We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$157
US$139
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Inn(Berkeley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Berkeley Inn(Berkeley)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
28
40
28
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
40
28
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorgranolacafe next doorcontinental breakfastart museumuc berkeley campusqueen bedcomfortable roomschecking outbay viewconvenient locationstradalinensucbquirksconferencecomforter
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Very nice, historic hotel located right on UC Berkeley campus. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast, convenient location. Excellent guest service; they even mailed me the jacket I left in the closet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Sheets were ripped and stained. Pillows were flat as a pancake and covered in stains. Towels were dirty and stained. Informed the manager who seemed very aware of the issues and mentioned an issue with linen suppliers. How hard is it to get sheets and linens for a hotel with < 30 rooms? Amazon Prime anyone? His tone was apathetic and not overly concerned to fix the issue despite similar comments being in TripAdvisor now for months.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Overall I would rate the quality of this hotel as substandard. A rag-tag, tattered sort of place. To be fair, the location is excellent if you are visiting Berkeley. There were lovely views from my room, a cool bay breeze, and an excellent daily breakfast. That said, the room itself, particularly the linens were subprime. The Bancroft hypes its "green" qualities. I suppose this includes imposing yesteryears linens on guests as active recycling. The bed comforter had countless small holes in it, perhaps the work of moths or cigarettes. The bed pillow had a black stain that housekeeping did not swap out. The bedsprings prod your back as you sleep. The organic towels, were perhaps vintage, adorned with old makeup stains. What they lacked in cleanliness they made up for in abrasiveness. Their frayed edges complimented the post-shower experience, like rubbing sandpaper over your body. Sandpaper may be softer. In any case, had the trip not been paid for, I would have been incensed that a place charging upwards of $180 a night cannot bestow guests with either soft or clean linens. The Bancroft fails miserably on both accounts.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank crepuscularglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Charm and character transcends this property. Beautiful french doors open to a small patio. Bed was super comfortable. Sheets and comforter were lovely. Breakfast, which is included with your reservation, was delicious- danishes, muffins, eggs, oatmeal and fresh fruit. And extra bonus- Free Parking on site! The disappointments came in the bathroom shower (poor water pressure) and the towels were rough and thread-worn.

Room Tip: French doors with balcony for extra light.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 605deanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The staff was very accommodating, and the breakfast adequate. The room smallish, as expected. The Wi-Fi reception (3rd floor) just adequate for internet searches and mailings, but lacking power for smooth VOIP. OK VOIP if I went to the lobby.

The "Bay View" was not. The only view or the bay was through a small foot-square patch of lighter foliage of the big tree that took some of the view. Mostly the bay view required Supergirl vision to penetrate through the derelict hulk of white brutalist concrete next door - a multi-floor hulk that was once an art museum. Just say "NO" to the up-charge for the Bay View. It is a sham. Unless you have superpowers. In which case you could see it from the other side of the hotel anyway. So even if you a member of the Super clan, it is not worth it.

I found the mattress very hard. So hard it made it difficult to sleep. My partner had no trouble with it. So this is a matter of taste. Then again, he could sleep soundly on a railway track.

No elevator. There are stairs.

Lots of athletic looking parents of Berkley students appeared at breakfast. It turns out this type is very quiet - so what I am assuming are thin walls were no problem.

I still give it 4 of 5 because it is a very pleasant hotel. Some lovely tilework on the lobby floor, and well maintained (you're not supposed to look down at the back entry to the kitchen at any hotel, so get over it if you do).

Room Tip: There might actually be a bay view from the 4th floor - but only the management knows for sure. Remember there are stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GayGuy-San-Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews