We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - unfriendly Fitness Trainer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

I had 2 nights in Petra in the Hotel next to the visitor center. The hotel is just 50m form the entrance what makes it a perfect place to start the trail to the archeological place.
But very bad was the fitness trainer form the hotel. Probably the most unfriendly person in the hotel. He made me feel very unwelcome. Why? I ask for two towels for the pool and he took just the second out from my hand. Later he was looking at me as I was a foreigner in the hotel, while he was playing for with a plastic duck toy at the pool area. The second day was not better at all!. So, I was happy when he was not in the fitness center when I made my training the next day. The terrace view and the food in the hotel are outstanding good as well the breakfast in the morning try the Bircher muesli. In the room you have free non-alcoholic drinks. Some parts of the hotel need to have a renovation. Soon I go to Tala Bay Aqaba in to the Mövenpick Resort, I hope it will be better, we will see.

Room Tip: Room top floor or with view to the city to the right site, not back site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Gilbert,

Thank you for your review and we really appreciate that you took the time in sharing your feedback. I want to assure you that your comment about the attitude of one of our colleague will be addressed accordingly. There is no room for attitude for a service oriented industry like us and I will make sure the team is reminded to be courteous and exercise professionalism at all times.

We hope you will reconsider visiting us again and we would really appreciate to be given another opportunity to welcome you back at Movenpick Petra.

Sincerely,

Rania Bawalsa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 3,422 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel with its Arabic decor, multitudinous restaurants, excellent swimming pool , gym and proximity to the Petra Visitor Centre makes it probably the best located and equipped hotel in Petra. The public areas are so attractive that one guidebook recommends that you look inside just to see what has been achieved - and it is beautiful, particularly the decor in the bar.

The hotel is built in traditional style for a large arabic building, with a central well, sheltered from the sun with huge chandeliers and fountains of running water providing a cool oasis out of the glare of the sun.

However away from the main areas this is a standard "International hotel" and actually the service and maintenance of the rooms is very variable. The bathroom that I was in had a cracked sink, the quality of the room preparation was very variable and things were not cleared away or replaced properly. To be specific, complementary food trays were not replenished over the three days that I stayed; on one occasion the minibar did not have fresh cold water in it and so on. In addition the air conditioning gave the room - on a smoke-free corridor - a vague smell of smoking which suggests that people were smoking near the intakes to the air-con system.

The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The food in the two restaurants that we used was excellent and very well-presented, using local ingredients to make food to cater to an international clientele and the general ambience is excellent. It is only the issues with the rooms that keeps me from giving it 5 *s.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up with a balcony (not many of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Peter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in the TripAdvisor community and we are really glad that your Movenpick Petra stay had been really pleasant. I am really glad that you liked the overall ambiance of the resort and appreciated the décor which is always something that we are proud of.

I took a note of your comment about the needed repairs in the room and our Engineering team is on top of ongoing maintenance program to do some upkeep and fixing in all areas of the resort. But we will also consider your feedback for future major plans that we will carry out.

We look forward having you back to Petra. Please visit us again, hopefully anytime soon.


Best regards,

Rania Bawalsa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

First and foremost, the location is amazing. It is right across from the entrance to the old city, and it can't be beat. This is also a very remote part of Jordan, so with the heat and the limited resources, I imagine it is a challenge to offer a luxurious experience. We did hear this is the best hotel in Petra - and we are here for the sites, not for the accommodations.

However, this hotel claims to be a five star property, when it is more of a two star by international standards.

The good:
1. Location, location, location!

2. Minibar stocked with assorted drinks is complementary.

3. Laundry service is prompt and prices were reasonable.

4. There is a very nice rooftop bar which has an astronomically expensive menu for mediocre food, but a great view and breeze.

5. Some rooms have very nice terraces, perfect for viewing the night lights of Petra, or in our case, a fight amongst wild dogs over garbage.

Recommendations for improvement:

1. The air conditioning - which we are grateful to have - is incredibly loud. It sounds like a truck stop, or an airplane trying to take off. On our first night, a wonderful maintenance man tried to quiet the A/C for us, unfortunately it began smoking and making crazy grinding noises. However, the most important thing is that it worked, which is essential in the desert.

2. The accommodations are simple, and a bit worn. The bathroom has a bit of mold, and the walls and carpet show their age.

3. The food assortment caters to traditional Jordanian fare, buffet style. It would be so nice to have a nice a la carte restaurant that really prioritized food safety, given how much walking there is to do around Petra.

4. There is a pool, but it is small and not heated.

5. Housekeeping is simple. They will not replace towels unless asked or change the sheets. However, there is a water shortage in Jordan, so maybe this is for environmental reasons ?

One other observation - This hotel caters to large tour groups so be prepared for crowds at reception, at breakfast, and in the lobby.

All in all, we are here for Petra, not for the accommodations. This is a perfectly acceptable hotel. But please stop calling it a five star property.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UrbanMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear UrbanMusings,

We always appreciate receiving guests' feedback which is a great deal in maintaining our services standards and we would like to thank you for sharing yours. I am glad to read that you appreciated certain areas of our services including of course the unbeatable location of our property, the complimentary mini bar we offer our guests, the efficient laundry services, the roof garden and the terraces of some rooms we have.

I am also worried reading some areas you raised and we will gladly look into each of them. A plan to d repairs and maintenance needed in the rooms is undertaken and our Engineering team is on top of it. We will also look into the variety and quality of our food offering.

We hope that you will reconsider your opinion of Movenpick Petra. We would really appreciate the opportunity to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Rania Bawalsa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous location...however be prepared for the pricing within the hotel = expensive!!! Be prepared for some hygiene issues...flies in the food areas. There are other good hotels within the area too. However I have stayed in many Movenpick's and I believe the main reason of the star rating would definitely location.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Travel_Ang_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Travel_Ang_1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we really appreciate that you took the time in sharing your experience. We wish your stay had been better and we will definitely work on the needed improvements at Movenpick Petra. While some living creature are difficult to control in the area, our Housekeeping team is asked to maintain the cleanliness in the resort in order to avoid inconveniences to our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again, and perhaps in your next visit your Movenpick Petra experience will be better.

Best regards,

Rania Bawalsa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

the hotel possess a wonderful location 2 minutes from Petra entrance the breakfast is so delicious lol. you should try the barbecue on the rooftop guys. the hotel stuff is super helpful and polite. the room are clean and suits the need to relax after 8 hours walk in Petra

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jadgeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rania b, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear jadgeha,

I am really glad to read that you had a great stay at Movenpick Petra and that your experience in our resort even made your vacation more memorable. Thank you for sharing your feedback and I will make sure to thank the team for this wonderful experience.

Please visit us again. We look having you back.

Best regards,

Rania Bawalsa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.4 km away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,056 reviews
0.1 km away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,671 reviews
0.3 km away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
428 reviews
1.3 km away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
1.5 km away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $168 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing