We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Apollo Conferencing Hotel(Randburg)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$162
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burkleigh House(Randburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
89
14
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
14
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef paulheated floorsunderfloor heatingthe cottageskingklipexcellent stayprawnscomfortable bedbeautiful placeshopping centrebusiness tripjohannesburgrondavelgardenbomaaccommodationretreat
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for some quiet romantic peaceful and beautiful place in Joburg then this is the place for you. This boutique hotel is just amazing.

The rooms are spacious and very very neat. The heated floors in the bathroom a big plus. The staff very friendly, reliable and always ready to go an extra mile to make your stay unforgettable.

The food was delicious and breakfast was my best part of the day.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Joburg

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank letmeseeubitthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to write about Idwala - we greatly value feedback from out guests as in this way we can be sure that expectations are met and that guests are satisfied! It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay - please come back soon for some more of Chef Paul’s delicious breakfasts!
Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

After seeing the reviews for Idwala we decided to book there for a birthday/business weekend.

The hotel was plush and everything is well appointed. Our room was spacious with all the extras we had hoped for. From underfloor heating to an Ipod station. Awesome!


Breakfast was magic and after two days of poached eggs,smoked salmon and avo I need to take it easy.

Special mention must be made of Chef Paul and Ishmael/Brian at the gate. Everybody was extremely helpful,smiling and warm. Excellent team

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeBlue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Hi Mike I cannot tell you how wonderful it is to have guests who appreciate our team at Idwala so much - and take the time and trouble to write about their experience! Thank you so much - I will make sure that they hear about your very positive review! I am delighted to hear that your expectations of Idwala were fulfilled and that your experience was so positive - please come back soon to enjoy more of Chef Paul’s great cooking!
With best wishes from Jeanette and the Idwala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Everything was amazing. The accommodation, the service, the staff and even the Security... wonderful. Everyone were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Chef Paul is absolutely amazing. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ettienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Idwala! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much - this is what we aim for and it is really rewarding to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back some time for another of Chef Paul's excellent meals!
With best regards from the Idwala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Very comfortable for workshops and training events. All technology in good working condition. Professional environment. Staff very helpful and go out of their way to make your day comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jolandapret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Jolanda
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala after the conference you held at our venue recently. We are so glad that you found our facilities to be up to date and in good order and that our staff helped to ensure the success of the day you spent at Idwala. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Best regards from Jeanette and the Idwala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Everything was amazing. The accommodation, the service, the staff, the food....wonderful. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The food prepared by Chef Paul is absolutely delicious. My family will definitely be back. A real hidden gem in Johannesburg.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteF66, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much Jessica, it was great having you and your family at Idwala - such a pleasure to have appreciative guests like yourselves! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the meals so much and look forward to your return when you are next in Johannesburg.
Best regards from the Idwala Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews