We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Mahkota Hotel Pontianak
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Pontianak
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days with family. Whenever i came to Pontianak, i always stayed in this hotel.Good breakfast, good room and friendly staff. My only advise is that it needs major renovation. Kinda old and little dirty.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nadya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015

This is a very old hotel that needs some serious upgrading.
I took a simple standard room thinking that since its rated as a 4 star hotel, how bad can it be.
Carpet in the room had stains. Bath towels had several stains. Only bath towels are provided. No hand towels, no shavers, nothing. Only a bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo and toothbrush with toothpaste. No hangars, no metal rail to hang our clothes in the cupboard. Toilet was too old. Actually the entire hotel is too old. Maintenance is very poor. Dreary hotel. Only the lobby was ok. Some sign of cheer. Even the coffee shop that served breakfast was dreary. This hotel seems to cater for locals, its not of international standard at all.
DO NOT stay in this hotel

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in this hotel unless you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BluuuMooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

hotelnya bagus dan bersih, suasana cukup modern, staff dan security ramah, sarapannya juga sangat lengkap dan enak.

agak jauh dari pusat makanan, sehingga susah mencari makanan waktu malam.
---
this hotel was nice and clean , the atmosphere is quite modern and security staff friendly , breakfast was also very complete and tasty .

a bit far from the center of the food , so it 's hard to find food during the night .

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpoLaswiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Well the hotel building it's quite old. The room wasn't very nice but it has all the things your may need, individual a/c, tv and Internet connection via WiFi. The room was covered with a dark colored carpet that didn't look very clean. The bathroom was ok, but the water (I guess most places of Indonesia) wasn't really nice, the taste (while brushing my teeth) was filthy and light brown colored so don't think of using it for anything else than shower.
The people attended us nicely and welcomed us with a dragon fruit juice, cold which a those temperatures over here (average of 30 degrees Celsius) it's a quite nice gesture. I tried the in-room dining and was quite good, even though my dish was traditional nasi goreng, good portion and not really expensive.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eoni-Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My mom told me that this hotel is one of the old hotel in Pontianak that I shouldn't expect something great. So I was expecting to see a shabby room, dirty bathroom, and awful foods. It's great to know that none of my worries came true.

When we arrived at the hotel, they served us a pineapple+aloe vera soda drink. Actually we have to pay for deposit money for 2 nights, but since we didn't bring enough cash, they let us to check in with only one night deposit money. A good service right from the start.

Got the Deluxe Twin for 2 nights. Sure the cupboard & cabinet seems old and the carpet is thin, but the room itself was clean. The bed also comfortable.The bathroom was clean with hot water flowing constantly. The breakfast was awesome! I was so glad to find out that they serve us with a very fresh ingredients. Love the scrambled eggs and the pancakes that's so fluffy.

The downside would be the location that's on small road. But once you get outside, it's actually located on a quite strategic area. Near Kodam (a park by the Kapuas River), and Pasar PSP (to buy souvenirs).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tsukisuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontianak hotels
1.8 km away
Transera Hotel Pontianak
Transera Hotel Pontianak
#17 of 31 in Pontianak
55 reviews
1 km away
Golden Tulip Pontianak
Golden Tulip Pontianak
#3 of 31 in Pontianak
132 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
Hotel Neo Gajah Mada
#9 of 31 in Pontianak
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Gardenia Resort and Spa
Gardenia Resort and Spa
#29 of 31 in Pontianak
91 reviews
0 km away
G Hotel
G Hotel
#23 of 31 in Pontianak
13 reviews
2 km away
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
HARRIS Hotel Pontianak
#1 of 31 in Pontianak
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mahkota Hotel Pontianak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mahkota Hotel Pontianak

Address: Jl. Sidas no. 8, Pontianak 78112, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > West Kalimantan > Pontianak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Pontianak
Price Range: $32 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mahkota Hotel Pontianak 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mahkota Hotel Pontianak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing