We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hernand and His Crew Are The Best”

Pastrata Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 149 Restaurants in Bavaro
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Perfect to enjoy with family and friend at any time of the day! with a nice location close to the beach.and easy access from any place in Bavaro .You have a lot of options to choose of international food in a new ,clean and modern restaurant concept unique in Bavaro Punta Cana!!!
Reviewed 9 February 2022

We always go back to Pastrata every year. Yes, it is close to our condo but that's not why. Hernand makes sure that the service is excellent and the food is tasty and reasonably priced. Their sopa Azteca, Pozole Rojo and Ensalada Pastrata were my go to dishes. Joan loves the quesadillas and orders them every time. But you can't go wrong with the menu. The fish tacos are top notch and their fajitas very good as well. Whatever Hernand does he does with great care for both his customers and his staff.

We look forward to seeing him again next January!

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jdr1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, Propietario at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2022

Thank you very much for the Review si glad to Hear that

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2022 via mobile

We went here twice because it was close to where we were staying. We should have ordered taco bell.
The waitstaff were very nice.
The first visit we ordered guacamole, tacos dorado and enchiladas suiza. My husband had a beer and I ordered a mojito. The Mojito was non traditional as the mint was blended in the drink, a little weird but it was OK. We asked for a few more chips for our guacamole and later when we got the bill we noticed we were charged for them. The main entrees were completely tasteless, no flavor whatsoever. Oddly enough rice and beans were not included with your entree they were an extra charge. Its also dominican white rice and beans not Mexican.

The second visit we ordered guacamole again (this time we used our chips more wisely) a burrito and chiliques pastrana. We got the guacamole right away, then waited 2 hours for the entree..2 hours!! We watched 2 table get up an leave because of the wait.. I am very familiar with island time but this was an excessive wait. When we finally got our food the chiliques were disgusting! soaked in cold red and green sauce with a tiny piece of cold steak on top, the dish was so cold the cheese didn't melt. My husband's burrito was warm but they never cooked the outside shell so it was soggy and stuck to the paper wrapper the warm lettuce inside was a gross surprise. Yuck!
For as much as we paid and as long as we waited this was a huge disappointment. We ended up going for more to eat at Onos after.
We visit Cortecito often we will not be back to this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, Propietario at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2022

Thank very much for the Review but we can see other intentions on this review
If you came ones and don’t like it why you returned twise ?
Everything it’s made it at the moment the client ordered ,fresh by the Scratch
Maybe we are not a option for you !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2022

I highly recommend this restaurant. I'm a fan of Mexican cuisine and that's the best I tried in Dominicana. Thank you!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Kinezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, Propietario at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Thank you very much for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Great food, friendly service and very fair prices – what more can one ask for? You can tell that the dishes are made of fresh ingredients. I highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank sebastianbU7595YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, Propietario at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2022

Thank you very much for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2022

I've never eat better mexican food. Great service, wonderfull meal and friendly peoples everywhere. Everything smels great, look fresh and taste unthinkable. 11/10

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank C4320TLfilipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, Propietario at Pastrata Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Thank you very much for the review
So glad to hear everything was as you expect

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pastrata Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pastrata Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.