We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning historic location”
Review of Parador de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Cardona
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Amazed to find an excellent hotel embedded within an historic castle, open to the public. The concept works well but you need steely nerves to drive through narrow gates and up increasingly steep gradients to reach the signposted entrance to the Parador. Parking is available on a lower rampart, but it is difficult to recommend this hotel to those with restricted mobility unless or until the basement "emergency exit" which leads to the car-parking area, and has lift access, is open for hotel guests' use. We can recommend the restaurant (in a "barons' hall") and the bar/cafeteria on the ramparts below the tower, with stunning views, particularly after the tourists have left! However, do allow time to explore the public areas of the castle (by ticket during the normal working hours). The salt-mine workings (which date from the Roman period) appear to be a blot on the landscape, but are well worth allowing an hour or two to visit.

Room Tip: Our standard room, which came with a four-poster bed, was spacious and with good facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeCardona, Parador de Cardona at Parador de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Neil G de,
We thank you very much for your comments.
We are so happy that you enjoyed by us.
Best regards,
Parador de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

This spectacular castle speaks for itself but when combine with great food and friendly staff the whole experience is simply fabulous. As part of a touring holiday through northern Spain, Cardona was without doubt one of the highlights.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeCardona, Parador de Cardona at Parador de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Neil G de,
Thak you very much to share your experience at the Parador.
We are happy that you enjoy by us.
Best regards,
Parador de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

If you are interested in TRUE historical facts, then read this:
Catalonia, 1714
A tour of places associated with the
War of Succession and the Baroque era
This is what I received fromCalifornia once I started digging around Cardona's true fact.
Cataluna is awesome... still today.
DO USE this pradore as a footstep to load your knowledge base.

Room Tip: Request "view on the salt mine".... awesome view. 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeCardona, Parador de Cardona at Parador de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear JL D de,
We appreciate your comments and we thank you to share it.
Best regards
Parador de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We struggled to sleep due to stuffiness of room and the gym was terrible but this castle is a great place to stay. I'd like to see better lighting for reading in the bedrooms and common areas. An enjoyable 3 night stay though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank N2822ERmarkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeCardona, Parador de Cardona at Parador de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear N2822ERmarkr de,
We thank you so much your experience at the Parador.
We take note to improve each day the client's stay; so we appreciate your opinion.
At your disposal for anything you need.
Best regards
Parador de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

A beautiful adaptation of this historic castle making full use of its nooks and crannies to display period furniture and include quiet seating areas. We particularly admired the Gothic vaulted dining room and watched the sun sinking behind the hills from the cafeteria/bar's terrace at the foot of the tower.
As usual, we ate very well both in the dining room and in the cafeteria.
Our only surprise was not being greeted and seated for breakfast, slightly confusing on our first morning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadordeCardona, Parador de Cardona at Parador de Cardona, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Maria H de,
From the Parador we would like to thank you to share your experience at the Parador and we are happy that your stay was positive.
About the breakfast service if the waiters are sometimes inside replenishing the buffet, so it is possible that you wait a few seconds for the waiter.
Thank you again for you time, we hope to see you again.
Best regards
Parador de Cardona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardona
0.5 km away
Hotel Bremon
Hotel Bremon
#3 of 3 in Cardona
176 reviews
26 km away
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
#1 of 1 in Sant Fruitos de Bages
641 reviews
1.9 km away
Vilar Rural de Cardona
Vilar Rural de Cardona
#2 of 3 in Cardona
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Hotel La Freixera
Hotel La Freixera
#1 of 4 in Solsona
217 reviews
20.6 km away
Hotel La Vella Farga
Hotel La Vella Farga
#1 of 1 in Lladurs
123 reviews
38.1 km away
Can Boix de Peramola
Can Boix de Peramola
#1 of 1 in Peramola
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Cardona

Address: Castell De Cardona, S/N | Cordona, 08261 Cardona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Cardona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardona
Price Range: $112 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Cardona Hotel Cardona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing