We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We are not very picky eaters, but the food at this place was horrendous. We tried evey restaurant they have, and they were all bad. We found out that they make the food early that day and if you order then they re-heat it. Also, during the day bus loads full of loud dominicans overtake the whole place. so this is not a place for peace an tranquility. They play loud dominican music by the pool, so that is where they ALL hang out. Plus. the drinks are totally watered down. to top it all off, the phone did not work in my room, so I could never ask for anything. the shows at night are below average. The beach was nice, but there are better beaches other places in the DR.

Room Tip: our room had a view to the beach, so that was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 614 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel definately needs an upgrade in the rooms, i would call it nasty unless you have a VIP room...Out of 7 days got hot water 3 times...either morning or night, we compla ined and complained until finally they gave us a key to a room just to bathe, by that time we were at the end of our vacation, other than that, surroundings were nice and staff were very nice.

Room Tip: go to punta cana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Please, if you respect yourself a little bit - DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!! this is a horrible place to spend your vacation at. I was there recently with my whole family ( a husband and 2 little kids) and we felt like we are being kept hostage over there! The staff is terribly rude, they are very mean and don't understand the meaning of "costumer service"! We had to change rooms few times because every time there was something malfunctioning or not working at all, such as; hot water, air conditioner, night lamp (and the list is too long)! they offered me to wash my little baby in a bucket, since they couldn't repair the hot water problem... It was the worst experience of my life!! I felt so miserable there! they have ants all over the room and even in the bed, I woke up one night feeling itchy and discovered ants crewing up and down my body! The AC is really loud and my kids got sick because it was so close to their bed, yet at the same time, you cant sleep without it because its impossible to open the windows - its very hot and hummed, so you will end up with mosquitoes all over you. As I mentioned before, we were four people in one room, but they gave us ONLY two towels, I had to beg for a towel and never got one from the front desk people - I had to literally run after a maid that was passing by my room and beg her for a towel, she told me: "we don't have any extras,it is being washed. Come back in half an hour" ( in a very poor English). Only after I had explained her that I have a baby that had pupped and needed to be washed, had she found some other maid and took a towel from her. In general, this is a hideous, disgusting, not worth your money place. We had booked a one week stay there, but came running back home after only 3 days!!! I wish I would have never made the decision to go there! DR - Never again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mishel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to the Coral Costa Caribe Resort for 4 days (between Dec 27 2011 and Jan 1 2012) with 2 other couples. We arrived around 1 am and the staff was very friendly, and the front desk spoke english. The grounds were well kept and the beach was beautiful with plenty of comfy lounge chairs and palm trees to cast some shade. There was a place to borrow volleyballs, ping-pong paddles and balls and other 'beach' items to have some fun. The down side to the beach is being hassled by 'vendors' trying to sell random items to you every 10 minutes or so.

The unlimited drinks were great! Some better than others, but I'd suggest you bring a large insulated travel mug since beverages are served in small glasses. The food was fair, but we didn't go hungry - the 'self serve' tacos in the mexican restaurant were great and there was plenty of options at each meal.

The rooms condition seemed to vary as our group discussed missing items or faulty equipment. Our room had a coffee pot (no coffee) that would not work, we also had a broken air conditioner and un-programable alarm clock. The room had a smell (horribly musty!) that we couldn't get rid of, and little red bugs that were all over the bathroom sink.

We gave the CLEANLINESS a 3 because although the room smelled and had the bugs, the grounds were constantly swept, washed and tidy. The ROOM earned a 2 because things didn't work and smelled bad - (our friends rooms had different problems, missing ceiling tiles, damp spots, etc.).

Overall the trip was awesome! Good staff, great beach, very relaxing - just be warned the room condition could be a game of luck and reading a book will help keep the 'vendors' away.

Room Tip: our room was on the 5th floor of the East side of the main building - which was good because the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beaver96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very simple and sort of all 90s, but excellent service, terrific food and very good entertaining. Wonderful experience, will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MashaG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
198 reviews
1.9 km away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
2.0 km away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#4 of 12 in Juan Dolio
11 reviews
20.4 km away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.8 km away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range: $136 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing