We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first safari experience in Bostwana”
Review of Sango Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sango Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This camp is brilliant from the warm welcome and friendliness of Mike, Beauty and their team, to the great game drives by our guide July.

Overlooking the Khwai River where elephants browse and hippos wallow and grunt you really feel like you are in the wilds of Africa.

Food was delicious (good home cooking), beds comfy and for what time you do have on your own (couple of hours or so after brunch) very relaxing.

July found so many beautiful animals for us to enjoy including the elusive leopard (each day) and lions. We only missed out on the wild dogs as they moved out of the area.

Thank you all for such a wonderful start to our holiday.
David & Yvette

Room Tip: Our tent was Nos 2 - one of the furthest from the main reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bottleofscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

My husband and I had a short stay at Sango in August. The accommodation was very comfortable and well maintained, whilst retaining a rustic feeling. The location of the camp is good, though I wouldn't recommend driving yourself from Maun if you happened to be considering it. Included in the stay are BOTH local mokoro trips and game drives, which are not provided at some of the other lodges. We were served good/ample food and drink in an environment that encouraged the guests to mix around the dining table or camp fire.

We were very impressed by our guide Elmo, who enabled us to get close to animals in a respectful manner. The other staff members were were equally welcoming and enjoyable company. From what the other guests said, everyone was very happy with their experience too.

All things considered, I would highly recommend Sango for people who want to a visit an all inclusive lodge that is reasonably priced (in comparison with its competitors) without compromising on comfort/service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireHolidayGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Sango Safari Camp is a wonderful place to stay. The traditional, tented, en-suite rooms were excellent as was the food. Beauty and her staff were most welcoming and went above and beyond to make this an unforgettable safari experience. Thank you for our romantic anniversary dinner and for making the walking safari happen! Thank you KB, Receptor and Kristo for giving us the perfect escape into nature and the chance to observe so much spectacular wildlife close up. It was the most amazing four days!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank PutneyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The camp is on the bank of the Khwai River, with hippos grunting and splashing only 20 metres from the tents. The staff and guides are extremely pleasant and highly knowledgeable. Food and drinks were superbly presented every night. The fire pit was very welcome (this was in May).
Each game drive showed us new animals - lions including one walking along the track back at night (we were late home that time!); painted dogs; lechwe antelope; elephants; giraffes; birds of all sorts.
The mokoro paddle was spectacularly quiet, and only stopped when we cam upon a hippo.
Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: All tents front the river, with a very short walk to the dining building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRockDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Stayed for only 2 nights, but regret not staying longer. It was our clear favorite of 4 camps we stayed at in Botswana. Everything is great (well, minus the giant spider in the laundry basket, but that's pretty unavoidable), but what made it over the top was the staff. Our guide Dennis was great at finding the game we were interested in seeing, knowledgeable, and positioned the vehicle in just the right spot. Sometimes we thought he was out of his mind driving away from the cats, but he read the cat's mind and knew exactly where it was heading and put us in the best spot. The manager Beauty made sure we always had an enjoyable time back at camp. If I go back to Africa, I'll for sure plan another visit to Sango.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
37.5 km away
Camp Moremi
Camp Moremi
#5 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
296 reviews
18.4 km away
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
Hyena Pan Tented Camp
#9 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
64 reviews
90.9 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#3 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
102.7 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
232 reviews
115.1 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#27 of 73 in Okavango Delta
135 reviews
0 km away
Tuskers Bush Camp
Tuskers Bush Camp
#20 of 29 in Moremi Game Reserve
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sango Safari Camp

Address: Khwai Concession, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $829 - $6,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sango Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sango Safari Camp is nestled in the shade of the trees overlooking the Khwai River. Situated on the outskirts of the traditional village of Khwai and on the border of Moremi Game Reserve, the camp offers you the perfect base from which to explore the wildlife and culture of this unique habitat. This intimate safari camp is named for the Sango Family, some of the original inhabitants of the Khwai area, and now part owners of the camp. You will have the chance to learn first hand about the unique lifestyle and experiences that come from living and growing up in one of the most wildlife rich areas of Botswana. Accommodating 12 guests in 6 en-suite meru tents Sango Safari Camp is designed in the style of the classic tented safari camp of days gone by. With its open-air bucket showers, hand crafted furnishings and classic styling Sango Safari Camp aims to rekindle the atmosphere of the luxury mobile safari camp, successfully blending the rustic with the luxurious. With the Khwai River forming a natural border between the world famous Moremi Game Reserve and Khwai Concession, animals can travel freely through this vast unfenced wilderness. Situated on the river overlooking the Moremi and with access to both these magnificent wildlife areas, Sango Safari Camp is focused on delivering an exceptional wildlife experience. The camp’s location allows guests to take advantage of a host of wildlife activities which include; open vehicle game drives both in the Moremi and in the Khwai concession area, guided bush walks, and night drives. With a combination of permanent water, seasonal floodplains, open grasslands, riverine forests, and dry woodlands this incredibly rich habitat supports a diversity and abundance of mammals and birds rarely matched in northern Botswana. Sango Safari Camp invites you to share in this bounty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Sango Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sango Safari Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing