We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Nafplio
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights. It was pricey but I think well worth it.

Firstly - great location. Easy access and parking, views, short walk to a great beach, lift down into town. I seems to divide the people but I liked the hotel's styling. The main building is like something from a '70s bond movie - the mountain top base with décor of a period Swedish sensibility. I expected the elevator into the cliff to open up on a monorail or missile silo! The room was of a modern era and lovely. They did need someone to look at the light/curtains controls though as it was excessively complex and will snare capables and is guaranteed to confound stupids. Stay with the display rather than memorise the sequence of switches.

The service was excellent from reception to waiting. We got upgraded to the private pool villa which was much appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and it was reassuring to frequently see the kitchen staff inspecting the array to ensure it was of good quality and well presented. Dinner was more moderate and seems to be a fusion of Greek and varied international hotel fare - at top end hotel prices.

The town is noisy with various 'musical' chimes and noisy nightlife. Despite the double glazing, you can still hear plenty of it. Don't come to Nafplio though if that's not want you want. One big surprise though was the bats skimming the pool at dusk. We really enjoyed our stay though and it is a great base to head out and see the various sites of antiquity within an hour's drive.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank simonburridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed for just under a week in the newer renovated part of the hotel with our two children.

The room itself was great, we had a lot of space and the views are amazing. Very relaxing and worth visiting despite my comments to follow!

The two negatives in relation to our room were that 1) the interconnecting door to the room next door was not sound proof. The neighbours woke our sleeping children at night and our children then returned the favour in the morning!! 2) The other issue with the rooms is the COMPLETELY unintuitive and unlabelled controls for the lights and curtains. Turning off the lights of an evening was a commedic affair as you tried to figure out which button controlled which function!!

The breakfasts were pretty good although the staff were not that helpful.

The biggest issue with this hotel is the reception staff. They are downright unfriendly and management really should replace them with staff who are willing to answer questions and are capable of smiling!!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pieds_dans_L_eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked a five day tour of the Peloponnese and decided to take a chance and pay about $100 apiece to upgrade to first class hotels, not knowing if it would make a difference. Given our first night's experience here, I'd say it was a good choice. As many of the reviews correctly state, this is a property badly in need of maintenance and refurbishment. Put that aside though and what you get is a five star location and service that is equally good. The substantial and high quality breakfast buffet is one of the best we've encountered. And for the same price I paid to stay at a Marriott Courtyard in Oakland I get a million dollar view. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have an outstanding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We couldn't quite decide how we felt about this hotel, there were several stunning features, but the general impression was a faded hotel in need of renovation. We had a room with a balcony that led into a plunge pool, which we were very excited about, but it clearly didn't get cleaned as much as the main pool and there were a lot of leaves and bugs in it whenever we decided to get in. The pool opposite our room was shared between the surrounding rooms and villas and was beautiful with a great view over the bay, but it was quite a challenge to get a sunbed there!

The breakfast was varied and service was good. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening which was really special. The view as the sun went down was amazing, even if the food wasn't quite 5*.

The main issue with the hotel was just that it felt quite dated. The rooms all had various buttons and switches to control lights, curtains and even the privacy screen for the bathroom, which probably seemed quite cutting-edge when they were installed, but now it is just really difficult to work out what operates what and is an unnecessary complication. We had a pleasant stay, but wasn't quite the amazing luxury we had expected.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alpaca_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stayed for 2 nights with my family. The hotel is at an amazing location. High on a mountain overlooking the city of Nafplio. Amazing views. The pools are very nice and clean. Our room was the suite which was amazing. Very clean and very big!! Loved the shower!! Hotel staff was exceptionally nice!! Parking garage available. The walk to town was quick with an elevator in the mountain to take you down. Breakfast was good. The rest of the hotel needs updating otherwise very nice hotel. We will come back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 13louisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.2 km away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#15 of 35 in Nafplio
302 reviews
2.7 km away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#5 of 35 in Nafplio
665 reviews
7.6 km away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 35 in Nafplio
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 35 in Nafplio
905 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#7 of 35 in Nafplio
239 reviews
0.4 km away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 35 in Nafplio
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nafplia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nafplia Palace Hotel

Address: Akronafplia, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $222 - $950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nafplia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nafplia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nafplia Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing