We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW !! ...what a fantastic base to discover the...”

Review of The Sidings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pammy_061...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW !! ...what a fantastic base to discover the Western Highlands”
Reviewed 16 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Thankyou Thomas & Julie for a fabulous stay in your Plockton home .......the village is absolutely gorgeous & many a photo was taken !!.......it is a stunning area & your property was the perfect retreat after touring around ....every need was catered for .

Enjoyed food in the Plockton Inn & Plockton Shores .........Scottish Gins in The Plockton Hotel & more Scottish Gin Tasting !!!! at no 12 Harbour Street. ......which is a Cafe & off licence ........the Croft cafe in nearby village Duirinish ( a new business ) is worth supporting too ......look out for the Highland cows !!

Applecross Inn is a must do too !!

As is an easy trip to Isle of Skye !!

Inverewe gardens another good day trip from Plockton

Also would recommend the Glenelg Inn for food & atmosphere .....you can then take a trip on the Glenelg to Skye ferry !!!

A trip on the Kyle line ( railway ) may interest future guests

A fabulous week at “ The Sidings !” ......we would love to return ......& finally Thankyou for the delicious welcome pack .

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2019
Thank you for your positive comments for the sidings and glad you had a lovely week enjoying the surrounding area. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Thomas &Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouPauloE...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage. We are so sad to leave..”
Reviewed 18 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019

Wow what a wonderful stay we have had. The Sidings is just brilliant. So well equipped and really clean. Sky TV available for night time relaxing whilst the kids were in bed. Great quiet location just a short walk from pubs and restaurants on the shore. We managed to do so much during our stay with our 2 year old and 9 month old including Callums seal trip, Eilean Donan castle, applecross, the fairy pools on Skye, Armadale castle and a wee trip to Craig farm. We had lovely meals at plockton shore, plockton inn as well as the Croft cafe a few minutes drive away. We can't wait to visit again soon. Thanks Thomas and Julie for the food hamper and such a lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2019
Thank you for staying at the Sidings and for leaving it so tidy when you left. We are glad you had such a lovely time and hope to see you again soon.

Thomas & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David0000...
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Fantastic apartment on outskirts of Plockton. 3/beds really well equipped kitchen and Sky TV for when you're relaxing. Would thoroughly recommend for a stay. Trips to Plockton, Eilean Donan, Skye, Isle of Raasay, Apple cross Peninsula ( a bit of a hairy drive - but fantastic), glenelg scenic route. Horse riding in area (Glenshiel were superb) Distillery trips ( we went to Raasay but Talisker is easier). Just remember check out time is 10.00...in summary, Fantastic, comfortable and well equipped apartment - very homely and wonderful welcome pack on arrival. Thank you.

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2019
Thank you for staying at the Sidings and for your positive comments. You managed to do a lot of things in the week as the weather was great.
Thanks again
Thomas & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philricha...
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

In a perfect location this cottage is only a 10 minute walk into Plockton
The train runs right along side and you can catch a train into Kyle or over to Inverness
Weather for the time we was there was fabulous hitting a high of 31 degrees into the second week
Neighbors at the property are very friendly
You are also only a 15 minute walk from Coral Beach and if you take the Brae walk you will have fantastic views across the Loch's once you have climbed up to the view point
Thanks to the property owners ,Thomas and Julie, there is nothing you will be without with a food hamper provided on your arrival

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thanks very much for your positive comments. We are glad we we were able to help make your holiday so enjoyable.
Regards
Thomas & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, great location and dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Sidings is very well equipped, in a great location that mean't we took a few day trips on the stunning Kyle Railway line.
Family and dog loved our week here, and Plockton is a bit of a favourite in Scotland.
Fantastic in all ways, only one thing I could suggest is that it took us 2 days to find the Wifi behind the TV, so maybe putting the access code as one of the instructions on the fridge would be helpful to future guests :)
Welcome Hamper very welcome indeed and we enjoyed your jam very much!

Emma and the family (+Skye the dog)

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Hi Emma
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sidings and in Plockton. Thank you also for leaving the Sidings so tidy. We hope you are able to book with us in the future

Thomas & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.