We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, excellent staff but a TIRED suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2017

My wife and I visited for four nights in October. While the grounds and facilities are lovely, we were disappointed with the condition of our room. When we pay $500 per night for a room we expect a "Four Seasons" like experience. Our room seemed to have had a half-hearted refresh sometime back and there were numerous signs that we were in a very old unit.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank whitev15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Managing Director at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Whitev15,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch for your stay as well as taking the time to provide a thoughtful review. While we are happy to hear that you found our 500-acres to be lovely as well as our facilities, we are saddened to hear of your disappointment during your stay.

At The Ranch, exceeding your expectations is our top priority, and during your stay, we missed the mark. I want to take the time to personally and sincerely apologize for your room conditions. We are currently in the process of upgrading our suites and hope that you will visit us when we finish renovations in the future. These renovations will improve and refresh our 500-acre playground while staying true to the heart and soul of our property.

We hope to see you in the near future and please know that we are committed to fixing our shortcomings for our future guests, and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly on how we can improve the suites on property. Our Director of Rooms, Ivan Osorio, would be delighted to speak with you personally to ensure we improve in this area, and can be reached at 831-626-2565.

Warm regards,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

This was our 10th stay at the ranch and this time around we had a very disappointing experience! From the very long wait at check-in and just not being acknowledged to being asked if this was our first stay, to a very dated suite, lack of service at dinner and overall a shortage of staff to miscommunication about a rollaway bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathalievD2278AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Nathalie,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for our 500-acre playground. We sincerely appreciate you and thank you for choosing our property. I want to take the time to personally apologize for the shortcomings during your stay in regards to the wait at check-in and for your room as well as miscommunication. We are committed to improvement for our future guests, and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. I have contacted you separately via a private message as well. We would be honored to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience, and hope to hear from you soon.

Warmest regards,

Laurie Vickers
Guest Relations Manager
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

If you're looking for a 20 minute wait for Sunday brunch (which every other hotel in California can seemingly figure out) and accommodations that are tired (the rug in our room was ripped), then this is your place. The staff seemed scattered as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank crankycouple12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Crankycouple12,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for our 500-acre playground. We sincerely appreciate you and thank you for choosing our property. I want to take the time to personally apologize for the wait you had on the day of your Sunday brunch as well as the discrepancies with our staff.

We are highly committed to improvement for our future guests, and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally to learn more about your experience. I have contacted you separately via a private message as well. We would be honored to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience, and hope to hear from you soon to follow up on this important matter.

Warmest regards,

Laurie Vickers
Guest Relations Manager
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Everything was amazing. The salmon omelette, the rib eyes, the ceviche, the tuna salad and the carrot cake was so delicious. When we did eat outside of the ranch the quality was not the same so we ended up eating at the valley kitchen everyday going forward. Our room was amazing. The bee keeping experience was memorable. All the little touches really made our trip special. We work long hours and we really needed this trip to just be together and get back to nature. Thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G7916JAveronicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, General Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear G7916JAveronicam,

It has been a true pleasure hosting you for your perfect getaway at Carmel Valley Ranch. Thank you for graciously writing a review. To hear that the little touches added up to create a memorable trip are actions that fuel our staff. From the activities to the food it is our goal to provide service that exceeds expectations and creates memories that last a lifetime. You truly deserve to be able to relax and unwind, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another getaway. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Warmest wishes,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

The resort was well-kept, clean, huge, and had great staff and food. We didn't get a chance to do any of the on-site activities and can't wait to come back to do so. Also they serve s'mores around the fire every night.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C2332QJadamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, General Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear C2332QJadamp,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch for your getaway. Your thoughtfulness by providing this review is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the s'mores around the fire every night as well as the great staff and a clean resort. It is our mission to provide service that exceeds expectations while creating memories that last a lifetime. We are eager for you to return to our 500-acre playground to enjoy our signature activities such as the bee experience and archery.

See you soon,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
12.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
930 reviews
5.3 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
12.1 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
31.7 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,164 reviews
12.2 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 24 in Carmel
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: S$515 - S$1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing