We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ocean Palms Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$149
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$150
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$179
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LEGOLAND California Hotel(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$325
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
107
85
29
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
85
29
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbenihana restaurantfront desknice hotelfree breakfastcarlsbad beachcorner roomfree weightspool and hot tubbath towelsbeds were comfortablenice breakfastbusiness travelergreat roomgreat poolfridge and microwavelego landan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We have been coming to Carlsbad for 15+ years and stayed at the prior motel at this location. It was upgraded to a hotel a few years ago and we are so happy as this is one of the best locations. Nick the manager has the place well staffed and Marcella the assistant manager is very knowledgeable about places to eat around town. They have an amazing breakfast just like you see on the TV ads, but it is all about location, location, location. Walk to the state beach or jump in a car and explore. Close to Legoland as well as you can walk to a shopping center that has it all drug store, grocery, food, food, and more! Great staff and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean views and if longer stay get a room with kitchen and living room!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Good Day Barbara M,

We greatly appreciate you providing us such detailed feedback of your 5 star experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel's great location withing walking distance to the beach and near Legoland. We are also delighted you thought our complimentary hot breakfast was amazing. Our great staff can't wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Great room, nice location near the beach, and such a welcome. Makayla has gotten shout-outs elsewhere in these reviews, and she deserves them. She made my wife and I feel right at home for our anniversary staycation.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GideonMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Good Day GideonMarcus,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback of your 5 star experience. We are ecstatic Makayla made you and your wife feel right at home during your special anniversary staycation! We are fortunate to have Makayla part of our overall wonderful Front Desk team. We are also pleased you thought our rooms were great. Our pleasant and welcoming team can't wait for you and your wife's next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked the reservation and was pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn Express. You can walk to a very nice sandy beach and pier with fun shops and restaurants. You probably need a car to go elsewhere and parking is ample and free. The fitness center was small but fine for my needs, clean with free weights and a few machines.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Good Day DM N,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your positive experience with us. We are delighted you took advantage of our convenient Carlsbad location within walking distance to the beach and several fun dining options. We are also pleased you received good service from our staff as well. Our accommodating team looks forward to making your next visit a 5 star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This is our first stop on our California Adventure and we picked it as it was 2 hours drive from LAX, conveniently close to the highway, only 30 mins from San Diego and by the sea.
The hotel is a standard holiday inn express but it exceeded what we thought. The staff we very friendly and courteous. The room was a great size, the bed very comfy (my husband wanted to steal his pillow because it was so comfy!), the bathroom with a great big walk in shower and generally very clean. The free breakfast was a great addition and had lots variety for everyone.
We are leaving here today for the next part of our trip but we are glad we stayed here and recommend to others.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JoanneChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Joanne,
All of us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach are happy that we were able to offer you a stay worth returning to. We hope you will visit us again. We greatly appreciate your recommendation, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

The hotel is very new and very well kept. The room was very clean and pretty good size. The pool is not that big but since not many people were there it was okay for us. The location is good. There is a Sushi restaurant next to the hotel. Very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnaanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We are glad to hear that you and yours had a comfortable 5 day stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach. We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our ideal location, close to so many fun activities in Carlsbad, as well as San Diego County. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope you’ll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews