We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming period-piece hotel, clean and quiet - some quirks.”
Review of Bancroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bancroft Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The staff was very accommodating, and the breakfast adequate. The room smallish, as expected. The Wi-Fi reception (3rd floor) just adequate for internet searches and mailings, but lacking power for smooth VOIP. OK VOIP if I went to the lobby.

The "Bay View" was not. The only view or the bay was through a small foot-square patch of lighter foliage of the big tree that took some of the view. Mostly the bay view required Supergirl vision to penetrate through the derelict hulk of white brutalist concrete next door - a multi-floor hulk that was once an art museum. Just say "NO" to the up-charge for the Bay View. It is a sham. Unless you have superpowers. In which case you could see it from the other side of the hotel anyway. So even if you a member of the Super clan, it is not worth it.

I found the mattress very hard. So hard it made it difficult to sleep. My partner had no trouble with it. So this is a matter of taste. Then again, he could sleep soundly on a railway track.

No elevator. There are stairs.

Lots of athletic looking parents of Berkley students appeared at breakfast. It turns out this type is very quiet - so what I am assuming are thin walls were no problem.

I still give it 4 of 5 because it is a very pleasant hotel. Some lovely tilework on the lobby floor, and well maintained (you're not supposed to look down at the back entry to the kitchen at any hotel, so get over it if you do).

Room Tip: There might actually be a bay view from the 4th floor - but only the management knows for sure. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GayGuy-San-Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here over Big Game weekend to celebrate my Class's 55th Reunion. The location was great, the catering and the 55th Reunion Dinner were fabulous, the rooms are tiny but very comfortable, the service was outstanding, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay near the Cal campus. The Bancroft is a heritage site that has been very well updated and transformed into a hotel. If you are planning an event, this is also an outstanding place to hold it. Bancroft Catering does the food service and their food/service are wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mobileaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed for one night for a night in this hotel on September23, and I would say it is a charming old-style hotel. The receptionist was nice and quite helpful in guiding us on the places of interest and food establishment in the area. The room we stayed on is at the 3rd floor with large windows, which gave us a pleasant view of the surroundings. The beddings are clean and smelling fresh, with some "yellowing" portions, which could just be an indication of white fabric aging. However, the toilet bowl needs some maintenance work as it appears like it is semi-clogged, such that the water in the bowl takes quite some time to drain after every flush.

Room Tip: good location in University of California area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank agathz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This hotel has an awful lot of character, from the architecture, to the recently-renovated period style rooms, to the commitment to offering an eco-friendly experience.

The rooms were quite small, but with lovely windows and balconies in many, and the bathrooms old fashioned, but they had everything you needed for a relaxing trip. There was a bit of an odd, fusty smell but that's a minor complaint.

I needed a feather-free room and the staff were happy to accommodate me with a selection from their 'pillow menu'. They also gave me a voucher to get a free hot drink from the cafe next door (no drink-making facilities in the room). The eco toiletries was lovely and the free breakfast was light but plentiful.

I needed a peaceful night's sleep after a trip to Yosemite and this place delivered - I know others have commented that it is a busy, noisy location so perhaps I was just tired enough for that not to matter!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Really enjoyed staying at this old hotel with its dark wood and aroma of freshly baked scones winding up the steep staircase. The rooms were small but comfortable with french doors that opened to let in fresh air. The bathrooms are dated, but clean and functional. They serve a good continental breakfast in a nice breakfast room with window seats. Location is great for visiting UC Berkeley - right across the street - as well as for visiting the Telegraph Ave area by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#2 of 20 in Berkeley
1,423 reviews
0.2 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
804 reviews
1.6 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
275 reviews
5.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.1 km away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704-1717
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range: S$219 - S$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bancroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing