We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good family accommodation near Legoland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good family accommodation near Legoland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a portacot; which comfortably fit 2 adults, 2 kids and a baby. The hotel is quite new and the room was in immaculate condition. The beds were particularly comfortable. There was a coin-operated laundry down the end of the hall, which was very much appreciated. The breakfast wasn't the best for anyone watching their calorie intake, but for the good price we paid for our room, I wasn't complaining.

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to Legoland and felt that we got excellent value for our money. It wouldn't be a good choice if you didn't have a car, but with a car it was quite an easy commute, although our GPS did get a bit confused a couple of times. We arrived in the evening and I found out the next day that the hotel is right near an airport (only because I saw the airport in the daylight). We did not hear any airport noise whatsoever during the night or early morning.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Legoland. There is nothing overly fancy about it (which we didn't need anyway); but it is new, clean, comfortable, well appointed and good value for a family of 5.

P.S. I got a quick look at a disabled room by chance - they are HUGE. Definitely recommended if you are eligible.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors won't get as much carpark noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellebana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illa j, Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Hampton Inn Carlsbad. Look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    190
    51
    16
    9
See reviews for
271
73
37
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Last time we stayed at the Homewood Suites just next door to this property and if I can choose, I'd go back to the Suites. We are a family of 4 w/ 2 small kids. Having that full kitchen and separate sleeping quarters really does make a big difference, especially if staying more than 1 nt.

Hampton Inn is nicely kept but it was just too simple. My husband liked the beds better here than at Homewood Suites, I can't remember how it was there but for me at the Inn, it was alright. Nothing special, nothing negative. My biggest complaint would definitely have to be the SUPER THIN walls, and floors. I heard the person next door snoring all night!

There is a medium sized fridge, but it gave a rather annoying buzzing sound. There is also a mini microwave in the room, but we never used it. A big plus, and what made this stay not terrible was their hot breakfast. Served from 6am-10am, it was a good selection of coffee/tea, juice and milk, variety of breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, and hot selections like egg/simple omelet, cubed potatoes, sausages...no bacon during our stay though. The best part of breakfast for me was their waffles, that you make yourself. Really yummy. I ate a whole bunch of waffles during this stay!

Hot breakfast definitely better at Hampton Inn, but for families staying more than 1 nt, I think Homewood Suites would be better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illa j, Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for staying with Hampton Inn Carlsbad, and we are here to make sure that you had a great stay with our Hilton Family Hotels. If you come and stay with our Homewood & Suites next time, be sure to stop for Breakfast. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We just came back from a weekend trip with the kids. Great place to stay - the hotel is only about 4 years old, and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was delicious. It was about 10 minutes from Legoland and 30 minutes from the Safari Park. Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsc309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illa j, Manager at Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Carlsbad for your stay. I am so glad that you and your family had enjoyed our Hotel and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Enjoyed my stay, rooms clean, staff friendly and helpful, cleaning staff do their job well, mini breakfast was sufficient and go, fitness center has three cardio machines and dumbells for working out. Small pool and spa but I didn't use these.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Excellent value for money. 10 min drive from Legoland and I-5. Great complimentary breakfast - muffins, bread, chilled eggs, mini omelettes, sausages, yogurt, juices, waffles, great coffee. Clean spacious room, nice bed, free wi-fi. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Lots of ice in ice vending machine for the cooler. Definitely recommend. We got a king bed for 98/night incl the breakfast. Friendly staff, ample parking for free.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praks-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
5.5 km away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
5.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
4.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County

Property: Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Address: 2229 Palomar Airport Rd, Carlsbad, CA 92011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Carlsbad
#8 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#11 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): $152 - $258
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing