We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“X-mas Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Probably one of the best Boutique Hotels in not only South Africa. Had a fantastic pre X-mas dinner with family, and an overnight stay for one couple of our group. The service, the friendliness, quality of food are all outstanding! Can only highly recommend Idwala. Compliments to Paul the Chef and the entire team, hospitality at it's BEST!

Room Tip: All rooms are extra spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some quiet romantic peaceful and beautiful place in Joburg then this is the place for you. This boutique hotel is just amazing.

The rooms are spacious and very very neat. The heated floors in the bathroom a big plus. The staff very friendly, reliable and always ready to go an extra mile to make your stay unforgettable.

The food was delicious and breakfast was my best part of the day.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Joburg

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank letmeseeubitthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to write about Idwala - we greatly value feedback from out guests as in this way we can be sure that expectations are met and that guests are satisfied! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay - please come back soon for some more of Chef Paul’s delicious breakfasts!
Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

After seeing the reviews for Idwala we decided to book there for a birthday/business weekend.

The hotel was plush and everything is well appointed. Our room was spacious with all the extras we had hoped for. From underfloor heating to an Ipod station. Awesome!


Breakfast was magic and after two days of poached eggs,smoked salmon and avo I need to take it easy.

Special mention must be made of Chef Paul and Ishmael/Brian at the gate. Everybody was extremely helpful,smiling and warm. Excellent team

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeBlue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Hi Mike I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to have guests who appreciate our team at Idwala so much - and take the time and trouble to write about their experience! Thank you so much - I will make sure that they hear about your very positive review! I am delighted to hear that your expectations of Idwala were fulfilled and that your experience was so positive - please come back soon to enjoy more of Chef Paul’s great cooking!
With best wishes from Jeanette and the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Everything was amazing. The accommodation, the service, the staff and even the Security... wonderful. Everyone were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Chef Paul is absolutely amazing. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ettienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Idwala! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - this is what we aim for and it is really rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back some time for another of Chef Paul's excellent meals!
With best regards from the Idwala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Very comfortable for workshops and training events. All technology in good working condition. Professional environment. Staff very helpful and go out of their way to make your day comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jolandapret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Jolanda
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala after the conference you held at our venue recently. We are so glad that you found our facilities to be up to date and in good order and that our staff helped to ensure the success of the day you spent at Idwala. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
2.6 km away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
23.5 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
356 reviews
22.1 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
232 reviews
6.7 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.4 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: $204 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing