We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$50
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chiangsaen Golden Land Resort 2(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
US$36
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$18
US$17
Hotels.com
View Deal
Gin's Maekhong View Resort & Spa(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$17
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Thai Resort(Chiang Saen)
US$21
US$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Buakum Rim Khong(Chiang Saen)
US$15
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Buakum Resort(Chiang Saen)(Great Value!)
US$13
US$10
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Sabaidee(Chiang Saen)
US$16
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveller rating
898
113
26
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
113
26
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantmahout experiencebaby elephantcountry tourelephant campgolden triangleopium museumthe riverchiang raiall inclusive packagecooking classinfinity poolvip arrivalview suiteelephant barspice spoonsour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

This place was a major disappointment. I'm sure it used to be a 5 star hotel, maybe in the 1990's. The hotel needs a major upgrade of all its facilities. The food has been the worst i've eaten in my stay in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Dominic,

The whole team is disheartened to see such a negative feedback but thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing with us.

I would like to deeply apologize for the poor standards of performances and the disagreement that you have experienced, kindly be reassured that, it doesn't reflect in any case neither our quality standards nor the luxury experience that we are striving to provide to our valuable customers.

As your review is not very detailed I would like to have the opportunity to address and discuss this matter personally with you and find a suitable solution to rectify the experience you have encountered. My email is aprocope@anantara.com.

Our two restaurants normally have excellent feedback, it is important for us to know what you had experienced and where we failed so we can revise our procedures and train even more our team. Our resort is now 29 years old, having gone through many rainy seasons, I am glad to say that last year we renovated 2/3 of the room inventory and we plan to finish this year along with the public areas.

Meanwhile I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write this review and I hope that we will be able to reinstall the trust that you have input in our brand and see again at our resort to show what is the real Golden Triangle experience.

With our warmest wishes, from Anantara Golden Triangle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

From the minute we were picked up and taken to the resort we could tell this was going to be special. On arrival the staff welcomed us and were so attentive from check in until check out. They all take the time to get to know you and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them! Our room had the most stunning views and we often saw the elephants in the distance and witnessed them getting showered daily. We did the walking with giants which was an incredible experience. It’s not often you can walk alongside these incredible animals patting them and feeding them as they go. They all appeared to be well looked after although we did spot one elephant chained. She had a four month old baby and we were assured it was for safety reasons as she was very protective of her baby. They also assured us that mum and baby get taken out for walks every day together. The mahout experience really is very special and although scary at first once you adjust to the height of these giants it is absolutely incredible. We ended up in the river with them which was great fun for them and us!!! They are fed well, walked well, and showered often and lots of European volunteers keeping an eye on things too!!! The hotel is a beautiful property. Our room was a little tired but nicely kitted out with amenities. The balcony is gorgeous with stunning views towards Burma and Laos. The shower was in the bath though so be careful as could get slippery! All inclusive and couldn’t fault the food and drinks! All beautifully presented and very tasty! It’s about an hours drive from the airport on a good run but well worth it! The golden triangle tour is also o e to do. It is a fascinating day where you get to cross the borders of Burma and Laos. This is definitely an experience not to be missed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mummymodestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Esteemed Guests,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review at Golden Triangle experience. What can I say more than a "big" thank you and so thrilled to know that you enjoyed it and have given us much praise; Praise that has been already shared with the family at the resort and kitchen team too.

We spend all of our time ensuring and perfecting our service delivery, our product upkeep and continuously look to innovate as we look to the future so your appraisals mean a lot for us, thank you!

It was a great pleasure having you with us, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

With our warmest wishes From the Anantara Golden Triangle family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Incredible resort in terms of accommodations, food, activities, etc. Perfect for families. Cooking class was incredible as was the elephant excursion. The food at the main restaurant was incredible with all sorts of options.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Sean,

I would like to genuinely thank you for sharing with fellow travelers this great feedback about our resort!.

The team and myself are proud to have been able to deliver you with the highest level of service and thank you so much for highlighting the signature services and facilities offered by Anantara Golden Triangle. Our family suites with their inner connecting doors are indeed perfect for families.

Our brand is striving to deliver personalized and unique experiences to our guests, while ensuring to respect the highest level and performances commanded by the luxury hospitality and the expectations of modern travelers.

Thank you again for your loyalty in our brand and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Anantara Golden Triangle!.

With our warmest wishes and happy new year from Golden Triangle family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at Anantara in July. The Elephants here are the main attraction, and with good reason...they are amazing. We felt they were cared for and decided what they wanted to do and what they didn't. We arrived through the boat ride and elephant ride and were glad we opted for it. It is a great way to be introduced to the property and elephant friends you would be spending the next few days with. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning where the Camps Baby Elephant "Yingla" would come out to enjoy some early morning treats. We were able to enjoy all the elephant related activities as well as the Cooking Class. The staff was very kind and we enjoyed every interaction we had. We will return soon!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank tinypretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Esteemed Guests,

Thank you very much for your amazing review and taking the time to write those words of appraisals!

The elephant camp team is delighted that you have recognized their hard work and enjoyed interacting with our elephants: here at Anantara Golden Triangle we are able to provide the basic five freedoms for the elephants: they are given food, water, shelter, lots of free time to socialize, veterinary care and do not have to live in fear.

We have passed also your kind words to the team and kitchen team and so glad to hear we will have the pleasure to see you again soon! Welcome to Anantara Fan Club!

With our warmest wishes and happy new year from the whole Golden Triangle family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time here as a family of 4. Our children, aged 8 and 11 absolutely loved it. We had the discovery package, and did 3 different elephant experiences and the spice spoons cooking. All 3 were fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the food was great. No complaints. Amazing experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Cnew_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprocope, Manager at Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Esteemed Guests,

Thank you for taking the time and writing such a glowing review of your stay with us at Golden Triangle.

It fills us with great pride each and every time our team is praised because we are extremely fortunate to have such a wonderful set of people. While the hardware of any hotel is often the focal point, in our opinion the connection with the people working in them is equally important as it can truly increase the level of experience from a good stay to an exceptional one!

I’m also very happy that you recognized the great work the foundation does for our elephants, it goes without saying that the well-being of our gentle giants are at the forefront of everything we do.

I have shared with the team and kitchen team in particular the great feedback about our cooking class Spice Spoons and the culinary experience in general.

Thank you once again for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review us and look forward to welcoming you back to Golden Triangle once again in the near future.

With our warmest wishes, from the whole Golden Triangle family and happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews