We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apollo Conferencing Hotel(Randburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Waters Guest House(Randburg)(Great Value!)
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Burkleigh House(Randburg)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
23
78
51
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
78
51
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsper dayvalue for moneygood sizespurwijoburgfacility
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I can not fault the hotel on cleanliness or check in speed, but i can fault it on everything else.
1) 500 Mb internet allowance data per day. (The rest of the world gives unlimited access)
2) Breakfast is separate cost at 155 rand. I get a perfectly good top of the menu breakfast at the Spur or Dros for 65 rand. (Steak, Bacon, Sausage, 2 fried eggs, toast, mushrooms, beans, fried tomato, jams and coffee)
3)I asked for a plate and eating utensils and had to fetch and carry them to my room.
My biggest gripe here is the data allowance, which does not nearly suffice for a business man that has to send large files to his employer.

The bottom line is that while this hotel is clean and the staff are friendly, i wonder if it is worth the while staying here, especially the data allowance does not do it for me.
PS: The Brightwater commons mall right next to the hotel is dead to say the least. I doubt that 10 per cent of the shops are still trading. If you like ghost towns, then this is you next destination

Room Tip: WiFi is only 500 Mb per day.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, Walking distance to Waterfront Mall and also near Randburg CBD.
Its the best thing in Randburg and good value for money.
Not pricey and good for people who want to conduct business in the vicinity of randburg or sandton

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank TaKunda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Randburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear TaKundaR

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Bit out of town but that's not necessarily a bad thing. (20 min from airport in own car, and you need a car if staying here) Secure car parking with manned gate 24/7.
Reception was quick and efficient. The hotel interior is bit of a 60's revival and could do with some updating to bring it into the 21st century.
Lift works well but tucked away around the corner.
The room was of a reasonable size but once more badly needed an update. The a/c was deplorable and recirculated the air like a fan and made twice as much noise. The temperature outside was fairly cool so it was not an issue but had it been hot they would have known all about it. Wi Fi bit hit and miss at times but worked extremely well in the foyer.
Room keeping very good, sheets changed each day,
Never tried the breakfast as they charged 150 each and Spurs 5 min up road in shopping center are about 47R for a very good b'fast. Hotel is good for very short stay but looks much better in photos than reality.

Room Tip: One with working and quiet A/C.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bowwow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Randburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear Bowwow2

Thank you for taking your time to review and sharing your comments about your stay at Mercure Hotel Randburg.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Accustomed to staying in self catering style Mercure Hotels in Nelspruit and Johannesburg, only after reserving the Randenburg Hotel I discovered that it didn't follow the same style. I also found the rooms a bit small. Otherwise the stay in the Hotel was quite agreeable and the staff made a great effort to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marozal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Mercure Johannesburg Randburg, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear Marozal

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Yes our hotel is set up differently from the other properties in Bedfordview and Nelspruit, I am however happy that the team made you feel welcome.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Michelle Cross
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Hi, I have just stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Breakfast was good with friendly staff. The overall impression of the hotel was that it is a little dark. Maybe a bit dated. Looks lovely from outside. The carpet in my room was stained quite badly.Bathroom is newly renovated with good lighting and mirrors. Towels were nice and clean and so was the bedding. Size of bedroom was not to bad, with barfridge and kettle.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Anneri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews