We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Quays Fish & Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Deco Stop Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Two Canoes Island Getaway(Aore Island)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Espiritu(Luganville)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Turtle Bay Lodge(Luganville)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahi Mahi Beach Villas(Espiritu Santo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Luganville)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrier Beach Resort(Luganville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
64
45
19
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
45
19
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabsolute adventuresmillion dollar pointthe ss president coolidgesafe divingorder cooked breakfastfishholiday experiencerainforest canopynice bungalowspristine reefscontinental breakfastsix daysthe food is greata great place to staylocal knowledgeprivate beachphil
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

If you visit Vanuatu - Island hopping is the thing you should do. Anyways it goof to make pre arrangements when going to smaller Islands (confirm, bookings, flights etc). Santo is good place as a base camp in Vanuatu and Coral Quays is perfect base camp in Santo. The Staff are very helpful and they are keen for help you what ever you want to do. The owner is not pushing you to use their services - they are more than helpful to tell you about other options, places and possibilities in Santo. Dive shop, -gear and -instructor seems to be 1st class and super pro comparing for those that we used (because they were cheaper). If you want to take the diving course - this is the right place. Bungalows are clean, basic and ok value for couples and families. Food is not - the menu is too complicated that the cook just can't handle it. They should go back to basics because then it would work very well and going to city for a dinner wouldn't be the 1st option. There are nice places to stay in Santo but staying in Luganville and near services is a very good thing to do after you have arrived to Santo and before leaving the islands. Coral Quays is the best place in Luganville. And it's easy - you don't have to worried about the thing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranTourizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was our second trip to Vanuatu and we decided to include Santo in our itinerary. On our last visit we stayed at a 5 star resort and a 3 star. We found the 5 star flash enough but quite impersonal and lacking in other ways so this time we decided to just stay with middle of the road. Coral Quays ticked all the boxes in terms of our requirements. The room was very comfortable, so was the bed and we had plenty of hot water! The staff were very friendly and attentive but not in your face and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great and we never had a bad dining experience (I highly recommend the the Fillet Mignon!) Phil and Charmaine were awesome hosts and good fun too.
The diving experience was great too and Michael the Divemaster was a mine of information. We dived on 2 really amazing reefs and as I'm not the most confident of divers I can say that I always felt safe and in good hands. All in all it was a very comfortable place to base ourselves for the many activities that are available on Santo.
What you have to realise here is that things work on Vanuatu time. There isn't the big city down the road to cater for your every need. It's just a lovely step back in time. A chance to escape the rat race and contemplate the importance of just being. We met a range of very cool people at CQR and we had an awesome time. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

No neither do I but that is what was served to us on a sunset platter! The accompanying biscuits were pliable too. We had a waterfront room which would be better described as a roadside room. The road is between the hotel and the rather dingy waterfront. The soft bed was not very comfortable and the shower very old fashioned with a plastic/ nylon curtain that wrapped itself round you as you showered. There was an overall tired look to the hotel and the pool was out of action as they were digging up the area around it.
In fairness the only staff member who served us the whole time we were there tried hard and was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent 10 days at the Coral Quays resort. It was a great base for all the things we wanted to do while we stayed on Santo. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The owners are great people and very helpful...full of good advice and they have the wellbeing of their guests to the forefront. The dive experiences they provide are outstanding and their dive master is very good at what he does and a top bloke as well. This isn't a 5 star resort (so don't have 5 star expectations), but it is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay and has everything you could ever need. They'll even pack a lunch for you at a very reasonable price if you go out on day trips. Would I stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at Coral Quays for a week in June (2 adults, 3 kids). We didn't do any diving and it was clear to us this is really the main focus of the resort's activities so our experiences need to be seen in that light. From what we could tell the divemaster (Michael) seemed like a nice guy other guests seemed happy with their diving experiences.

I would say the resort is OK to use as a base for day trips elsewhere in Santo or to use for diving excursions but if you spend your whole time there with kids you would get bored pretty quickly as there isn't that much else to do. The resort has a close relationship with Paradise Tours who are good for day trips to the various tourist attractions. It is certainly not walking distance to Luganville, you need to get a taxi (300 - 500 Vt).

The hostess Charmaine was friendly and helpful and the other staff were lovely. I didn't really get to talk to the other owner Phil altough he did at least say hi a couple of times which is probably all I expected from some of the other recent reviews - I don't think he is a natural extrovert.

After the recent reviews where guests indicated they had been robbed we were VERY careful to lock all our valuables in our suitcase and didn't have a problem (no one else did to our knowledge).

The gardens of the resort are lush and attractive.The rooms are basic but reasonably comfortable, ceiling fans were not too noisy and housekeeping was good. We had to take 2 rooms but what was strange was the inconsistency between them. We had a continuous hot water system and our girls had a hot water service that lasted about 1 min before going cold so they gave up and came to our room for showers. On the flip side they had a generous sized fridge while ours was microscopic.

The pool is OK alhough there are only 2 lounges and there is free Wi Fi but not a lot for kids to do in the evening. Feeding the fish off the end of the pier is fun and there are hermit crabs on the beach that are quite cute, The beach isn't really good for swimming (too many coral pieces) and while there are lots of fish and some coral off the end the water is very murky most of the time so snorkelling there can be very frustrating.

The food at Coral Quays appears to have been a controversial topic in other reviews. I would say that the quality of the food was generally OK to quite good (only the spaghetti bolagnese was poor) prices are Australian restuarant equivalent (which are pretty expensive versus other options in Luganville) and the serves are average in size - not overally generous. Continental breakfast was included and was sufficient unless you have a burning need for a cooked buffet (it's just not that sort of resort), nice having banana and paw paw jam.

We quickly realised it was going to cost a lot if we ate both dinner and lunch at CQR but we were kind of stuck for dinner as having 5 of us we would have needed to get 2 separate taxis (they can only take 4) into Luganville. That didn't sound like a relaxing option so I opted to go into Luganville myself and buy rolls, fillings and snacks store them in the fridge to make lunches. Most of the time we opted to take the lunch with us on our half day outings anyway so we didn't need to have lunch at the resort.


We considered doing both fishing and snorkelling tours with Coral Quays but we found Santo Dive and Fishing were much better value, in fact the half day light game fishing tour at 25000 Vt also included snorkelling on another island at the end (and could take all 5 of us with a nice tropical lunch on the beach included) vs a half day fishing trip with Coral Quays at 45000 Vt, nearly double the price, no lunch and they could only take 4 out. I'm not saying the CQR fishing would not be good, just that it was rather expensive and didn't suit our family size. We caught a nice 10 kg dogtooth tuna and to Charmaine's credit she allowed it to be cooked in the CQR restuarant (at a charge) for us - $15 for the tuna meal versus $20 normally. I reserve judgement as to whether this was good value or not (my kids were just happy to say they had eaten it and Charmaine could have refused) but I mention it anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a continuous hot water system
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fiji_Novice255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews