We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cardinal Village Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bishop)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
60
12
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
12
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storeeastern sierrasamazing hikinggreat scenerytopsy turvydessert pizzassummer campmodern conveniencesfishing spotssized beda wonderful staycabinstreamlakesminingbottlenecklamarck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Cardinal Village Resort. It's close to some wonderful hiking, especially the Bishop Pass trail head. The resort is quiet and well suited for families. After our wet winter, there were wild flowers everywhere when we visited in early July. The mosquitoes were much better at Cardinal Village than they were at the higher elevations where we were hiking.

We stayed in the "Topsy Turvy" cabin. There was a table and chairs outside, so we could sit out in the evening and listen to the creek. That was lovely. The interior was rundown. The cabin floor slanted in several different directions. The carpet was heavily stained, and the linoleum in the kitchen and bathroom was cracked. There was a bulge in the ceiling that was repaired with duct tape. Duct tape was also used to hold together the clothing bureau.

We're looking forward to returning to the Eastern Sierras, but we'd elect to camp or backpack in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Thank r0ss583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

This is our fifth stay at Cardinal Village Resort. This time several family members came along and we rented four cabins. The beauty of this resort is how close everything is; lakes and streams for fishing, the local cafe, even resupplying at the Vons in Bishop can be done within an hour. Family members new to Cardinal Village were so pleased with the cabins...even the young cousins who shared Bottleneck enjoyed its rustic environs and proximity to the river...commenting that it was just like summer camp : ) All of the staff people were so nice and helpful. The breakfasts at the cafe are scrumptious! Cardinal Village Resort is a little slice of paradise and we will definitely be back! : )

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carried566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My friend and I spent a week in a two bedroom cabin and couldn't have enjoyed it more. No TV, no wifi, no modern conveniences whatsoever. Just peace, quiet and the gorgeous Sierras. Will be back next summer.

Room Tip: Try for next to stream...unless you don't like the sound of running water.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycefleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed a long weekend in the Fishgut Cabin, and didn't want to leave! We drove up the mountain just in time to enjoy the wood-fired pizza (which is a 'must-do') and were greeted by the entire staff as if we were family or long-time friends. Everything about the village is done right... the cafe, the pizza in the garden, the kids play area, the lodge & general store.

With the Fishgut being a 'dry' cabin, we were concerned about using the facilities in the lecture hall, and even though there was an event going on in the hall, there ended up being nothing to worry about. With the creek literally next to the steps of the cabin, it really felt like we were deep in nature, and away from it all. If you are looking for a good place to unwind and get away... this is the place!

There is really nothing about the trip that we would do differently,outside of staying longer. In fact, we have already put in our dates for next year.

Room Tip: The Fishgut & Bottleneck are for those who like to camp... not much in terms of luxury in these 'dry' cabins.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scottbarnes604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed at Cardinal Village Resort over Labor Day weekend and we loved it so much we reserved to return the following year while we were there! The cabins are rustic but charming. We are campers normally. This place is a great step up from camping but still affords us (and the children) easy access to great trails in the Sabrina Basin area, and fishing (there is a cleaning station).

We - a group of three families - had Golden Trout (upstairs and downstairs), which accommodates 16. It is perfect for large family gatherings and for good friends who want to spend the weekend together hiking, fishing, or just chilling. Each of the cabin has its own little outdoor eating and grilling place. The one for Golden Trout comes with two picnic benches, a very nice fire pit (for the S'mores) and chairs a plenty. It abuts the large lawn area, which is awesome for various games (badminton, soccer, available to borrow from the resort). The kitchen is spacious and well stocked. I brought my own cast iron pans and cookie sheets, large mixing bowl, and knives because I didn't want to use non-stick and a sharp knife is really important to me. I need not have. The knives in the kitchen were sharp (a detail that is easy to miss) and there was even an extra large beautifully seasoned cast iron pan for us to use. Room wise, there are two bedrooms with four beds each downstairs. The upstairs room - accessed from a staircase from outside - has eight beds. The outside access is something to consider if you are thinking of having all the kids be upstairs (as we did. We thought the kids might enjoy Hogwarts dormitory experience). It is possible for the downstairs room to hold one extra bed per room if need be. This is something you can talk to the owner about. We ended up splitting the rooms by family and the resort accommodated us by moving a few roller beds into the downstairs room.

About the beds, some are more comfortable than the others. If you find yourself in Golden Trout and the bed caves in in the middle, ask the management for a plywood board (we noticed that some beds have them and some don't. The ones with plywood were firmer).

There is a small store with fire wood, some food supplies, and a decent selection of wine. The restaurant sells decent breakfasts (we didn't try the lunch). The all you can eat pizza (available Friday and Saturday nights) is worth the money. Set by an outdoor garden (very romantic and yet convivial for large groups), the wood baked thin crust pizza were delicious. We went over there a few minutes before they started because the lines can get very long there. It is nice to have a break from cooking.

We loved this place and we hope they stay this charming and welcoming for years to come.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jaczxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews