have never had a similar experience in a hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Check-in / front desk
3  Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The whole hotel smells like the open sewer that runs by the hotel straight into the ocean. We counted more than 40 vultures at the same time sitting on top of the hotel! The air conditioner was extremely loud, which may have been a good thing, because the planes fly right by the hotel when landing.
Rooms are rundown and need badly to be upgraded. Definitely not 5-star, more like 1 or 2. Only bath towels, no hand towels, no hairdryers. Shampoo will not be replaced when empty.
English speaking reception is a challenge (only one person spoke some English); supposedly our prepaid reservation was not there and "we were let in, because they are nice".
Restaurant is way too expensive ($18 for a simple hamburger!). Breakfast was good. You get free Wi-Fi in the room. They kept our luggage safely for a few days. They had a refrigerator, which we did not need.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank handetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catia La Mar
1.7 km away
Venezuela Marriott Hotel Playa Grande
0.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
Hotel Restaurant Catimar
#2 of 6 in Catia La Mar
270 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel Ole Caribe
Hotel Ole Caribe
#2 of 2 in Maiquetia
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Eurobuilding Express Maiquetia
22.2 km away
Costa Real Suites
Costa Real Suites
#1 of 1 in La Guaira
77 reviews
15.6 km away
Las Quince Letras Hotel
Las Quince Letras Hotel
#46 of 86 in Caracas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina

Address: Av. Principal de Puerto Viejo, Urbanizacion Puerto Viejo | Catia La Mar Estado Vargas, Catia La Mar 1162, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Capital Region > Catia La Mar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Catia La Mar
Price Range: $23 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Playa Grande Caribe Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Caribe Hotel And Marina
Playa Grande Caribe Caracas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing