We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Priceline
US$159
View deal
Expedia.com
US$128
View deal
Hotels.comUS$128
TravelocityUS$128
Trip.comUS$159
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,273)
Filter reviews
1,273 results
Traveller rating
679
355
117
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
679
355
117
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages big sur the crossroads private patio main building point lobos short drive grounds are beautiful bed was comfortable gas fireplace coffee maker we've stayed sitting area cabin dog hammocks property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,273 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent place to stay for Poodle Day. Great cottages- some with kitchens. Granite pathways throughout the grounds with huge cypress trees. Friendly staff. Great coffee in lobby! Pet friendly- lots of poodle less in October.
We try to come every year!

Room tip: Watch closely for the turn to Oliver Road. A bit hidden.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank wendym921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2022

OK,,,we stayed here for four nights the middle of september. our original cottage, #41, a studio with kitchenette, was one of the older units, but was well kept and roomy. except for the bathroom, which was incredibly small and very cramped quarters. however, we decided to give it a try, but on the morning of the third day, we went to the desk to see if there was possibly another cottage available. Michael, the manager, was TOTALLY understanding, accommodating, and professional regarding our request. fortunately, there was another unit available, one of the newer cottages and we switched to that one,,,#54,,,,WONDERFUL in every respect....location, size, amenities, comfortable bed, etc etc etc,,,,even had a small deck/porch with a table and two chairs which was great for morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. the room change was definitely a game changer and i would absolutely stay here again when visiting carmel. HATS OFF TO YOU MICHAEL AND THANKS AGAIN!!

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank casperntn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2022

So unhappy to check in and immediately looked at our cabin and it was run down and shabby. Opened the door and it was HOT inside and SO musty. Multiple windows, but only two had screens to get fresh air. Shower stall was super small, dark and cramped. Knew right away we could NOT stay here and we have stayed at countless motels and modest cabins in the past. This was NOT what we expected and sadly since we already checked in we had to eat the cost of a one night stay which was ove $300; insanely overpriced for awful accommodations. Would NOT refer anyone to this place.

Room tip: DON"T stay here
Date of stay: September 2022
Thank onspithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

​Thank you for your recent stay with us! We apologize that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and that we fell short of your expectations. We have quite a few different options in cottages, we are sorry you did not find the cottage you were placed to your liking. We will discuss your comments with our staff and management. Thank you kindly for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2022

This is an amazing property, especially the cottages out back! Our favorite getaway from the Bay Area and all the best Carmel restaurants doordash to this location.

We just booked an upcoming trip and Michael who answered the phone when we called was so helpful in getting us situated with the right room for the length of our stay. Thanks so much, Michael!

Room tip: Get a cottage!
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyYsanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Cute spot on the south end of Carmel by the Sea. Private small well maintained cabins. Beds were comfortable. The grounds were maintained and clean, shower had good pressure and water was hot.

The online photos does not match the actual cabin you are receiving. I thought I was getting a bathtub, and come to find out very few cabins have bathtubs. If that the case, they should remove that picture from the website, I find it misleading.

This site has a pool and no hot tub.

Front desk (Richard) was kind, and was very helpful.

Room tip: Great for people with pets, a weekend get away, couples, and families
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GottaFeelFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews