We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buena Vista Lodge & Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Anita Rainforest Ranch(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rinconcito Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel-Cabinas Curubande(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
617
302
125
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
617
302
125
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensdino parkmud bathhummingbird gardenzip lininghot springscosta ricafront officehorseback ridinghot poolsbutterfly enclosurefront porchnatural saunawaterfall tourdirt roadspring poolsremote location
Filter
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This escape was a true memory with a blue water river and beautiful hot pools. The grounds are immaculate and a paradise setting with the palnts. Wish my home looked as good. Great cabinas but make sure one will be available if you stay over/ Next time i will stay over as it is soooo relaxing. If you like nature this is a neat spot.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-Dodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My wife and I stayed few days at the Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. The place is amazing, we spent our time using the Natural Hot Springs, seeing the butterfly Farm and walking through the Botanical Gardens,
The accomodation is first class and so is the service.
I higely recommend this place and looking forward to return to the resort next year again for vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VardeOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

It was a dream come true!
away from the ordinary. friendly staff with genuine smiles, specious rooms / cabins
No doubt nature has a great part in the this wonder 2 nights vacation... have met nature in creation... enjoyed hot mineral pools, horse riding and tempting food.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobipanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I live about 50 miles from the Blue River resort and had read about it and decided to make a visit one Sunday. Basically, I went to have lunch and look around.

It is a beautiful place, well-thought out, lovely gardens and nice buildings. At recepcion, I was met by a friendly young woman and I asked if I could just have lunch. "Of course!" she replied and told me to drive in and park in the parking lot about 100 meters away from the entrance. She opened the gate for me and I did as I was told. (Excellent security, by the way) I was met by a young man who took me on a little tour of the facilities - great gym and excellent massage rooms, sauna and steam room - and on to the restaurant.

I had an excellent lunch - great salad, rice with shrimps and French fries. Everything was well cooked, there was a huge amount of rice and a good amount of shrimps and the salad had a nice variety with hearts of palm and avocado in addition to the standard tomato and cucumber. The chef plated the rice in the form of a volcano and put a couple of streams of ketchup to resemble lava flow. It was kind of cute - but really reminded me of Arenal Volcano, not where I was eating. The menu was extensive with a nice selection of both typical Costa Rican dishes and others. One of the things that startled me from the appetizer section was hummus with pita bread. I was tempted...

I looked around and took some photos and the cottages look really nice. All the work and decor that I saw was tasteful and often elegant so I think the cottages will be very comfortable and furnished nicely. I did not go inside, however.

All the staff, including my waiter for lunch, were very friendly and seemed caring.

For me, the downside would be the location. It is far away from anything, deep in the countryside and about 20 km down a gravel road so getting there is not quick or easy. I would, however, recommend it to anyone who is stressed out and looking for a peaceful getaway. It is quiet and there are some things to do and with the sauna, steam room and massages available, they could put you right very quickly.

The only other negative was that the dining room was open air and it was very hot when I was there and I think there would be a lot of mosquitoes at night. There is a fairly large bar and two TV's - which I normally don't like in a dining room but that day, I managed to watch one of the World Cup matches.

There was an extended family eating while I was there - a total of three adults and a child - and the waiter was very attentive to their every need, which seemed to be many.

Would I recommend staying here? Maybe. If you don't mind the location, I think everything would be fine. I am sure they have activities in the area for people to do.

I didn't drive from Liberia, which is what the directions describe, but from Upala. It is about 40 miles from Upala and at least half of that is gravel road. Probably 5 miles of that is rough road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 9-04-2015kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews