We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe-urious!”
Review of Luxe Calistoga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxe Calistoga
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxe-urious!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great weekend at the Luxe! Amazing hosts, gorgeous rooms and a great time with friends! The surrounding wineries are fantastic and provide a great oppotunity to try some of the best wines in the area. Coming back after tasting to spend time relaxing on the deck and then ending with a perfect nights rest at the Luxe. Would definitely do it again! Thanks Chris and Brent!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
202
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

What a wonderful find in Calistoga! The Luxe is a small, very well appointed Inn on the edge of downtown Calistoga so you can walk everywhere (which is key for me). The room I stayed in (main floor) had a gas fireplace, large flatscreen, iPad (with free highspeed wireless), luxury bedlinens and marble bath with both tub and shower! The breakfasts were killer (delicious and inventive) by chef Josh who is both amazing and adorable and my vegetarian requests were easily accommodated with a smile. I loved kicking back on the huge front porch (it has comfy couches and heaters--to ward off the January chill) enjoying excellent local Napa wines and cheeses, while trading stories with other guests (and Innkeeper Brent) on our day of winetasting and then planning the next day's adventure. The staff is very knowledgable and well connected to the local winery and restaurant scene and was able to arrange appointments to some exclusive wineries like Kelly Fleming where we had a tour of their caves and scored some delicious cabs! The attention to detail which is evident in the Inn's decor, cleanliness and room amenities (did I mention the local fine chocolates on the bedside table) coupled with wonderful, warm hospitality, will have me coming back for more Luxe!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Incredible service, elegant accomodations, ideal location, and; breakfast and wine that will knock your socks off! A wonderful weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We found the Luxe on this very site, chose it because of the rave reviews. Those reviews didn't even do it justice. Newly renovated and perfectly located, we honestly could not have asked for a better place to stay for a weekend away from the kids (wife and I are middish-30's) in wine country.

LOCATION
Right in lovely and unpretentious Calistoga, walking distance to anything you need. Very short bike/car/taxi ride to many more incredible restaurants and beautiful wineries. (Bike rental place is literally a block away)

ROOMS
Beautiful and well-kept. King suite is their biggest, but we saw 4 of the 5 rooms and they are all fantastic. Comfy beds and robes, TV with tons of channels, fireplace you just switch on, chocolates at night, very nice private bathrooms...

BREAKFAST
Not exaggerating, can't imagine you will find a better one anyplace in town. And it's free. Start with a great pastry, then enjoy a fruit cocktail, then an over-the-top beautiful main course like crab and eggs or duck hash. All fresh and cooked right there. Dietary restrictions? Just tell them, they will take care of you. You won't need a big lunch after these wonderful breakfasts (but they send you off for the day with a bag full of snacks and water anyway!). Oh -- and private tables inside and out if you aren't into the communal dining thing.

WINE AND CHEESE EVENINGS
From 5-7 they pour a local wine (we had The Prisoner and Envy -- both of which so good we bought after) and give you a lovely plate full of cheeses, meats, nuts and more. The food is great, the wine better, and the conversation the best. Pace yourself, or you'll drink too much before you even leave for dinner. Yup, happened. Another night a local guy in the wine business dropped in and gave us a preview of a new sparkling wine he was importing from France. Fantastic.

Breakfast and evenings are done relaxing on a huge and gorgeous porch with wonderfully comfortable furniture. Fantastic heaters and ceiling fans make the porch all weather. Perfect to sit and watch the world go by no matter what the weather is outside.

THE OWNERS

The best part of the place. Chris and Brent were waiting for us when we arrived and never stopped making us feel like the oldest and dearest of friends until we hugged them goodbye. Their service is impeccable, but if you are a people person, you won't find better hosts. They are passionate about their baby The Luxe, but are also passionate about life, and we could have sat with them for days just chatting and drinking and laughing. They know the area wonderfully and will help you with whatever plans you want to make. But anyone can do that. Their warmth and fun is the hidden gem of this place.

Oh -- and ask them to bring out Skip. Skip is the most adorable 13 or 14-year-old puppy you will ever meet. Sit and snuggle with him, take him for a walk, whatever you want, Skip is in. He is fantastic.

OVERALL

If you want a big hotel or a private bungalow, you can find that in wine country too. We chose The Luxe (5 rooms only) based on reviews, and wow did we get lucky. Even if you are not looking to make new friends, stay here for the service, the location, the rooms and the food. But if you love laughing and sharing life experiences and talking about, well, anything, Brent and Chris will make a trip to wine country memorable for much more than the amazing vino in the area. And considering they just opened in the last year, Luxe will only get better as they evolve their offerings. Better book quick, while you still can!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayAreaBenandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1139lincoln, Owner at Luxe Calistoga, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
WOW. Thank you so much for your kind words. This is the best "job" in the world!!! Meeting great people, talking laughing and perhaps a glass or two of wine!!! We hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We had to return to Luxe to see what changes Chris and Brent had brought to the property since we stayed there last spring. At that time they were well into the renovation of the property but, as they told us, there were a number to things they still needed to complete. All I can say is that their impeccable taste and attention to detail has carried forward.
The finishing touches they put into the rap around deck make it an even more inviting place to hang out and people watch, to enjoy their wonderful breakfasts and to join in in the afternoon tradition of partaking in wine and cheese with their other guests. They gave us the option of taking our wine and cheese back to our room, which has its own appeal but their other guests tend to be interesting and friendly people. So, you mix luscious cheeses and fruits with great wines and interesting people and it turns into an afternoon my wife and I don't want to miss. The thing that is really wonderful is that it is a completely relaxing experience. Some guests chose to go back to their room. Some chose to sit at tables and just share time with one another and others joined into the conversations that were taking place on the deck.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.1 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.4 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
9.3 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#2 of 27 in Calistoga
547 reviews
1.2 km away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
0.8 km away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Calistoga

Property: Luxe Calistoga
Address: 1139 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price range (per night): $548 - $629
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxe Calistoga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reinventing the Bed & Breakfast experience, Luxe Calistoga is the new look and feel of Napa Valley wine country lodging. Yesterday meets Today: New in style - Old in charm and grace. The philosophy is a blend of old world luxury and 21st century amenities and technology. Antiques co-exist with modern design to create a harmonious blend of comfort and elegance. Built in 1873, the European-style luxury inn is located in the heart of Calistoga, sit on the porch and watch the world pass by or take a stroll through this historical and quintessential wine country town. Nothing is out of reach…the only limit is your schedule and imagination. Luxuriously romantic, the inn was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Napa Valley escape getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luxe Calistoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxe Calistoga Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing