We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,771)
Filter reviews
3,771 results
Traveller rating
1,442
1,337
549
235
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,442
1,337
549
235
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lirio building caribe club punta cana family room different theme dominican restaurant swim up bar buffet restaurant pasta station dominican republic animation team guest services a la carte restaurants ping pong main pool main buffet night shows
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 3,771 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We actually stayed here July 2017 but never got round to the review until now.
This was our 2nd time in Dominican but first time at this hotel. Yes it's not as posh as some hotels but we stayed in a 5 star last year and although the service was great the people were a little unfriendly at times. Thankfully, this was not the case this year. All staff were very friendly and willing to do what they could for you. Not enough pillows so they brought us more. The food was fantastic and lots of variety, the speciality restaurants were the same good standard, though we didn't try the Chinese one. Our favourites were the Mexican, the Brazilian and the Dominican ones.
The bar staff got to know us at the pool bar that we didn't even have to ask for our drinks, most of the time they saw us and had our drinks ready.
Staff at the snack beach bar were the same. Raymondo was very friendly and a good waiter. We always enjoyed our afternoon Mamma Jauna drink with him.
Plenty of sunbeds around all the pools and the beach. Everywhere clean and tidy. Use the watersport guys onsite to book your parasailing, it's in a hut right on the beach.
Daily beach BBQ for lunchtimes so we rarely went to the restaurant for lunch.
Great surroundings and gardens, especially the mangrove nature reserve,(some refer to this as the smelly swamp on here, clearly not knowing about the countries ecosystem) we got to see loads of wildlife. You can take a walk or hop on the little trains that take you round the resort. Even has a little chapel with services every Sunday if you wanted to attend. Although we didn't join in with the pool/beach entertainment it was fun to watch.
The only criticism we have is that the entertainment in the evenings was at the theatre by the hotel reception which wasn't very big and although there was plenty of empty chairs at the other disused theatre by the restaurant, there was never enough seating for where the entertainment was. I feel more could be done to accommodate those wishing to watch the entertainment, we ended up not bothering as unless you were there by 7pm you could not get a seat and didn't want to be standing up for long.
Rooms were a little old but functional and clean.
Would definitely go again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMitch150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community-Princess, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear MrsMitch150.
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review of your trip at Tropical Princess.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your tourist destination as well as for all the compliments regarding our service in general in a special way for your accolades on the friendliness of our staff. We are more than happy reading your lovely review as you could take advantage of almost everything we offered during your holidays.
At the same time we want to extend our humblest apologies for any possible you might have experienced while you were staying within us. We highly appreciate all your suggestions as we consider is the best way to improve the quality of our service.
We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook fan page Hotel Tropical Princess to become part of our family and interact with our staff. We will forward your greetings and gratitude to all our staff members you mentioned as they will be very happy knowing from you.
We would love to have another opportunity to be your host when you return to the Caribbean.
Warmest regards,
Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Its not hard to find fault with this hotel. Tropical princess is a typical Caribbean budget hotel and this is exactly what I expected. I can forgive dated décor, poor to average quality food and poor service because the beach is amazing and the pool is good quality.

What makes me angry is that the hotel actually encourages touts and sales people, so you cant even escape into the hotel grounds to relax. On the beach hotel sponsored touts try to sell you cigars, watersports, couple photos, photos with monkeys/iguanas and parrots, art work, clothing, hats, sunglasses etc. They do accept a firm 'no' however as the portion of the beach they patrol is only about 100 metres in length they approach you several times a day each. dealing with this all day and every day is REALLY exhausting. Theres a dive shop at on the left side boundary of the hotel, there is another one at the right side boundary, and several touts in the middle!

This is also an issue inside the hotel, they station stalls selling coco bongo, water sports etc etc right where you collect the towels, there is no way of avoiding the sales people. At the entrance to each accommodation block there is another desk selling tours so you cant even retire to your room unmolested. As a special treat, every few days they have stalls outside the restaurants so they hassle you as you go in and out for food, firmly grabbing your hand and leading you to the stalls and giving you 'free gifts' but getting angry if you don't buy anything. Even the 'concierge' will stop at nothing to sell you timeshare.

In the end I pretended to be Russian (they cant speak Russian) smiled sweetly and kept walking.

Even worse my fiancé experienced sexual harassment from direct members of staff in the hotel. She went for a massage at the Spa and a Gardner in his 50s stopped her, started rubbing her arm and saying he would massage her for free. I saw another man walking behind her pretending to touch her bum and goose her much to the amusement of his friends and one evening in the bar, we were sat at a table for 2 enjoying a beer and a cigar. One of the animation team was stood behind her leaning back holding his genitals, trying to simulate oral sex with her, I had to get up and chase him away

On checking out I approached a crowd of reception staff, all looked at me blankly. One girl did assist and I left her a tip, as I was walking around one of the reception staff mumbled 'eff off mate'. I was sure I heard him wrong so i stopped to clarify but he darted behind the scenes leaving some very embarrassed colleagues.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community-Princess, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Bobsnail.
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you choose our hotel as your tourist destination as well as for the compliments on the beauty of our hotel, the relation quality-price (which is certainly the best in all this area) and the beauty of our beach considered not only the most beautiful but cleanest in all this area but we deeply regret that your recent experience staying here with us was not as good as you expected as our main goal is to please all our guests.
We regret that you were disturbed by pushy vendors but we want to clear that Royal Holidays is an independent company that shares the same workplace with us but has nothing to do directly with our company. Then under any circumstance our guests should be forced to attend meetings or to buy memberships or anything if the client does not want to and it is also important to remark that our beach is also a public space where everyone has access (without invade our property) and even we have security monitoring our beach, sometimes is hard to control vendors walking around our beach. However we will look into this point trying to take the necessary measures to correct this issue.
I personally (as the general manager of this hotel) I am very sorry to hear that this situation occurred and I want to reiterate to you how seriously we have taken this and we want to clear that this behavior is unacceptable and we will never tolerate this at our hotel but we also are surprised to read that we have never received any report (verbal or written) and more considering that it is a very delicate situation. Unfortunately we cannot take any correction action if we do not know who are the people involved in this situation and we regret not have been informed while you were still in house as we would have take the most severe measures to correct this situation even using external support from the local authorities of the town. To put it simply, it is implausible that your fiancée was subject to sexual harassment by 3 hotel staff members repeatedly but you did not complain to the hotel management or your tour operator, or even think to change hotels. It just does not make sense.
We very much appreciate the feedback as the best way to improve the quality of our service and we hope to have another opportunity to be your host again in the future. Please feel free to contact us in advance if you plan another trip to Dominican Republic.
Honestly,
Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I had an amazing vacation there this past June and plan to return soon. It was everything I hoped for. The staff was amazing, the drinks and food were great. I really can't wait until my next vacation this resort is at the top of my list.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community-Princess, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Karl W.
Thank you for dedicate part of your time to post the comments of your holidays at our hotel.
We are glad that you choose our hotel as your tourist destination as well as for all the compliments on the friendliness of our staff, the quality and flavor of our food and drinks and the service in general. It is wonderful to read that you had an amazing vacation and you could take advantage of all our facilities.
We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook fan page Hotel Tropical Princess to become part of our family and interact with our staff.
It is fantastic to read that you are planning to return to visit us again. Please feel free to contact us in advance for your next trip for any special request or if we can do something for you.
Best wishes,
Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Just arrived yesterday, will be here until Monday. So far, fair at best. While I am not a hard core critic, a little rust on a door jam would never bother me, much is lacking with regard to the room. Pros:clean and great location(3109), mini fridge with soda and bottled water. Across from pool, beach a few feet away, and main restaurant a few feet away. Cons: out dated, 2 flat cheap looking pillows, safe doesn't work, musty smell, AC doesn't cool properly, curtains stained, cracks in shower floor , stains on countertops, scrapes on furniture. I typically overlook small cosmetic issues, however, too many not to notice. Bed is hard, but not bad. No iron. I called for one and they came back for it shortly later stating that it is a 30 minute loaner.

Landscaping is beautiful. Staff has been nice, no outstanding customer service to date, but overall nice. Food is average at best. Premium liquor additional. Two a la carte restaurants which require reservations, others at cost. Wifi only available at lobby which is a golf cart ride away. Super quiet grounds. Several families with children. Very laid back atmosphere. No loud music, no partying at least not on the side I am on. Good for beach bums and pool peeps. Not sure if it's a good fit for my husband and I yet. Remains to be seen. Hoping to make up by visiting the spa , hair salon, and going on a few fun tours.

Overall, I give this resort a 2-star status with room for improvement.

Stay tuned!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jeswin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community-Princess, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Jeswin1.
Thank you for your feedback.
We are thankful that you choose our resort as your tourist destination as well as for the compliments regarding our service, we sincerely regret that your vacation experience was not a 100% pleasant experience, as it is our goal to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay in our premises.
We are disappointed not being able to meet all your expectations as our main object is to give the best treatment of the Caribbean, every point expressed has been considered as an area of improvement and corrective measures are already in action to fix these issues, we appreciate that you bring these issues to our attention in order to take action immediately and improve any possible drawback.
We hope to have another opportunity to be your host if you return to this beautiful island. You will never regret.
Sincerely,
Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Everything and everyone was awesome, entertainment was excellent, Hector yoga instructor and aquatic aerobics at the pool ,
And at night time with different theme every day.
Good food , good drinks and excellent service

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community-Princess, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Ana J.
Thank you for posting a review of your holidays at Tropical Princess.
We are thankful and happy that choose our resort as your tourist destination and we appreciate all the compliments regarding our property and all the advantage this service offers. We love your short but concise review highlighting what made you feel please and happy during your time at our property.
We invite you to join our community visiting our Facebook fan page Hotel Tropical Princess to become part of our Princess family and interact with our staff.
We hope to have the privilege to be your host again on your next trip to the Caribbean.
Best wishes,
Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews