We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$123
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$169
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
US$202
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$269
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Inn(Berkeley)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
22
19
11
7
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
19
11
7
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel, which is run by a family, was not very big, but the location was perfect. Only minutes away from bart and the bus stop was 20 metres away. My room was plain but comfortable enough and the staff were helpful and friendly. However, the flies swarming outside the entrance and the horrible smell at the lobby made me want to run away but i didnt because i didnt have another alternative. As i said, i was happy with my room but i doubt whether i would stay there again nor recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank zehra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

This is in an incredible run down urban part of town. The only parking available was scarce street parking or a "city lot" where the front desk rep said, "take everything you own out of your car or it will be stolen". This establishment is nothing other than an over priced hostel. Very few rooms have bathrooms, the sheets had visible dirt stains, the curtain didn't cover the hole window and the walls are paper thin. Over all I felt very unsafe here. We even put shirts over the pillows as pillow cases because nothing seemed washed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

If you are on a budget and you want to be close to downtown Berkeley or the university, this is a great place to stay. Just blocks from the BART (so you don't have to lug your suitcase far), you are a 10 minute walk from campus and right in the heart of downtown. For even more savings, book a room on the floor with shared bathrooms. What you sacrifice in privacy you make up for in savings (and many of the rooms have sinks in them, anyway). I enjoyed my stay and found everyone friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sink if you are going with the shared bathroom option
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virtualcourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Had a horrible experience and would recommend no one stay here. The lobby smelled like wet carpet or cat pee and the smell carried up into the rooms. I made my reservation over the phone and when I got there they had lost it and told me it was my fault for calling the wrong number, which I had not. . They then charged me a higher rate than what I was told over the phone. There were dead plants everywhere and the lobby and rooms do not look like the photos. If you can help it, do NOT stay here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Lovely staff/owners and large room/bathroom. Hotel has been renovated with good finishes and rooms have good amenities. A room at the back was very quiet, despite the central location of the hotel. The entrance on University Ave might look a bit iffy, but the hotel is clean and safe with lovely linens and toiletries.

Room Tip: my room at the back was very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank em20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews