We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knights Inn Berkeley
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkeley Rodeway Inn(Berkeley)(Great Value!)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Marina Inn(Berkeley)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berkeley YMCA(Berkeley)
US$110
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
29
33
16
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
33
16
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconveniently located to downtownfamily owneduniversity averefrigerator and microwavecomfy bedplace to staythe location is perfectother hotelsenjoyed my staybart stationclean roomsminute walkparkingbathtubdesk
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This motel was clean and close to downtown Berkeley. I had made a mistake on my reservation and the guy behind the desk upgraded my room for no charge. I enjoyed the coffee and cereal in the morning. Checkout was easy. I would def stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank SoCalGal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Knights Inn Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for choosing the Knights Inn Berkeley! We are excited to earn your five-star review and happy that our accommodations were perfect for your purposes. It was a pleasure to give you a free upgrade and we appreciate you highlighting our breakfast as well. Come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Clean small rooms with all the basic amenities like fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Parking later at night is an issue because the spaces are small, packed in tight with no margin of error when lot is full, very tight even for compact cars. Appeared to be family owned, managed and staffed, friendly and helpful for my limited needs. Breakfast is minimal, cereal, juice coffee and bread. My small room was surprisingly quiet. If you are used to major brands like Hilton or Marriott’s entry to mid level properties, this does not really compare but for the roughly $160 or so a night, this is what you should expect and perhaps hope for in a central Berkeley location. My first hotel which was similarly priced was horrible and I had to cancel, so in comparison this property was pretty good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Thorpe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Knights Inn Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Thorpe,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. It pleases us to know that you were comfortable here and enjoyed many of our amenities. We are also glad that your expectations were met. However, we always try to exceed expectations whenever possible. We apologize for the issues with parking, but as you mentioned, it is due to our central location. Regardless, if there is ever anything our staff can do to try to make your stay more pleasant, please don't hesitate to ask. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

GREAT location.....3 blocks to BART, buses at your front door and EVER food type you could want in a 15 minute walk...Staff was super accommodating and made sure my needs were met....highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank chickinsactown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Knights Inn Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you so much for your recommendation! We are delighted to see that we could provide you with a fantastic experience here at the Knights Inn Berkeley. As you noted, we are in a great spot here in downtown. With BART just a short walk away and a large variety of dining and entertainment right outside our door, our guests are sure to always find something to love. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The room was very clean, the bathroom was very nice, the staff was beyond helpful and genuinely seemed to care whether or not my girlfriend and I were enjoying our stay. The man who works there (thinking the owner because he was working so hard and doing everything!) is very pleasant and accommodating. The location is perfect also if you plan to take BART into the city. I will stay here every time I'm in the Bay Area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank grantman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Knights Inn Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

It was such a pleasure having you and your girlfriend stay with us at the Knights Inn Berkeley during your recent visit to the Bay Area. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and cannot thank you enough for your kind words about the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. We'll be sure to share your comments with the staff. And you're right about the hotel's location. Being close to the BART is one of the benefits of staying with us. We're glad you were able to take advantage of it, and hope you were able to enjoy many of the area's attractions during your visit. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at the Knights Inn Berkeley. We look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back the next time you are in the Bay Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The prices of hotels in Berkeley make it a generally poor value choice, and this hotel is not different. It's a $45-value proposition (noisy, dark rooms with limited space to unpack) selling for three times more due to the location. An alternative would be, for exmple, a four star hotel for the same price or cheaper in Newark.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Knights Inn Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Carlos,

We're honored you chose to stay with us and thank you for your feedback. Our wish is to provide everyone who stays with us a budget-friendly, comfortable place to rest, so we're sorry to learn that you felt your room was not comfortable and of poor value. If your travels bring you back to town, we'd appreciate the chance to offer you lodging that more closely matches your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews