We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$30
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buakum Resort(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$11
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Thai Resort(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Sabaidee(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Buakum Rim Khong(Chiang Saen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
892
113
26
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
113
26
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantbaby elephantmahout experiencecountry tourelephant campmahout traininggolden trianglethe riveropium museumchiang raiall inclusive packagecooking classinfinity poolvip arrivalview suiteelephant barspice spoons
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights as a family. The guests were a mix of European and American families and couples. A unique hide away to relax and rejuvenate. Depending on your mood, you pick a day (in an ethical way) with elephants or a massage in the spa. The setting is amazing - lodge style in the middle of the green forest overlooking the valley and river. The staff is very friendly. They know their guests and offer a great service - This makes a true difference as they make you feel at home. There’s a choice between buffet or a la carte - Thai or Italian style food. Some parts of the hotel are in need of some fresh paint or a touch up but in no way does it diminish the unique experience

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank SwissStandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for a great review and sharing your experience!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the spectacular surroundings around us, the jungle and the river make a real difference.

We have shared your words of appraisals with our team and we were all delighted you enjoyed our service and culinary experiences.

We have done a partial refurbishment this year on 2/3 of the inventory, so we will finish it and refreshing all remaining areas.

With our warmest wishes from the whole team of Golden Triangle and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights using the package. This is a beautiful hotel set in magnificent tropical jungle. The breakfast, lunch and dinner was more food you could conquer, high quality and massive selection, with a good wine selection in the package. I would suggest doing the “walking with giants” before the “mahout experience.” We also did the massage in the salon and the 3 countries trip...which are both worth doing. I would have liked to do the rice planting but needed to give 3 days notice. Finally, I was impressed with the elephant conditions, they seemed happy, especially since they have all been working in the past.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Scott,

This is a wow review and thank you so much for sharing with us! Your appraisals have been shared with the team and they were all delighted you had a great stay with us.

Thank you also for recognizing the hard work from the Foundation, as our vet likes to put it, here, we are able to provide the basic five freedoms for the elephants: they are given food, water, shelter, lots of free time to socialize, veterinary care and do not have to live in fear. And it makes all the difference from their previous lives in the streets and logging camps.

A heartfelt thank you from our kitchen team! And glad you also appreciated our spa and 3 country excursion which is a must do when you stay with us.

With our warmest wished from the whole Golden Triangle family and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Highly recommend to anyone, beautiful location, great experience with the Elephants, hotel staff exceptional and room was wonderful. Family cooking class a real treat! Spa a little expensive compared to others we have experienced.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Photosabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Esteemed guests,

Thank you very much for your great review and sharing with us your experience!

We are indeed very fortunate being in a beautiful location with views of the 3 countries and the Mekong river from all balconies.

Our cooking class, Spice Spoons, is a must! Visit of a farm, local market, then in our dedicated kitchen being guided by our Chef and finally enjoying your own Thai dish, great discovery and fun for the whole family.

We wish you a Merry Xmas and Happy New Year,

With our warmest dishes from the whole Golden Triangle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

My wife and I had a very pleasant 3 nights 4 days stay at Anantara Golden triangle. The service was superb and the resort was amazing. Online booking was very easy and the staff answered all our questions very well.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank yoe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Yoe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and thank you for your support booking directly online with us, which is indeed in a few easy steps.

Glad you enjoyed your 3 nights with us, it is the perfect number of nights to enjoy all that the property and province of Chiang Rai have to offer.

We have shared your appraisals with our team and wish you a happy festive season!

With our warmest wishes, from the Golden Triangle team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Rooms were very nice and spacious and the view from the room was beautiful. You could periodically spot elephants grazing in the wetlands. Food at the Thai restaurant was really good. We were there for 3 full days and pretty much ate almost everything on the menu. Breakfast was very well done as well. Be sure to go when they bring an elephant to the patio to be fed bananas.

The highlight was definitely the elephants. That is the reason for going. Being up close with these majestic animals was amazing.

As expected service at the hotel was top notch. Wife did only one massage. It was good but not great, but she is a spa/massage aficionado. I'm sure for most people, the spa would be incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andydchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and glad you enjoyed our resort with their spacious rooms and unique view!

The Foundation is doing a great job with the elephants and thank you for recognizing their work.

Our two restaurants, Thai and Italian, are indeed quite good and our Thai restaurant showcases the Northern Lanna cuisine with its lighter curries than the South

We are sorry our spa did not meet your expectations, indeed, we normally have excellent comments about our therapists and Anantara protocols.

We wish you a Merry Xmas and a happy new year, from the whole Golden Triangle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews