We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant! Fantastic B&B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thenay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saisons de Trainefeuilles
Ranked #1 of 2 Thenay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2015

If I was to design my perfect B&B this would be it! Superb, friendly and helpful hosts, fantastic breakfast and wonderful rooms!

We were visiting for the nearby 4L International show held in the village so stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and were hugely impressed by it - probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Our room was huge plus had a nice bathroom and plenty of character with wooden beams, opening rooflight and shuttered windows plus a lovely view of the gardens. Spotlessly clean and well maintained you couldn't really ask for more.

Breakfast was homemade, fresh and delicious whilst Isabelle and Remy were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and attractions.

Swimming pool was fantastic after a long day in the heat and big enough to have a bit of a swim.

Its set in a quiet location so is very restful and I really can't recommend it high enough! We'll be back in Thenay in two years and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4F6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIRIAT I, Propriétaire at Saisons de Trainefeuilles, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Thank you for this nice feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and we will be very happy to welcome you again for the 4L in two years .. or anytime sooner.
Isabelle et Rémi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015

they property itself is very nice and I would give it higher reviews but there were a few "rules" that rubbed me the wrong way. We were staying for 4 nights in a family room, very nice and my father in law was also staying for 4 nights in his own room. We were there for a family wedding and we have come from all over the world. It was crazy hot while we were there. The owners were kind to give us fans for the room which was upstairs and very hot. My sister in law and 4 yr. old niece came to meet us for a swim and we were told no guests allowed and the 4 yr. old could not go in the pool. She was staring at the water in the heat in her bathing suit and could not go in! I read the contract and nowhere did it say no guests. It is only a 4 room b and b and we had 2 rooms you would think they would make an exception. pool is closed from noon to 4 pm. If got back at 2 pm cant go in. Also they have a kitchen area but they lock it at noon and don't reopen until 5. Would have been nice to have a cold drink at 2 when coming back from sightseeing. I also emailed prior to coming asking if they had laundry available to guests. told yes. when got there told can only do 1 load. would have done it in city if I had known. Made you feel bad about using the machine. If host could relax the rules it would be a more pleasurable stay. they were helpful with reservations and info. Again, would love to have given higher review but Too many rules!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank readysetgo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THIRIAT I, Propriétaire at Saisons de Trainefeuilles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Dear guest. It was nice to have you and your family at home to celebrate a wedding so far from your respective countries. Glad you liked your rooms and our services.

We have regulations and they are stipulated in the contracts we have both signed during the reservation phase.
Your room was to be occupied by 3 persons: you, your wife and your daughter and your father’s room by one person: himself. This was clearly stipulated in the 2 contracts you have signed (item 11 in the conditions). As I explained to you we have security restrictions and you seemed to have agreed on that point but my English was probably not good enough. We, as the owners of the place, are legally responsible for any accident that may happen to unregistered visitors especially regarding the swimming pools. We have very strict laws in place nationwide for around 10 years now. On the other hand we cannot impose to the other guests the presence of any person who is not registered guest. Your sister in law arrived with her little girl without asking us before or even saying hello when she arrived. When we saw her she was already in the pool. I did not know who this kid was and we had to tell her mother that we could not accept that situation even though we fully understood that the little girl wanted to jump in the pool again. Afterwards we let her spend some time on the terrace with you. Too bad your sister in law did not book in our place a few months before. There was a strong heat wave and we really regret your niece’s frustration but we had no choice.

Now the rules. We broke a few of them for you during these days. The pool is normally open from 10am to 12am and from 4pm to 7pm but we left it open much later in the evening. We broke another rule on departure day by organizing your breakfasts at 8am instead of 8:30 so you can spend a longer afternoon visiting Paris.
The kitchen area is usually open from 7:45 am to 10:30 pm. I do not understand why you say it was closed one day as there was always someone, my wife or myself, to unlock it if need be and we did once after 10:45 pm, although our private house was closed, so you could have a drink after a diner outside. We have to lock this kitchen at night because it is in a separate building, easy to access, and contains valuable items, some of them owned by guests.
The washing and drying machines are usable for free on demand and the guests normally use it once per room and per stay, which you did.

As described above we obviously accept to break some rules when the demand is justified and acceptable by all other guests.
We are sorry if you think “too many rules” justifies a much lower rate despite the quality of the rooms and our continuous efforts to satisfy our guests.
One would have realized that these rules are made for his own comfort above all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Isabelle and Remy are so thoughtful and welcoming, we felt right at home at this lovely, historic gite. The room was spaceous and clean; the breakfast was copious and fresh; the surrounding property was verdent and gorgeous. This was the perfect place to launch our excursions to the chateaux of the Loire Valley, far from the madding crowds of tourists. They even let us do a load of laundry, which was necessary after five days on the road. Two other families here had children, so it seems an ideal location for couples like us or larger groups.

Room Tip: The Epis de Ble room was huge, though the eaves caused a few head bumps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 3 great nights here at the end of June and thought everything perfect! Our hosts were very helpful with booking a restaurant and advice on the many chateaux around. The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the day. We would certainly recommend the B & B and hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 66Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by our very friendly host who gave us some very useful advice on what to visit and where to eat. The small house that we had all to ourselves was nicely furnished, comfortable and very clean. (No wonder, the proprietor is a retired pharmacist.) The property even has its own small lake (étang) with fish.

Breakfast was also very pleasant, also a wonderful way to meet other travelers thanks to the friendly atmosphere created by the host and his wife. Staying in the peaceful, lovely old rural house (refurbished) we wondered what country life must have been like in past centuries. Last but not least, we found that their prices were very friendly, as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suisse_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Saisons de Trainefeuilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saisons de Trainefeuilles

Address: 31 route des Gandes, 41400 Thenay, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Thenay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thenay
Price Range: $111 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Rooms of charm, including 2 family, between Touraine and the Sologne offers an ideal setting to visit castles and villages in the Loire Valley, the Cher and Indre valleys. The property consists of several buildings beautifully renovated on a park with 2 ponds and a swimming pool. Breakfast and the hosts table are served in the veranda ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing