We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$13
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
PricelineUS$14
Booking.comUS$13
Agoda.comUS$13
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
20
11
26
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
20
11
26
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is nice hotel good value for money, clean, good beds and lots of hot water.
restaurant not the greatest but lots of good restaurant close by. Close to shopping close to night clubs. Nice lobby lounge pool look great but I wasn't able to use as got back to hotel to late.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al1957canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The facility itself is very outdated. Ex-

Very poor accomodation for the business traveler who works from the room a lot.

Only ether cable hook up so you must sit an uncomfortable side chair to be online.
Very awkward, uncomfortable work area for computer

Other than changing the sheets and wiping down the bathroom floor the room really doesnt get cleaned.
No rug vaccuuming
No dusting or wiping down of walls. IN my room someone smashed a bloody mosquito against a wall leaving a nasty smear. It was never touched by the cleaning crew,

THe restaurant is passable. I ate meals here quite a bit as the only other choices were fast food. SOme dishes were surprising good- even to a western palatte. They do a breakfast buffet that to me was pretty nasty, but that may be a cultural thing. I ate omelets every day. They have cereal containers- they just dont put cereal in them.

The power goes off continually. 6-8 times a day. Usually only for a few seconds.

The staff is really good here. English is strong and they really try to make you comfortable. The service will remind you of a much higher quality hotel. THe nice people who work here made this a much more pleasant experience than it might otherwise have been.

Room tip: Get one on a low floor as they only have two elevators and they break down all the time.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed here 2 nights because my colleagues already booked this hotel. Even I am given no-smoking room but the smoke is still smelling in the room, may be they just hide the ashtray and name it :"non-smoking room"
The horrible thing is I was touching electric-shock when open the freezer, then I realized that water is drop from up, may be the ac hose is leak and water come out. In the morning I asked to move to other room and I go out for meeting some partners. When back in the afternoon, the receptionist did not understand and even not saying 'sorry' or other things... I pushed them to change my room, I paid 2 nights cash before.
I never plan to stay in this hotel anymore, it was horrible.

Room tip: If no choice of other hotels, dont hope too much on this hotel
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pulunaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Balik Papan was a fascinating provincial capital. It was clean, well maintained and orderly.

The Hotel was centrally located and well suited for the business traveler. The lobby area is spacious with high ceiling. In November the air in Balik Papan was rather still and humid. Arriving in mid afternoon, the lobby area was too warm for comfort. Luckily checking in was a breeze.

The room was rather run-down. I was quite happy with the bedding but the bathroom was a disappointment. Hoteliers should be experienced enough to replace worn down towels. The view from the hotel room was not fascinating although sea facing.

Breakfast at the cafe was just average. As with many hotels MSG was noticeable in almost all dishes. Beverages were served at the lobby lounge. Entertainment was provided by a four piece band. The presence of overly friendly ladies trying to catch your attentions was noticeable and the Hotel did not seem to have the desire to control. Service was average.

If you were game for Nasi Padang, there were many outlets. Starbucks and KFC were also within walking distance. We had the best fried duck rice while in Balik Papan. Ask the concierge for direction.

Internet connection was available in the lounge area.

Balikpapan is a growing city and there are many new hotels some of which have better facilities and more lively. This hotel is an average, tired hotel in need of a makeover and a dose of adrenalin.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordOfKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A perfectly pleasant stay. Excellent location. Beautiful service and facilities. Great rooms, quite large and very clean. The only thing was the disturbance of prayer at daybreak (actually 4 am) but the hotel cannot do much about it. I actually asked to be moved to the other side (seaview) and they gave me another room. Wonderful open-air swimming pool. the real drawback was actually the food served at lunch and dinner. Breakfast was fine, but the oher meals were quite a disappointment, probably because I am not used to this kind of food (being French). Yet, evrybody else (the locals) seemed to enjoy it... Lots of restaurants, fabulous seafood, by the seaside, 10 mn from the hotel. Wonderful service.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dtshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews