We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Inn(Berkeley)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
29
40
28
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
40
28
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgranolacafe next doorcontinental breakfastart museumqueen bedbay viewcampusucblinensquirkscomforterbart
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We stayed here over Big Game weekend to celebrate my Class's 55th Reunion. The location was great, the catering and the 55th Reunion Dinner were fabulous, the rooms are tiny but very comfortable, the service was outstanding, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to stay near the Cal campus. The Bancroft is a heritage site that has been very well updated and transformed into a hotel. If you are planning an event, this is also an outstanding place to hold it. Bancroft Catering does the food service and their food/service are wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mobileaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed for one night for a night in this hotel on September23, and I would say it is a charming old-style hotel. The receptionist was nice and quite helpful in guiding us on the places of interest and food establishment in the area. The room we stayed on is at the 3rd floor with large windows, which gave us a pleasant view of the surroundings. The beddings are clean and smelling fresh, with some "yellowing" portions, which could just be an indication of white fabric aging. However, the toilet bowl needs some maintenance work as it appears like it is semi-clogged, such that the water in the bowl takes quite some time to drain after every flush.

Room Tip: good location in University of California area
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank agathz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This hotel has an awful lot of character, from the architecture, to the recently-renovated period style rooms, to the commitment to offering an eco-friendly experience.

The rooms were quite small, but with lovely windows and balconies in many, and the bathrooms old fashioned, but they had everything you needed for a relaxing trip. There was a bit of an odd, fusty smell but that's a minor complaint.

I needed a feather-free room and the staff were happy to accommodate me with a selection from their 'pillow menu'. They also gave me a voucher to get a free hot drink from the cafe next door (no drink-making facilities in the room). The eco toiletries was lovely and the free breakfast was light but plentiful.

I needed a peaceful night's sleep after a trip to Yosemite and this place delivered - I know others have commented that it is a busy, noisy location so perhaps I was just tired enough for that not to matter!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Really enjoyed staying at this old hotel with its dark wood and aroma of freshly baked scones winding up the steep staircase. The rooms were small but comfortable with french doors that opened to let in fresh air. The bathrooms are dated, but clean and functional. They serve a good continental breakfast in a nice breakfast room with window seats. Location is great for visiting UC Berkeley - right across the street - as well as for visiting the Telegraph Ave area by foot.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Sadly we were assigned rom 204 after an exhausting 10hour car ride we checked in lugged up luggage to realize Michelle gave us wrong keys. Anyway
Around 11ish we heard loud noise from room about us char was being dragged back and forth across wooden floors plus loud laughter. Finally fell asleep but were awakened to an awful odor awfully smelling around 530-6am
Went to et around. 8 house saw pretty much all baskets were empty asked a housekeeper who curtly replied we are all out of sliced bread muffins ( desires disgusting tasting oat,da
Amd yogurt that was it for " continental breakfast" so we went out to find a place to eat.
We complained to man behind front desk about all this when we checked out he said others had same complaints over the past and apologized. " No sliced bread!' That really got us upset. So we refused to stay OA other night even though there was a cancellation and a room had become available
I was fooled by website
Do not stay on room 204!!!!!

Room Tip: Second floor no one offers to help carry luggage or give you proper info. Watch out to wale up to early morning foul Oder
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sipak02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews