We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, really comfortable, pet friendly...”

Review of The Sidings

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

HJ101
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, really comfortable, pet friendly and a lovely welcome pack.”
Reviewed 20 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Very comfortable and well equipped house in the gorgeous village of Plockton. Thomas and Julie left a great welcome pack including their excellent homemade jam. 10 min walk to the sea front where there are several good places to eat and there are lots of good walks from the house too. Our dog loved it. It's a great location to explore the wider area with easy access to Skye, the Applecross peninsular and much more. We will visit again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2019
Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the sidings.
We hope to see you again and your lovely dog.

Regards
Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightning...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely home for our time in Plockton”
Reviewed 15 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Our 3rd trip to Plockton, but first time with our little girl, so decided to rent somewhere for the week rather than one of the hotels. The Sidings was a great home from home. Well equipped, clean and comfortable, and the welcome pack was a really nice touch. The house is in a handy location, and we enjoyed walking down to the village and exploring. It was so quiet at night, even with the windows open (we had some really good weather, hit 30C one day!). Our daughter loved seeing the trains go past the window. We were all sad to leave after a great week, but we will be back!

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2019
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad the sidings was comfortable for you and you had a great week. Hope to see you again.

Regards
Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FM34
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing, top quality accommodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

This house is perfect for a base in the Highlands. It’s a 15 min walk into the lovely village of Plockton & close to Kyle & Skye.
The house is extremely well equipped with all cooking utensils & extremely cosy. It’s out of the village but close enough to walk in, only 15 minutes. The house is perfect for a base for people wanting either a base to tour around the Highlands or a Chilaxing holiday.
Thomas & Julie couldn’t be more helpful & the welcome pack is a brilliant extra.
I can not recommend this more highly as a house to rent, we had a fabulous fortnight.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you had such a nose time.
Thomas & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WooWander...
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 16 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Cosy cottage in peaceful location with a lovely fire for when the weather is being a bit "Scottish". Easy walk to the stunning coral beach and only a short drive to Skye and the amenities in Kyle of Localsh. The train passing proved quite an attraction but the highlight has to have been our visit from the pine marten!

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2019
Thank you for staying at the Sidings. We are very glad you had a relaxing time and enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pammy_061...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW !! ...what a fantastic base to discover the Western Highlands”
Reviewed 16 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Thankyou Thomas & Julie for a fabulous stay in your Plockton home .......the village is absolutely gorgeous & many a photo was taken !!.......it is a stunning area & your property was the perfect retreat after touring around ....every need was catered for .

Enjoyed food in the Plockton Inn & Plockton Shores .........Scottish Gins in The Plockton Hotel & more Scottish Gin Tasting !!!! at no 12 Harbour Street. ......which is a Cafe & off licence ........the Croft cafe in nearby village Duirinish ( a new business ) is worth supporting too ......look out for the Highland cows !!

Applecross Inn is a must do too !!

As is an easy trip to Isle of Skye !!

Inverewe gardens another good day trip from Plockton

Also would recommend the Glenelg Inn for food & atmosphere .....you can then take a trip on the Glenelg to Skye ferry !!!

A trip on the Kyle line ( railway ) may interest future guests

A fabulous week at “ The Sidings !” ......we would love to return ......& finally Thankyou for the delicious welcome pack .

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2019
Thank you for your positive comments for the sidings and glad you had a lovely week enjoying the surrounding area. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Thomas &Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.