We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Website
US$479
View deal
Booking.com
US$479
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$433
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$433
Lol.travelUS$496
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary bikes le labo design details welcoming vibe located steps hear the ocean waves the entire property heated floors quiche minute drive glass of wine other guests pastries downtown carmel carmel by the sea bidet pits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

We had an amazing stay during our time in Carmel. The hotel is adorable, impeccably styled, clean, and had the coziest environment. The staff were above and beyond any we’ve ever experienced during our frequent travels. Overly kind, helpful, and accommodating. Perfectly located steps away from the beach. We were extremely impressed, had an amazing time here and cannot wait to visit again!! By far the best option when planning a trip to Carmel!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2022

Wow… we couldn’t have had a better experience from start to finish! We were a group of 8 ladies traveling for our annual YPO retreat. From our initial inquiry… to booking rooms… to checking in (we were running late from the airport to catch a restaurant reservation and George met our Uber at the curb to grab our bags so we could continue to the restaurant)… the delicious breakfasts that were included… the beds / rooms / property (everything beautiful, comfortable and new)… location (across from the ocean and 15 minute walk to downtown)… the AMAZING service from ALL their staff… I really can’t think of one negative (or even average) thing to comment on! This stay 100% exceeded all of our expectations (and for a group that sets a high bar), and I can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: August 2022
Thank Surjaatmadja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 August 2022

Villa Mara, Carmel is the hotel that Carmel has been yearning for. They embody a classic elegance while maintaining up to date furnishings and appliances, making the experience feel so fun and clean. The staff is unparalleled; I never felt like just another guest on the property. I felt a genuine interaction and real sense of kindness from each member on their team.

We spent our days enjoying the included and delicious breakfast spread in the morning, riding the complimentary bikes around town, or down at the beach, just a short walk from the hotel. After a nice evening we would share a bottle of wine offered complimentary around one of the several fire pits on the property. I couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking in the area.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicholassmall818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 July 2022

We were fortunate enough to find Villa Mara on our coastal trip. We arrived in Carmel without a hotel booked and called Villa Mara to see if there was availability. George answered and kindly described the available rooms. He graciously showed me both rooms with no pressure to decide. We were offered wine during the check-in process and then were shown to our room by Robert, who described the features including the heated bathroom floor, outdoor patio and well stocked complimentary mini-bar. And, we now understand the appeal of a bidet, especially the heated seat! The hotel is beautifully decorated with multiple fireplaces and outdoor fire pits for relaxing and socializing. The owner, Dev, shared his experience purchasing and renovating the hotel and his passion for creating a truly special atmosphere is evident. The hotel is located on a quiet street close to town and within walking distance of the beach. We enjoyed morning walks and returning to the hotel for breakfast which included fresh pastries, fruit and quiche. The staff are all extremely friendly, attentive and truly seem to care that the guests have an exceptional experience. Highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 July 2022 via mobile

I had an amazing stay at this property! The staff made me feel at ease the entire trip. The amenities were above and beyond. Very comfortable stay. The location could not be better, short walking distance from the property to Carmel Beach. I recommend booking this hotel for a great experience.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank caltravel161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
George Nagata, General Manager at Villa Mara Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2022

Dear caltravel161,

Thank you for your kind words and your enjoyable experience you posted! I'm delighted that we made your stay memorable and the staff took our service approach of treating you like family. We hope that when you are back in Carmel, we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews