We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jarfi(Salcedo)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$84
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endamo(Latacunga)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa de Tacvnga(Latacunga)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ambato(Ambato)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
34
50
17
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
50
17
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseggsin townjuiceswimming poolhot watervolcanic rockecuadorbedshosteriaactivitieslotsgroundstrainbookingrestbathanimals
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Dropped in here for lunch having passed it many times over the years, Excellent fish and meat dishes, reasonable prices and good service. According to the receptionist this place has changed hands at least seven times over its forty years of existence! We walked around the large expanse of facilities and grounds (formerly a cattle farm) - certainly a strange assortment of animals, disused plane, football pitch etc! The main building looks very tired and in need of refurbishing

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kirklycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here with a school group (32 pupils and staff) in July 2014.

It was our last night in Ecuador after travelling around and visiting a number of areas including the Galapagos as well as the rain-forest.

it was not what I/we was/were expecting. The rooms were excellent - very spacious and well appointed and the restaurant (more of later) was very good. What made it different were the various attractions on site. These ranged from table tennis, football, a pool and so on through to an ostrich, lame horses and an old airliner!! We were, however, the only people there (out of season?) and it did feel a little odd being there.

The bar and restaurant were much busier and it seemed that it was a favourite place to eat for locals. Certainly the evening meal we had was excellent - very tasty and well presented - the service was also just right. They also produced some small cakes for a couple of our pupils who had a birthday on that day.

Breakfast was a little disappointing compared to what we had been given at much cheaper places during our trip. At most places we had been given fruit and cereal as well as eggs and so in - here it was just eggs and bread.

Doubt I will ever go back but I would stay there again if I did.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ThemaceSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Been there a couple times, is a very rustic and old stile hotel, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful, is located between Latacunga and Ambato, not much to do in any of those towns. the hotel restaurant is good and prices are fine, the rooms are big and with a particular old stile, the best part is the fire place in the room, the hotel staff will go to your room to start the fire every night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was part of a tour through the Volcanoes in Ecuador and when we arrived at the city of Salcedo we were all a bit worried as it is a transfer city - not really pretty with limited sight seeing except for dozens of ice-cream parlors but a great place to get form point to point in the area. So imagine how much we enjoyed this very unique place to stay. Originally one of the first major hacienda it has now been adapted for the tourist.

Rumipamba is full of a variety of artifacts - no room anymore for a runway for your private plane? - just leave it on the grounds of the new hotel in town, keep ostriches ? add them to our local petting zoo but always make sure that the hotel guest are always comfortable.

Our huge room had a big bathroom, plenty of fresh towels, drinking water, amenities like shampoo and a working fireplace that was lit for us as we went to bed!
The food was not fine dining but it was tasty and well presented. The service here was friendly and happy to serve us even if we did arrive a bit late.

As I have said - while city is not much to write about, this is a very interesting and unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front as the highway is a bit noisy and make sure you leave time to walk around and see many of the curiosities.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADragonFlyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Though Salcedo is not a beautiful touristic city, its position is ideal as a base for visiting the most important attractions of the central ecuatorian Andes, like Cotopaxi National
Park and Laguna Quilotoa. The place is a beautiful old "hacienda" with a nice (but sometimes excessive) country style and has a gentle staff and a very good restaurant inside. The desserts with ice cream are excellent, much more better than the famous (but horrible)"salcedo ice creams"...
Being situated along the Pan-American road, this place may be a bit noisy.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank magistef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews