We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
304
274
153
65
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
274
153
65
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel durant quirky hotel telegraph avenue front desk staff rooms are small valet parking college town two blocks street parking old building restaurant bar modern amenities yogurt san francisco bong campus lobby
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Beware the bong lamps, rampant homeless and general hippie vibe. Very comfortable bed. Room very small and very noisy (thin walls to hear everything in adjacent rooms). No room service. Does not have typical amenities that a hotel of this rating would normally have. Completely not a fan and would never return.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ascdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear ascdoc,

Out of our thousands of guests, we understand when someone doesn't love the aesthetic and unique design of our hotel. We strive to tap into the local neighborhood and culture to translate a "home away from home" type of vibe. Unfortunately, we were not able to surprise and delight you and are saddened you will not return. Regardless, thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Newly renovated and just a block away from the UC Berkeley campus! An endless array of restaurants and coffee shops nearby. This is a historic, and cozy little hotel offering great value for the price. The rooms are fairly large, with interesting, eclectic interiors. The bathrooms are nice, but small. Parking is limited, and you might have to opt for street parking. Overall, a great choice if you are visiting Berkeley!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Michael C,

Thanks for sharing your feedback and thoughts about our property. We hope you were inspired or intrigued by all the curated renovation items we've placed throughout the hotel. The team is happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Rooms are small, and not worth the price. Staff is not accommodating. My room was located next to a public bathroom in which someone decided to smoke in. It filled my entire room. When I called down to express my concerns the employee at the front desk was rude and dismissive and refused to change my room. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H2060JWelizabetht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear H2060JWelizabetht,

Thank you for sharing the concerns you had during your recent stay with us. We are generally surprised to hear about the dismissive nature of our staff. It is not what we are known for and we are taking the necessary steps to research and rectify it for the future. Feel free to contact me personally as we would appreciate more details. My email: jbryant@graduateberkeley.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Very nice renovation of older property at edge of UC Berkeley Campus. Lovely lobby decor. Friendly young staff. Good desk in room. I would upgrade for a larger room with a view. Basic rooms are a little small and grim.

Room Tip: If possible, pay a little more and book a larger room with a view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vegrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Highly recommend this Hotel. Clean and friendly. Love the retro look and feel. Anytime we needed anything the staff was right on target to help us. Again would stay here again!Enjoyed the experience and the people.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Susan P,

The team is ecstatic to hear your comments about the property. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our staff and overall experience. We gladly welcome you back and look forward seeing you again. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews