We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$159
View deal
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Priceline
US$159
View deal
Hotels.comUS$152
TravelocityUS$152
Trip.comUS$159
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
689
356
117
77
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
689
356
117
77
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages big sur the crossroads private patio main building point lobos short drive grounds are beautiful bed was comfortable gas fireplace coffee maker we've stayed sitting area cabin dog hammocks property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2022

Pet Fee is $100!!! It was just $40. It’s a total rip-off. I’ve been coming here for 20 years. Never again, every place else is $25. The room was $136. They’re charging my dog practically as much as me!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Thank you for your recent stay with us! We are sorry for your dissatisfaction in regards to our pet fee. Please understand this is not an arbitrary fee. We require a high level of cleanness and sanitization in our rooms for all our guests. There are extra steps we take after a furry friend's stay. We have evaluated the costs associated with accommodating pets and unfortunately like other cost, they have risen. We have reviewed this fee at other local hotels and we are comparable. Please note our pet fee is a flat fee, instead of a daily fee we hope this assists guests that stay multiple nights.

Again thank you for staying with us and we do hope you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2022

Good location and quaint little cottages! Staff was friendly and welcoming, rooms were beautify, the fireplace in the room was the actual heater. Nicely appointed and worth a definite return. Coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, large bathroom, a wonderful romantic place for a weekend get away.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smc11522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2022

Always enjoy staying there. We have been doing that for years and we will continue going there whenever we can. The setting is serene, the management is helpful and the service is good. The exit onto Highway 1 North (left turn) can use some safety considerations.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank basimsayigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2022

Mattresses on beds too soft. Not comfortable Outside air coming in their door Did not like having to climb stairs no air conditioning and no heat. Could not get internet could not get or send emails

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2022

What an amazing place to spend time with friends. The charming rooms were large, clean and comfortable. There is space to hold group events and the management was excellent at meeting all of our needs.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews