We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Priceline
US$159
View deal
Expedia.com
US$128
View deal
Hotels.comUS$128
TravelocityUS$128
Trip.comUS$159
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveller rating
679
355
117
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
679
355
117
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages big sur the crossroads private patio main building point lobos short drive grounds are beautiful bed was comfortable gas fireplace coffee maker we've stayed sitting area cabin dog hammocks property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022

A simple Inn with basic rooms in a cute setting next to the river. They have rooms and cottages. The rooms are basic but have cute back patios facing the river bed. Clean, but the walls are thin. Check in/out was easy. Free coffee but no breakfast (Starbucks across the highway).

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2022

Appreciate the booking experience. Had a couple emails and they were answered quickly and staff was very polite and helpful. We appreciated the bunk beds for kids and dog friendly option.

We have stayed twice now, and both cabins were nicely updated. My only input was, maybe since they know four of us are staying, they could leave place settings for four instead of two. Plus, a few basic cooking (wine opener or cutting board) and dish cleaning items. One room had a tea kettle (big tea drinkers) and the second one did not.

Also, wasn't sure where the outdoor fire pit was in the evenings. Its in all the adds but not on when we visited.

Overall, very happy with our experience and will be back!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Thank you for your feedback. The firepit is near cottage 36 and 37. At the firepit there is a sign asking guests to contact the front desk if they would like the fire turned on. For obvious reasons we do not want unattended fires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

We had one upstairs Inn Room, with a balcony overlocking the green trees with our morning cafe vary quiet. Great location to go for breakfast and CVS Safeway
and close for Dinner in Carmel
Great tasting Cafe at the very friendly office,
And to top everything it is very clean and a great pool

Room tip: higher floors are quieter
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Baerbel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022

We have have been guests of staying in the cottages here since 2018 and absolutely love it!!!!! This is the place you go where you will have total privacy and true peace and quiet! If you rent a cottage in the back, only a couple of the cottages have adjoining walls but all of the rest of them don't and it's great for peace and quiet! You don't here any one to the right or left of you, above you or below you!!! It's like having your own mini-home to yourself! It's a great place to bring your dogs also! The staff are very accommodating and are available at ALL HOURS!!!! So many down town shopping areas right across the highway from you for quick access should you need anything or want to go to really quaint restaurants to eat at! You are also super close to ANY beach in Carmel, Monterrey OR any of the neighboring cities you would have your pick of to go to! Carmel River Inn is the place you want to come to to truly get away from it all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room tip: Not sure about the hotel rooms in the front of the establishment but the cottages in the back are VERY quiet and private!!!!!!
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrismR9030NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Thank you! See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2022

The room was super cute and had great amenities! The only issues I had were that the laundry was attached to the back of our cabin which made the entire building shake violently and the air conditioning in our cabin didn't work. We'd just leave the windows open and that cooled down the room a bit, but it still stayed pretty warm in there. Otherwise, everything was really clean and nice! The hotel is super close to everything, not necessarily within walking distance but still really close. I would definitely stay there again!!!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stopridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews