We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
225
28
10
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
225
28
10
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit great location wine hour walking distance to all the shops electric fireplace great stay can't beat the location complimentary breakfast glass of wine ceiling fan clean rooms central location anniversary trip visiting carmel first floor nice breakfast hard boiled eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2022

The hotel is cute, rooms are on the small side. Our rate was high season and it was not a good value. Location excellent for walking to dinner, wine tasting, etc. Room 19 is very loud as the room faces Junipero St. and the bathroom faces Sixth Ave. The hotel is located at possibly the busiest intersection in the area so you really hear cars from very early in the morning to very late at night. The windows are old and not double pane so you also hear people talking on the street below.

Room tip: Avoid Room 19 as it is noisy.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback and will use this to improve the experience for future guests and we hope that you will join us in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2022 via mobile

This place is so cute and clean. Nice fireplace and nicely decorated, you can walk to everything. The staff was so nice and helpful, nice breakfast as well.

We would stay here again. I’ve been to Carmel many times and would definitely this place.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kathyaT637MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2022

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything The Getaway has to offer and the staff was great as well during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2022 via mobile

The Getaway is a great place to stay. Walking distance to shops and restaurants, bikes and beach blankets to use, and a great fire pit to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine. Room 2 has a private entrance off 6th!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank natemP8936FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

My young daughter and I stayed here on a trip up to see the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Aquarium was very close, maybe 15 min. Everything in town is walking distance. Restaurants, shopping. Even a little market just behind the motel. Coffee, tea and water are always available in the lobby, as well as a happy hour. Parking is tight, literally, thw spaces are close and on a slight hill so that was always fun to maneuver in my mini van, but its free. The rooms are clean and include a small table and chairs to enjoy the complimentary breakfast they bring to the room each morning. I would definitely stay here again if we are ever in Carmel. Oh, the walk to the beach is doable, but the walk back is multiple blocks uphill. Great stay over all

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AprilS859
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2022

Hi April,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Carmel by the Sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Our room was small but well equipped, nice bedding and toiletries. The down side was the room we were allocated had not much natural light. Room number 10 is tucked behind the stairs. We also faced into the cleaning cupboard so not much privacy with all the comings and goings with cleaners taking out their equipment to prepare the rooms. The biggest surprise of our arrival was the lady on the front desk. In stark contrast from all the happy greetings we had received during our trip around states she was miserable and decisively unwelcoming. We were pleased we were only staying 1 night.

Room tip: Avoid room 10
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 174katharinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2022

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your room, we hope that you will give us another chance and for your return trip, our team will work with you to make sure that you are in a room that has light and if possible placed where best suits your needs for your stay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews