We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$529
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hyatt.com
US$499
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/22
Priceline
US$529
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Expedia.comUS$529
TravelocityUS$529
Lol.travelUS$608
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,690 results
Traveller rating
812
398
218
146
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
398
218
146
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view big sur sunset lounge wood burning fireplace point lobos carmel highlands two story views are spectacular road noise valet parking fitness center main restaurant minute drive beautiful property carmel by the sea timeshare balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,690 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2022 via mobile

Hotel rooms are spacious but need urgent renovation. We paid 900 dollars / night, which seemed to be far too much for what the hotel offered. Friendly staff and location is good - we could get to almost any interesting location within a few minutes driving.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Wanderer64763974140
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and appreciate your compliment to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2022 via mobile

We have just arrived at the Hyatt Highlands after a long drive from LA, and what a disappointment.

This place is terrible! We booked the ‘Big Sur Suit’ and what a joke. The so called ‘Palour’ is a big room containing a pull out couch, small table and two chairs, a cheap TV and a fire place, photo attached.

The room appears to be circa the 1960’s and is smells like it too. A strong smell of damp greeted us as we entered the room, so if you suffer from breathing issues, might be better to stay clear.

Aside from a lick of paint, some new cabinet tops and a new TV, the room hasn’t changed in 60 years. All the door surrounds show the dents of times, just painted over, paint runs and all. The bathroom tiles look original and have staining around the toilet.

I can’t believe the Hyatt, puts their name to this place.

I have no idea what we paid for the room, but if I cut it in half and half again, it would still be too much.

The magic of photography makes the place look good, but it’s not.

Don’t stay here, there must be better options.

Room tip: Helpful hint…. Don’t Stay Here
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Reflections1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2022

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and will share your observations with staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2022

I've stayed here a couple times and it's an okay hotel but...

I've now canceled two different trips and both times they didn't refund the deposit for MONTHS.

I had to call and complain both times before the deposit got refunded.

Super shady.

Date of stay: April 2022
1  Thank mcrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We regret any delay you experienced after your cancellations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2022 via mobile

The views from our room are superb. The lounge and restaurant views are outstanding. The rooms are quite outdated. We’ve been coming here a few times over the years and nothing has changed. The grounds are magnificent. They really take care so that everywhere you go is beautiful. Beware. If you cannot do steps don’t come here

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your compliments to our views, grounds and Pacific's Edge Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

I have been a Hyatt member for over 30 years. And I’ve earned almost 2,000,000 points during that time. I stayed in hundreds of different hotels with a Hyatt brand and 99% of the time Hyatt brand is exceptional. Unfortunately, the Highlands Carmel is exceptionally subpar. The rooms are old and dated and accommodations are cramped. It is not the experience I expected for the price as charged. I suppose my expectations were substantially higher, but when we arrived the room a small damp old and musty. Heater did not work properly and we couldn’t leave the window open because it seemed like everyone was burning wood in their fireplace. The parking was ridiculous and the overall ambience was questionable. There was nothing to do with him walking distance and the drive from the Highlands into Carmel was not convenient. I would never recommend this property to anyone. I have never been more disappointed in your vacation stay than I was during this trip

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank DR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were disappointed in your stay and will share your comments with appropriate staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews