We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tuskers Bush Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$684
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Khwai River Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Third Bridge Campsite(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Mapula Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
224
37
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
37
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhwai rivergame driveswild dogsbeautiful tentschool suppliesokavango deltaa wonderful place to stayguide dennismokoro tripsaudley travelintimate experiencecomfortable bedsacross the riverspecial momentmain loungesmall creaturesanimals including
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed at Sango for 4 nights in mid-October and had a wonderful time. The camp was very clean, had good food and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The tents had running water, toilet and an attached outdoor shower. There was electricity (mostly supplied by solar) and a fan but no air conditioning.
Our daily game drives were in one word, Awesome! We saw a lot of animals and a bunch of different animals (lions, elephants, giraffes, leopards, zebras, hippos, crocs, hyenas, etc.). Our guide, Elmo, was fantastic. He was friendly, funny, knowledgeable about the animals, driven to show us the best stuff. Overall he made this part of the trip for us. And every afternoon the animals would congregate right out back of the tents.
I highly recommend this camp if you want to see animals.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I thought Sango a fantastic experience. We had Dennis as a guide and he was very good. More importantly as he was a photographer he knew where to put the vehicle to enable us to get good pictures.

The rooms were comfortable, however with no fan above the bed and no aircon, this was a serious drawback. the fan provided was really not adequate to cool the room so during our free time we could not really sit in the room as it was too hot.

The staff were excellent and very friendly. Great singing and they made us feel very welcome.

There were some small things that they should really look at. For example i wanted to have a swim and the pool was full of insects. That was not a problem, but they could not find a net to clean them out so no swim. The next day it seemed cleaner so I guess they found something.

The laundry service was very good and we got things back on the same day.

Overall I would go back to Sango and would recommend it as a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This camp is brilliant from the warm welcome and friendliness of Mike, Beauty and their team, to the great game drives by our guide July.

Overlooking the Khwai River where elephants browse and hippos wallow and grunt you really feel like you are in the wilds of Africa.

Food was delicious (good home cooking), beds comfy and for what time you do have on your own (couple of hours or so after brunch) very relaxing.

July found so many beautiful animals for us to enjoy including the elusive leopard (each day) and lions. We only missed out on the wild dogs as they moved out of the area.

Thank you all for such a wonderful start to our holiday.
David & Yvette

Room Tip: Our tent was Nos 2 - one of the furthest from the main reception area.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bottleofscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

My husband and I had a short stay at Sango in August. The accommodation was very comfortable and well maintained, whilst retaining a rustic feeling. The location of the camp is good, though I wouldn't recommend driving yourself from Maun if you happened to be considering it. Included in the stay are BOTH local mokoro trips and game drives, which are not provided at some of the other lodges. We were served good/ample food and drink in an environment that encouraged the guests to mix around the dining table or camp fire.

We were very impressed by our guide Elmo, who enabled us to get close to animals in a respectful manner. The other staff members were were equally welcoming and enjoyable company. From what the other guests said, everyone was very happy with their experience too.

All things considered, I would highly recommend Sango for people who want to a visit an all inclusive lodge that is reasonably priced (in comparison with its competitors) without compromising on comfort/service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireHolidayGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Sango Safari Camp is a wonderful place to stay. The traditional, tented, en-suite rooms were excellent as was the food. Beauty and her staff were most welcoming and went above and beyond to make this an unforgettable safari experience. Thank you for our romantic anniversary dinner and for making the walking safari happen! Thank you KB, Receptor and Kristo for giving us the perfect escape into nature and the chance to observe so much spectacular wildlife close up. It was the most amazing four days!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank PutneyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews