We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Home Inn(Ruhengeri)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda(Ruhengeri)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$356
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Virunga Hotel(Ruhengeri)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Palme Hotel(Ruhengeri)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
21
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach eveninglocal communitymountain gorillasingridpauseutterlyfireplacebathguidehikemonkeysshoesclothesaccommodationsafricabasechef
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I cannot say enough positive things about Bisate and her staff... Everyone was polite, kind, knowledgeable, and professional. It was incredible how genuinely happy the staff at the hotel were to assist each guest. After an incident in town cutoff water to our room, the staff made sure to get us moved and management provided us with complimentary massages. Jomi and Hadley (GMs) met us for drinks each evening, shared their experiences in Africa, and were positively lovely. There isn't a detail missed at the resort - from the Gorilla Smash cocktail to the local, traditional dinner - you will not leave disappointed!! I travel full-time for my job and my wife and I travel ALOT - this is one of the best lodging experiences we've ever had!! We will be back.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the longer the walk, but the better the view! All rooms are extremely private and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobbyRiggs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Bisate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear RobbyRiggs17,

Thank you for your wonderful review and high praises. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. Our bar tending staff have been carefully crafting unique Bisate cocktails - we cannot wait to pass along your praises for the Gorilla Smash.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Stayed for two nights doing a gorilla trekking at this amazing place. Very, very special architecture with large and very private rooms overlooking the volcanos. Tremendously cozy. Very friendly management and staff, excellent food and top service gave us a special and warm feeling. "Home far from home" is their slogan, and they really lived up to it. And not to mention the gorilla trekking - a truly once in a lifetime experience! Thanks to all!

Room Tip: If you are fit - the higest rooms with the best volcano view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stabek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Bisate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you Stabek for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your life changing journey with us. Bisate Lodge is the best place for a memorable and informed gorilla experience while staying in the most innovative, responsible, visionary and luxurious lodge adjacent to the Volcanoes National Park.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

I spent three nights here just recently and enjoyed the stay. Upon arrival the staff greet you with singing a really lovely way to arrive. I have done much travel in Africa and this is always a very nice greeting.

There were only a couple of things that I thought let the entire experience down. My room was moved to suite the people I was travelling with resulting in me being placed in a much lower lodge than originally arranged (would have been nice to ask me before moving me but nice foe my travelling colleagues). The doors have swelled in winter rendering them...all but unlock able - not a real issue given the high level of security on hand.

I loved the water bottle in the beds at night along with the raging fire made for an amazing nights sleep.

This is a great lodge with a few teething issues. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the higher lodges - much better views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Bisate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Grant,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind regards to all the staff at the lodge. We are sorry to hear there was a little juggling with the rooms - unfortunately the team on the ground have the final say in who gets which villa. While you are able to make requests when booking this unfortunately can not be guaranteed as any guests with medical conditions are given preference - this is a Wilderness standard, but we are relieved to see that this did not stop you from having a great time at Bisate.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We just returned from a fabulous stay at Bisate Lodge. From the moment we arrived and were welcomed by the incredible staff we knew we were in for an amazing experience and we were not disappointed. The accommodations, food and service were over the top. Nothing has been overlooked. We had wonderful massages in our room, our shoes were cleaned and returned each evening and we enjoyed the commaraderie of the guests. And of course the highlight of our visit coming face to face with the mountain gorillas. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank claxtonbocaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Bisate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Claxtonbocaraton,

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and that everything was able to meet your expectations - especially the life changing adventure to see the mountain gorillas. We will be sure to share your kind words with all our great staff in camp, especially the wonderful in-house massage therapists.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We had our own ultra comfortable “pod” room overlooking the mountains. The main lodge was a quick walk away where you could lounge by the fireplace with a hot or cold beverage from the bar. The food was fabulous from homemade breads, eggs, granola for breakfast to delicious multi course dinners. We were treated to a dinner of local foods and singing and dancing by the wonderful staff one evening. They had equipment for gorilla trekking and on our return cleaned our muddy shoes and clothes for us! A wonderful spot to stay!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank WVjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Bisate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear WVjo,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the time you spent exploring the wilderness in search of the miraculous gorillas. We like to think we have all of our guests trekking needs covered - with a full supply of walking sticks, waders, etc. everything you need to make sure you have only the best experience during your stay with us.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews