We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST grilled ARTICHOKE ever!”
Review of Boskos Trattoria

Boskos Trattoria
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Food was very very good. They make their own fettuccini which was very tasty. The artichoke was UNBELIEVABLE, covered with seasoning and herbs and garlic and a side aioli dip, it would hands down win the best artichoke contest anywhere, ORDER IT! I don't care for places that put chicken in a pasta dish, but they are accommodating and I asked to substitute pancetta. The caesar salad was good and again they readily provided extra anchovies on our request. The meatballs are fabulous, they looked (visually) dry but were not, and they were perfectly seasoned including with fennel. I would definitely recommend this place, but I wish they would add more traditional pasta dishes (carbonara, ravioli, meat sauce ragu and a cacciatore chicken dish) and scrap the silly pasta dishes with chicken. But again they were accommodating with substitutions.

Thank Glanz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Owner at Boskos Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for joining us, I'm so happy to hear that you loved the artichoke as much as we do! We are more than happy to provide substitution options, we want everyone to be have a great experience with us and will do all we can to make that happen. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Yummy food, great place for dinner or lunch. They have gluten free pizza which is so yummy. The chicken risotto is amazing highly recommend it.

Thank mayra1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Owner at Boskos Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Mayra1919- Thank you for the sweet feedback! I'm happy to hear you have had a great experience with us for both lunch and dinner. We are extremely proud of the gluten-free pizza so I'm glad you love it. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We happened to stop there by recommendation of a local winery and we were not disappointed. All the food was delicious!! Best meal we had in Sonoma County. Service was good too. I had the spaghetti and meatballs and some of the best Italian I had. Stop by if you have a chance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Owner at Boskos Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Vicki86- Thank you kindly for the sweet feedback. Asking the locals is definitely the way to go, and I'm happy to see the recommendation was a hit! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Chose Bosko's for no other reason than it was reasonably convenient. Their pizza is fair, nothing more - on par with take out chains. My wife had a fish entrée - she found it OK. Service is good, portions are large - but in general the kitchen could do better, particularly since many places in the Napa valley are bringing their top game.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 442RLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Owner at Boskos Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

442RLT- Thank you for sharing your feedback, we take all comments to heart. We want each Bosko's experience to be a 5 star one so if you ever have any concerns with an order please let us know and we'll do all we can to make it right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Came here in early August after we had done some wine tasting in Calistoga. We walked in and got a table for 7 right away despite being Saturday lunch time. We were happy to be accommodated so quickly.

Service was good and quite fast. Place is quite nice and inviting with a nice long bar. Lunch prices came with some good offers such as lowering the pasta portions and adding salad instead of the full meal which I thought was great idea. They also had a discount on the wine that day so hooray for us!

Between the 7 of us we ordered:

- 2 basket of garlic bread. Bread was good but quite heavy so would suggest to just order 1 basket and not 2.
- burrata was tough, tasteless and just plain sad.
- Godfather pasta seemed like a good idea for my hubby and his dad but they soon regretted it and couldn't even finish it. Just too much and very heavy.
- Vitorio was nice but again on the creamy heavy side.
- Glorious pasta (vegetarian) was quite heavy as well
- piacere pasta was somewhat lighter version of Vitorio
- mushroom risotto was good

Food was decent but heavy creamy stuff so not really authentic Italian but more the American fusion version of it which honestly makes me unhappy. We all ordered the small pasta portions which came with a side salad but still the pasta was quite heavy and nobody could finish it.

Can't say will return although i'm sure it will be tough to find authentic italian restaurant in this area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S, Owner at Boskos Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Heliana- Thank you for reaching out and sharing your feedback, we truly take all comments to heart. We want each Bosko's visit to be a 5 star one so if you ever have any concerns with your order, please ask for management and we'll do all we can to make sure you have a wonderful visit. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your stars soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boskos Trattoria also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Boskos Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing