We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the gorillas are...”
Review of The Engagi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Engagi Lodge
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you are going to do Gorilla trekking than this is the place to stay. Though there are several places to stay in Bwindi - my tour company NatureTrack www.naturetrack-expeditions.com selected this and I am happy they did. Nestled in the mountains and rain forest, you feel like you can reach out and touch the gorillas. Though it rains daily/nightly and can be cool - I travelled in October - every evening I welcomed a hot water bottle that the staff placed in my room. What a treat! The food was fresh and well prepared. The staff really made the stay a joy - for a one night I was the only guest :) Well, suffice to say I felt like a VIP! As travelling alone, I felt safe and secure in my cabin at night. In addition to the Gorilla Trek - which is like nothing else in the world - a village tour is a must as well. There are many local shops where the residents prepare crafts, a well organized hospital, banana wine cottage, as wells as the witch doctor and pygmies. It is a cultural dream - to get to know the locals - who are open to talk and to share their culture. Oh, how can I forget - laundry is complimentary! Where does that happen? And since it rains so much - not sure how they get all the clothes to dry - but they did!

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk up and down some rocks to get to your room. Bring your flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

What an amazing place. Sadly we had only one night here but would happily have stayed for more. The staff were incredibly friendly, the food was wonderful and our accommodation was clean and charming. Sure it was damp but I suspect that any accommodation in or near Buhoma would have the same problem since the humidity is incredibly high. The hot water bottles were particularly welcome.

I would recommend staying here. After the long, bumpy ride (as described by GerritL), the welcome from the quiet and gentle staff and stunning view from the open lounge and restaurant left me overwhelmed and close to tears!

We had a fantastic trek to the gorillas - 7 hours of hard walking, but worth every minute.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Perfect location for a short break in Bwindi to trek with the gorillas.
The staff were very friendly, food was good and accommodation was basic but suited the location perfectly. We had mosquito nets provided in rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

After a very long and bumpy drive - roads are terrible - we arrived at the Engagi Lodge in Bwindi. We were welcomed with sincere big smiles by the local staff. They took us to our cabin, and yes, it is very nice location, quite comfortable. Electricity only available two hours at nights and in the morning, but more is not necessary. Just not forget to charge your batteries during these hours. As everywhere in Uganda, the staff is very very very friendly. Food in restaurant was very well prepared. Good job, chef !

But...the most atrractive part is that the lodge is very close to the Bwindi Camp, where the gorilla trekkings start. We were assigned to visit the Rushegura group, which consists of 20 gorillas. We counted 16 at the end of the trekking. It is recommended to be in a good shape, because it was hard work of climbing steep slopes to only get to the rainforest. From there, the search started. The guides did a wonderful job and we could find the gorillas after less then 2 hours of hard work. Total trekking took like 4 hours. Not too bad, but rest of the day was just relaxing at the lodge with a Nile Special beer and enjoying the great views. Worth to mention that they also organize trekkings for disabled people where their 911-team can take also wheelchaired people up to the forest. Great initiative.

Gerrit

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerritL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Engagi means gorilla in Swahili. For those of you going to Bwindi for trekking, I would highly recommend staying at this gorgeous lodge constructed from wood with amazing views from rooms and bar over the impenetrable forest.

The rooms are separate cottages with large beds and each have a veranda with great views of the forest. There are no mosquito nets here but it is too cold at night even in June to need them.

The service is outstanding from some of the nicest people we met in Uganda and the food was really good to - fairly simple but all really tasty and service was quick too.

There are a number of lodges situated very close to Engagi which are supposed to be at the same level and I am sure they are all good too with similar views such as Silverback or the Volcanoes Bwindi etc. We didn't get to see them close up but can't think they would've been very different and unless you need Internet whilst you're in Bwindi I would recommend staying at Engagi which is a little more reasonable than some of the higher priced lodges.

Room Tip: All rooms good - depends whether you want stay close or far away from dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
18.8 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
97 reviews
0.6 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
11.7 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
231 reviews
0.9 km away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
195 reviews
11.3 km away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Engagi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Engagi Lodge

Address: 39A Berkeley Road , Entebbe, Uganda, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: $627 - $635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Engagi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Engagi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing