We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in town”
Review of Hotel Istana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tulungagung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2015

this is my first time to stay in this hotel, they said this hotel is the best in town.

check in was fast and simple, i have my room on smoking floor. staff was polite and helpful.

my deluxe room was big and clean, bed are comfort. bathroom big and clean but towels are so date... need to be change with the new ones

breakfast has some type of food, but very basic and not really tasty.

wifi connection was fast and you have to reconnect all the time when you want to use it.

the location was in the center of town, easy to walk around the hotel, there are some shop and place to eat around.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tantolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

When we first entered the hotel, we recognize that it was a very well managed lodge for a relatively small town. Strategic location to go anywhere, friendly atmosphere, and the room is undoubtely very clean.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Felix Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Istana offers enough for its price. While the smallest room is around 600k idr, it is not even close to be small.

A big doublebed, cozy lights and far the most important, a silent AC (silence is hard to find in indonesia) and a nice bathroom will give you more than you actually need for a short stay. Escpecially the free gym is an overkill for short vacations.

But the luxury strikes again at thr breakfast. If you want to try indonesian food, this buffet offers most of the traditional dishes, served in a more western way, together with fresh fruity, toasts, waffels and desserts.

Nice to have some luxury together with your beloved one, but it would be too much for me alone

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Imre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

It was hard rain when i reach tulungagung. And it was night. I've been driving for hours. so i was searching for rest. They have deluxe room for me and it was really comfort and clean room. Then i went to spa, it was outstanding. My body felt so well. The food is okay. If i passing through tulungagung again i will come back again to istana.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ahmad r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

The WIFI has not been working for a while so if you're there to work call ahead to see if it is fixed. However, whether you stay there or not you must visit the spa. It is the best massage in Indonesia by far; not so much for the ambience but for the actual massage itself. Ask for the bath to be extra hot as the water is a bit cool and ask for Tika. She is fabulous!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank PhotosByJamieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulungagung
1.5 km away
Crown Victoria Hotel
Crown Victoria Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tulungagung
111 reviews
28.9 km away
Hotel Tugu Blitar
Hotel Tugu Blitar
#1 of 4 in Blitar
175 reviews
26.9 km away
Bukit Daun Hotel
Bukit Daun Hotel
#4 of 11 in Kediri
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Viva Hotel Kediri by Frontone
29.7 km away
Patria Plaza Hotel
Patria Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in Blitar
33 reviews
30.2 km away
Hotel Merdeka
Hotel Merdeka
#5 of 11 in Kediri
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Istana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: Jln. KH Agus Salim 73-75 | Tulungagung, Tulungagung 66212, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Tulungagung
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tulungagung
Price Range: $34 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Istana 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing