We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
348
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chiang saen lake view of the lake wonderful hosts bird watching golden triangle lakeside location round the lake beautiful place to stay english breakfast the open air restaurant stayed two nights stayed longer a special place mother smith laos nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

This is a really nice place. The owners Ian and Khun Jeem make each and every guest feel special, and will adapt the menu, the rules and whatever you fancy to their schedule. Jeem asked us what we wanted for dinner each night; Ian offered to take me cycling round the lake, which is a beautiful area, especially if you are a birdwatcher. The rooms are delightful and excellent value for money. Food is always excellent, and they even allowed our pet dog to roam around the gardens quite freely.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jet815586
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Smith, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Hi Jet815586,
Thank you very much for the super review. That is most helpful.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and yes, we try to be flexible to whatever our guests need.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

My hubby and I adored this little resort, we even decided to stay an extra night. The accommodation was spotless, bed super comfortable and we had the king size bed room overlooking the pool and the lake, it was perfect. The Food, OMG the food is amazing. The owners are superb, super friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Layahnay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Smith, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2021

Hi Layahnay J,
Thank you for the lovely review. and thank you for visiting our little piece of paradise.
If you were happy, then we are happy.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020

For the 3rd time this year, and at an average of about 2 times per year since 2014, we drove the roughly 300 km from our home in Chiang Mai to lovely Viang Yonok at Chiang Saen Lake in the Chiang Rai Province and near the Mekong River. The bungalows are just lovely and well maintained, breakfasts and diners are delicious and rich, and the hosts Vassana and Ian are always pleasant to talk with, or to obtain excellent tour tips. For sure we will be coming back early next year!

Room tip: all bungalows can be recommended, be they closer to the lake, or in the 2nd row
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValentinS1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

Viang Yonok is clearly a labour of love for its owners. The gardens and rooms are immaculate, combine this with the warmest welcome and serene lakeside location and you truly are in a special place. The breakfast was the best we have had in quite a while in Thailand. No hestitation recommending to friends. I hope we will make it back.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Livingtolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Smith, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Hi Livingtolove,
Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our little paradise.
Hope to see you again, Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2020

In complete lockdown in Melbourne, Australia, so even considering a trip away and back to Viang Yonok seems a remote and distant opportunity. Fortunately we stayed here with our two children over Christmas 2019, our third visit in 7 years, and the wonderful memories of staying in such an idyllic setting, and being so well taken care of by the charming, informative and always caring hosts, Ian and Vassana, endures long after we have left. And for now from lockdown I smile at the continuing memories of our visit , I Imagine an evening whiskey on the balcony overlooking a setting sun on the lake, and wonder what awaits the evening meal, the garden, the family cooks and the kitchen always delight. Thanks to everyone at Viang Yonok, hope you are all well and enjoying your part of the world. Save a chair and one day we will return.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jauntsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian Smith, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Hi jauntsaway,
Thank you very much for the great review of our little piece of paradise at Viang Yonok. It is indeed gratifying to read that you enjoyed your last stay here, as much as prior visits.
We are sorry to hear about the lockdown in Melbourne and have seen some of the sad film clips of the enforcement. Our country is closed to outside visitors at the moment, but things are almost normal here and we can travel as we wish.
Viang Yonok is doing fine and everyone is well, thank you. We have reduced our staff and our room rates and now have enough domestic guests to keep rolling along.
Also, we know we are lucky to live in such a beautiful spot, so are going nowhere and the hotel will always be open.
We look forward to the day we can again welcome all our friends from other parts of the world. We hope not to have to wait too long....
You bring the whiskey and we will have the chairs ready on the balcony.
Best wishes to the family,
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews