We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holidays even with hurricane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One huricane before destroyed a part of the beach, so only half of it could be used. The second, during my stay destroyed the rest, so that in the second week the complete beach and one pool was closed, like the beach restaurant and for some days the jacuzzis. Still it was a relaxing time there. The beds were very comfortable, only it would have been nicer if the AC could have been regulated. Because of the high difference in temperature (outside at night 27°, inside 16°) I had very often condensed water on the floor (and inside the wardrobe). They are working a lot on the ground to renovate and keep the hotel in good condition (without too much disturbing). The service is nearly perfect, people at reception always friendly, even with difficult guests. The food repeats often, but the varieties are so much, that you always find something delicious and I enjoyed every morning 4 different fresh pressed fruit juices. I chose this hotel, because it is not far away from everything, but in the middle of a town, so you can join real life there (incl. not so nice things like prostitution and "Viagra" sellers). I liked most the three jacuzzis over the sea with a perfect view, the food (even my balance did not like it) and the good service. What I did not like: the too expensive WI-FI, the too loud entertainment at pool No 2 (the only one to use after the storm) and to be overprotected before and after the hurricane (not even one glass of wine or beer at the dinner even there was no real storm yet - and don't go here and don't go there).

Room Tip: When you are older, choose lower floors (no elevators, but I think they already take care for this).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hansmueller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM_BeachReef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Marina Beach & Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello dear Guest,
Thank you for taking from your time and writing your comment. Your feedback is much appreciated and taken into deep consideration in order to improve our hotel. We understand the situation during your stay and appreciate your understanding. Your feedback is also very much appreciated and taken into deep consideration in order to improve our hotel. We look forward to having you back soon here in Casa Marina.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 3,782 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

was there 4 days after hurricane maria went by.half of resort was closed for renos but it didn't affect us.the people that have bad reviews about this place are out to lunch.the beach was closed but there is another open beach next door.only used it twice anyway.the price was great.room was good .good bed.pool was clean. grounds were nice.people working there were super nice.the best I have ever seen.my 4 friends also liked it very much.so I booked another week in December.could have stayed in a higher star hotel but like this location right in sosua plus I will not have any surprises.have a friend who has been there 3 times and he loved it also.the only real negative I have is the buffet is almost the same all week.there is a bit of different variety each day but im a picky eater.my friends had no problem with the food and nobody got sick.and when you get a deal on the package I can live with the food issue.usually went downtown for a snack late at night.drinks were typical and nobdy complained .I don't really drink so I didn't care.my friends liked the entertainment but I didn't bother with it much.it was ok but I boils down to what you pay to stay here.actually had some problems with a few tourists but security was good.again hotel cant control idiot guests.so I cant wait to go back in dec.i have been to other hotels in Dominican and was pleased with this one.others may have been a bit better but they were twice as much.it is nice to be in town so you can eat elsewhere or shop and this place fits the bill.if you are royalty then don't go here but for the average person its great.you need to check out the best deal and compare to other hotels.both of my trips to casa marina cost about $100 more than air fare alone.the only problem is its one week only.in jan im going air only for 18 days but will stay at my house in santo domingo. but if going for one week it will be casa marina.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2206.was noisy when shows were on but no big deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM_BeachReef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Marina Beach & Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking from your time and sharing your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to offer you well deserved vacations. Know that your feedback is very much appreciated and taken into deep consideration in order to improve the hotel. We look forward to having you back soon here at Casa Marina.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Staff are amazing. Food is ok you certainly won’t go hungry. Decent value lue for money spent however the rooms are very dated and are in need of a complete update It would be helpful if the manager showed his face at the front desk when it was requested

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gouldch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM_BeachReef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Marina Beach & Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking from your time and writing your comment, it is very much appreciated. As well as your feedback which is taken into deep consideration in order to improve our hotel. We hope to have you back soon!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Well what can i say ive been here 8 times and the place has never failed with great entertainment great staff everyone was amazing isaac one of the reps was amazing was always wanting people to join in activities and was always putting smiles on other peoples faces got to say its the best holiday ive ever had in my life!! Always has been always will be

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rhiah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM_BeachReef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Marina Beach & Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dear Guest,
What a pleasure reading your comment, thank you for taking from your time and sharing your experience with us. We are very proud of our staff and know that Isaac will be receiving your regards. We look forward to having you back in the near future here at Casa Marina Beach & Reef.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My family and I just came back and I have to say that's its been an incredible experience even though half of the resort was closed due to hurricane Maria :/
However staff were incredibly amazing specially the day entertainers Amaury, Esmeralda and Luis who had fun and crazy games all the time and made my family feel like home. It's nice being in a place where staff called you by your name everytime they see you. I also have to mention that the food was delicious, having different dishes every single day gives you the opportunity to try different types of food.
The only thing that wasn't to great was the night show performances, even though they had different choreographies every night to me all looked the same and boring, that definitely needs more creativity.
Overall, my family and I had a great time that we're starting to plan for next year to the same resort.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM_BeachReef, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Marina Beach & Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for taking from your time and sharing about your experience with us at Casa Marina. We are really proud of our staff and be sure they will receive your regards. Your feedback is much appreciated and taken into deep consideration in order to improve our hotel. We look forward to having you back on the shores of Sosua.
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
0.3 km away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#10 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.4 km away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.7 km away
Sosua Bay Resort
Sosua Bay Resort
#25 of 30 in Sosua
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Address: Calle Alejo Martinez, Sosua 57600, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $111 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 676
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing