We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$123
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$209
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rose Garden Inn(Berkeley)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marina Inn(Berkeley)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$189
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
304
271
150
64
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
271
150
64
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel durantquirky hoteltelegraph avenuefront desk staffrooms are smallvalet parkingcollege towntwo blocksstreet parkingold buildingrestaurant barmodern amenitiesyogurtsan franciscobongcampuslobby
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over a long weekend. Where can I begin. Location is not everything. The recently remodeled dark and depressing lobby highlighted by thousands of National Geographic magazines neatly filed blank yellow spines outward behind the front desk is nearly beyond comment. The décor purports to be bohemian but I would characterize it as "heart of darkness". Our room was tiny, no sink or mirror or electrical outlet in the bathroom, with a collage of hanging artwork apparently intended to bring back fond memories of days spent at Berkeley from around 1890 to 1965. I suspect the interior decorator was a member of the class of 1965 still suffering from some sort of post psychedelic traumatic syndrome. The breakfast buffet, in lieu of the closed restaurant, was awful. It includes a jumble of bananas, hard boiled eggs, sliced bread sans butter or jam, and inedible pastries. Did I mention the worlds worst coffee? How do you manage that in a city known for its coffee and pastries and breads? This hotel, formerly known as the Durant, was built in 1928 and at least, however worn and old fashioned, retained some dignity about itself. When taxes and assessments and parking charges are thrown in you are pretty much paying $300 a night for a closet and a nightmare on Durant Avenue every time to enter or exit the lobby. One positive note, the hotel staff without exception was friendly, courteous, kind and helpful. What troopers!

Room Tip: North and west side facing rooms are noisy,, from around 7:00 in the morning to midnight most weekdays
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank blissfield1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear blissfield1949,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough review. The inspiration behind the hotel redesign is to focus on community and the history of Berkeley. Unfortunately we didn't get the response from yourself and that emotionally charged bond wasn't there. As for the F&B space, they are making some great changes that we cant wait for you to see. The continental breakfast wasn't implemented to completely replace breakfast, but something our guests can enjoy as a grab and go. The team will be ecstatic to hear that we continue to give unwavering guest service. Overall, we hope you return and start to see the charm of our new identity that our guests have come to love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The former Durant Hotel has been lightly renovated, retaining its excellent location by the UC-Berkeley campus while adding some modern amenities. It has free wifi, plenty of outlets, comfortable queen beds. It's clean, and service is competent. Unfortunately, it's noisy from internal sources - very little soundproofing - and some of your neighbors are likely to be ... active at night. The restaurant was closed during our visit; the provided continental breakfast was decent but offered no tea (how hard is that?). Walking distance but not very near BART. A good choice if closeness to campus is important; I'd say not much better than motels along University that are much cheaper.

Room Tip: little noise from outside, but you'll hear neighbors
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeitgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Seeitgo,

Thank you for taking the time review our property during your recent stay. The team strives to give our guests top notch amenities while delivering unforgettable customer service. Henry's is going through some amazing changes, and our complimentary continental breakfast was a gesture of gratitude for everyone's patience. The F&B team will absolutely add tea to the menu for yourself and future guests. We hope you decide to choose us as your destination when visiting the university in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

I stayed at this hotel several times when it was the Durant Hotel. The stodgy but dignified Durant, built in the 1920’s, had its flaws and I was happy to hear that it had been renovated. It is now called The Graduate. Our recent stay revealed that the renovation was not a success. The lobby was covered with a wallpaper imitating oriental carpets, making it dark and cave-like. Superimposed on this was a collection of kitschy knick-knacks, discordant upholstered furniture, gaudy paintings and murals, termed “bohemian decor” by the management. The hotel corridors were equally ugly. I don’t mind the attempt at an alma mater theme, but the execution was terrible. Worse, the defects of a 1920s hotel have not been addressed: Few electrical outlets, a sink in the bedroom (but not in the bathroom), no place to hang a hand towel, a tiny shower made even smaller by a shower door that is slightly the wrong size and intrudes into the shower, no light in the deep closet. Breakfast consists of mediocre pastries, bread (but no jam, butter, or toaster), hard boiled eggs, and vicious, undrinkable coffee. Did I mention that parking is $35 per night? I would have rated The Graduate “terrible” if not for the very pleasant desk staff and its great location proximate to UC Berkeley.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank prettylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraduateTeam, Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear prettylilly,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to give us your impressions of our identity. We have received much praise and some critiques when it comes to the new décor and color. The passion our repeat customers have in terms of aesthetic is always surprising, and we plan on sharing your thoughts with our designers. With that said, the team is happy to hear that the customer service hasn't waivered and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Stayed here for a conference at UC Berkeley. Close enough to Oakland airport yet far enough. Great location with restaurants and cute shops nearby. Staff was super friendly and very accommodating. Highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Katherine K,

First and foremost thank you for staying at Graduate Berkeley. We are certainly lucky to have an International Airport such as Oakland in close vicinity to make traveling in and out of Berkeley very easy. We absolutely agree with you and love that our location is not only adjacent to the University but we have fun and unique shopping and eateries all around the hotel. We will be sharing your comments about the great service you received at our meetings as our team enjoys hearing this feedback.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I can’t believe the good reviews this place has gotten. We booked two nights after reading the reviews (for an executive room). I wanted to leave as soon as we walked in our room but my husband convinced me to at least stay the night (it was late) but we left early the next morning and didn’t come back even though we’d paid for two nights.

First, the room was tiny, dingy and not well kept. It was so cold in the room but we couldn’t figure out how to turn the heater on. We called downstairs and they told us the heat was the little radiator in the corner. We turned it on but if you put your hands five inches above the radiator, you couldn’t feel the heat. We called downstairs again to ask if that was all the heat we would get out of it and they said yes and that they would,bring up a space heater for us. No heat? In the Bay Area in January?!

The bathroom is minuscule with quite possibly the smallest sink I’ve ever seen and that includes ones we’ve had on cruise ships.

The continental breakfast was awful. They had maybe five different types of pastries (most were stale), yogurt, bananas and hard boiled eggs. The coffee was not drinkable, even my husband who needs his coffee couldn’t drink it.

The next time we are in Berkeley, I know to stay far away from this place.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell D, General Manager at Graduate Berkeley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear cserver,

At your earliest convenience I would love an opportunity to speak with you personally. My direct line is 510-809-4120. We certainly provide heat to all of our 144 guest rooms and typically the rooms become warm very quickly. We apologize this was not the experience we all expect. Also, the hotel provides a local favorite- Peets coffee in the morning. Its typically very consistent but we'll check the diagnostics on the machine to ensure its calibrated correctly. Above all, we want you to know this is not the typical experience as most of our guests leave with a very different and extremely positive impression. We hope to earn your business again.

Regards- Dell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews