We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Boat House(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

aha Simon's Town Quayside Hotel(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magellan's Passage(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariner Guesthouse(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albatross House B&B(Simon's Town)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boulders Beach Lodge(Simon's Town)
US$60
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avian Leisure(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Terra(Simon's Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
164
41
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
41
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housemain guesthoneymoon suitefalse bayan absolute assetmanager suespacious balconynaval portcape townself cateringbreakfast offeredlong staydefinitely worth a visitsteep stepsrooms are amazingminute walka great stay
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here while doing the "Great White Shark Trail" with Apex Predators Expeditions. I stayed in the B&B part although I didn't eat breakfast since we left very early. The kitchen was available for me to use and there was coffee and tea available in the room. My room was delightful - very spacious and clean with a lovely balcony. Bed was very comfortable. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grosvenor. Thank you for your positive review. Please post some of your stunning photographs on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experience in Simon's Town with our extended Grosvenor family.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan - Martini and Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at Grosvenor for 5 nights while with Apex Predators Expeditions, and we'll be back! It's 15 minutes' walk from the penguins at Boulder Beach, and from the downtown area and seaport.

Our house had 4 rooms to it, a common area (with the only TV), and a kitchen (very well equipped with everything you need to have lovely meals staying in, which came in handy since in August, it got dark around 6:30pm and not many restaurants are open late). Each bedroom had its own bathroom with tub, shower, and sink, and a private balcony that others could not view you from. The walls were thin, which made staying as a couple a bit awkward. However, the communal vibe added lots of value to the experience, as we were all there because of our passion for sharks, and I continued to learn about sharks outside of our Apex outings because of that. Plus, I just love meeting new friends and going on excursions together. Temperature wise, the rooms were cold at night and heaters didn't give much, so bring sweats to sleep in and ask for extra blankets.

The property is safeguarded with an electric fence. It's in a very quiet area, but my boyfriend and I walked to/from downtown as late as 9pm without safety concerns (just pick staircases with full visibility, not with bushes right next to them).

The staff was very helpful, with wonderful communication. They straightened our rooms daily, and washed/folded laundry for a mere 100 ZAR / load.

WiFi was incredibly slow and costs $. The English breakfast is served in their main house -- and while it was delicious, it was awkward since the staff member prepared it just for us while we waited. (It wasn't automatically out for anyone who stopped by).

Overall, our stay at the Grosvenor helped make our first trip to Simon's town easy and delightful thanks to their close ties with Apex and lovely accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the bay -- watching the sunset over the water was incredible.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshiregrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Grosvenor. Thank you for your positive review. Please post some of your stunning photographs on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experience in Simon's Town with our extended Grosvenor family.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan - Martini and Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend while we were observing Great White Sharks in False Bay, and we had an incredible time. Facilities are modern, not lacking any conveniences. Our room was huge, had an en suite bathroom that was larger and better-fitted than some upscale hotels I've stayed in, and a balcony that looked out over the bay.

There's a full kitchen, common area with TV and fireplace, and breakfast just a few steps away.

The staff was excellent, too. They helped us communicate seamlessly with our guides at the marine safari, had our laundry washed and folded every day when we got off the boat, etc.. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay that's close to the bay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review and we loved hosting you at the Grosvenor. Please post some of your fabulous photos of our Grosvenor Guest House face book page as we would love to share your experiences in the "Deep South" with our extended Grosvenor family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Simon's Town and the Grosvenor.
Debbie, Sue, James, Jonathan, Martini and Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were at the Grosvenor Guest House for around two weeks and alf and we like tomuch!Our room was big with a very nice bathroom,the house is very very nice with a beautiful view on False Bay.All the staff was ready all time for to help us if we need,thank you so much at James and Jonathan,they did a very good breakfast every morning and whene i wake up very urly for to go in the sea for to see sharks,everything was ready for me before,they were GREAT!!!IIt was so nice too to have the dog and the cat of Sue the owner come to see us whene we came back of somewhere,they were so sweet.It's very easy too to go by walk in the city of Simon's Town.I deeply recommend the Grosvenor for to have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review and we loved having you at the Grosvenor! Martini the dog and Janyie the cat are missing you. Please post some of your stunning photos on our face book page as we would love to share them with our extended Grosvenor family all over the word.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Debbie, Sue, James, Jonathan. Martini and Jaynie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed at the Grosvenor in July 2012 for shark diving. My first stay here and my husband's second. It lived up to his positive description and the warm welcome we received from Sue. Fanastic views across False Bay. Useful to have a car unless you're a fitness freak and like the steep steps! Good location for Boulders Beach (5 mins away by car) and about 10-15 mins walk into town.

The guesthouse is spacious as are the rooms within. Very quaintly decorated, with all the amenities that you would need for self catering. In Winter the bedroom can be a little cold (if you're diving it can prove a little difficult to dry things), it was good to have the log burner in the main room which helped immensely. The staff are friendly and helpful too. Would defintely recommend this guesthouse

Room Tip: One of the double room has a bath and shower, so if you like both ask for this one (alas I cannot remember the room number)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownDebbie, Owner at Grosvenor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We loved hosting you at the Grosvenor on behalf of Apex Sharks. We would love to see some of your photographs of your experiences in Simon's Town on our Grosvenor Guest House face book page. James and Jonathan are always ready to help you with any of your needs. We do have drying facilities available so next time just give them a shout and they will sort out all your damp clothing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Simon's Town and the Grosvenor Guest House.
Debbie, Sue, James and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews