We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro
US$110
View deal
WyndhamUS$119
Hotels.comUS$119
Lol.travelUS$120
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
72
96
90
41
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
96
90
41
56
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Nice, clean, conveniently located (for my purposes, anyway) motel. It is close to downtown Berkeley. It has on-site parking. Rooms are well appointed. The glass shower was enjoyable. The continental breakfast was just right. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The Manager, Manny, is caring and attentive, and runs a well organized motel. I stayed there a few years ago, and it was not very good. It is great now.

Room tip: All rooms are away from University Avenue, which is not that busy or loud. The motel is two story.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2020

Hey Phil, Many thanks for the positive rating. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are glad that you found our accommodation clean and conveniently located, the rooms well-appointed and our staff friendly and accommodating, and it's nice to read that our on-site parking, glass shower, and continental breakfast were to your liking. We also hope your stay was comfortable, and you had easy access to everything you needed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future.

Kind regards,
Manny A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Nice spacey room with two beds, very fast internet, Microwave and Fridge so that you can do your own breakfast/food, the grocery Trades Joe across the street. Location is great, about 5 blocks from start of UCB campus. The provided breakfast is very basic, so for once, but not every morning. Street (University Avenue) can be noisy.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cdlaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We are glad that you liked the room and found it spacious and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also appreciate you telling us that the WiFi speed and room amenities, such as microwave and fridge, were to your satisfaction. We apologize that our breakfast fell short of your expectations. We do review our breakfast selection regularly, and we will take your feedback into consideration when next doing so. Your comment about noise is duly noted. While we don't have much control over external noise, we can probably look at assigning a quieter room for you the next time. We trust that the positives of your stay outweighed the limitations, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Berkeley.

Kind regards,
Manny A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2020

Garbage experience. Read previous comments. Guy tried to open our door at 6 am after giving other guests our same room key. He was also barefoot when we checked in which was pretty gross. Bad stay. Should have been comped for the guy trying to force our door open

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jeremytoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2020

If you're willing to spend $200+ per night, there are some really nice hotels in Berkeley, like the Shattuck and Durant, with great locations and plenty of amenities. If you're on a tighter budget, there are a bunch of roadside motels that line University Ave and San Pablo. These look like rather seedy places from the outside, and for years most of them WERE "no frill" affairs. But many of them (like this Travelodge) have been bought up by nationwide chains, who recognized the value of the location and have upgraded them. Wyndham has done this with 3 properties along University (the Howard Johnson and Super 8 being the other two), and they deserve credit for turning a bunch of old fleabag motels (I stayed in them in the 1980's) into genuinely nice accommodations. Of these, the Travelodge gets my vote for the nicest. It's basically still a gussied-up cheap roadside motel, but the rooms have been tastefully upgraded to feel like a much nicer hotel. There were granite surfaces in the bathroom/shower, premium quality mattresses, and a large flat screen TV with DISH Network programming, and high speed internet. The rooms also have mini-fridge and microwave. They serve a basic breakfast in the morning, which you have to bring back to your room to eat, because this was not intended to be the type of hotel that serves breakfast. Best of all, the location is the furthest up University Ave, and is only about 4 blocks from downtown Berkeley and about a 15 minute walk to the Cal campus. Prices are cheaper as you go down University Ave, but the neighborhood rapidly gets seedier (fine during the day, but you wouldn't want to walk around at night). If you don't care about location, you could save a few bucks at one of the other Wyndham properties on University, which are also nicer than you would expect from their appearance from the street,

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeneCC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear guest, Thank you for the positive rating. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that several aspects of your stay pleased you, including our premium quality mattresses, high-speed internet and room amenities such as large flat-screen TV, mini-fridge, and microwave, and the information that you have provided will be beneficial for travelers who may be considering a stay with us. We also hope your stay was comfortable, and you had easy access to everything you needed. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back soon.

Kind regards,
Manny A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020

My first time in Berkeley and I was looking for lodging near where my daughter lives and goes to school. The Travelodge fit the bill. I was very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It is remodeled, very cl;ean, comfortable bed, convenient to restaurants, and coffee shops. I was impressed. It met my needs completely. The staff was welcoming and friendly.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank williamcI7010HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hey William, What a lovely review! It is always wonderful to be considered a gem, and we appreciate your feedback, thank you! We are delighted to hear that our hotel was perfect for your needs, and it feels great to know that our remodeling efforts were to your liking. We are also pleased to read that you found our accommodation clean, the bed comfortable, the location convenient, and our staff welcoming and friendly. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future.

Kind regards,
Manny A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews