We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,776)
Filter reviews
1,776 results
Traveller rating
1,223
295
143
67
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,223
295
143
67
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course family pool garland suite wild turkeys carmel valley organic garden adult pool infinity hot tub lavender fields lodge restaurant bee keeping fitness classes great resort the main lodge rolling hills spa treatments hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 1,776 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

This was our 10th stay at the ranch and this time around we had a very disappointing experience! From the very long wait at check-in and just not being acknowledged to being asked if this was our first stay, to a very dated suite, lack of service at dinner and overall a shortage of staff to miscommunication about a rollaway bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathalievD2278AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Nathalie,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for our 500-acre playground. We sincerely appreciate you and thank you for choosing our property. I want to take the time to personally apologize for the shortcomings during your stay in regards to the wait at check-in and for your room as well as miscommunication. We are committed to improvement for our future guests, and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience. I have contacted you separately via a private message as well. We would be honored to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience, and hope to hear from you soon.

Warmest regards,

Laurie Vickers
Guest Relations Manager
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

If you're looking for a 20 minute wait for Sunday brunch (which every other hotel in California can seemingly figure out) and accommodations that are tired (the rug in our room was ripped), then this is your place. The staff seemed scattered as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank crankycouple12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Crankycouple12,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review for our 500-acre playground. We sincerely appreciate you and thank you for choosing our property. I want to take the time to personally apologize for the wait you had on the day of your Sunday brunch as well as the discrepancies with our staff.

We are highly committed to improvement for our future guests, and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally to learn more about your experience. I have contacted you separately via a private message as well. We would be honored to speak with you directly to learn more about your experience, and hope to hear from you soon to follow up on this important matter.

Warmest regards,

Laurie Vickers
Guest Relations Manager
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Everything was amazing. The salmon omelette, the rib eyes, the ceviche, the tuna salad and the carrot cake was so delicious. When we did eat outside of the ranch the quality was not the same so we ended up eating at the valley kitchen everyday going forward. Our room was amazing. The bee keeping experience was memorable. All the little touches really made our trip special. We work long hours and we really needed this trip to just be together and get back to nature. Thank you for making it special.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G7916JAveronicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, General Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear G7916JAveronicam,

It has been a true pleasure hosting you for your perfect getaway at Carmel Valley Ranch. Thank you for graciously writing a review. To hear that the little touches added up to create a memorable trip are actions that fuel our staff. From the activities to the food it is our goal to provide service that exceeds expectations and creates memories that last a lifetime. You truly deserve to be able to relax and unwind, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future for another getaway. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Warmest wishes,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

The resort was well-kept, clean, huge, and had great staff and food. We didn't get a chance to do any of the on-site activities and can't wait to come back to do so. Also they serve s'mores around the fire every night.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C2332QJadamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, General Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear C2332QJadamp,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch for your getaway. Your thoughtfulness by providing this review is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the s'mores around the fire every night as well as the great staff and a clean resort. It is our mission to provide service that exceeds expectations while creating memories that last a lifetime. We are eager for you to return to our 500-acre playground to enjoy our signature activities such as the bee experience and archery.

See you soon,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

As a Business Development Manager I get a chance to take clients to places all over the world.

It can be a challenge to find a place that looks amazing but also has a up beat and friendly staff. Most of the time once you get high enough the staff can get a bit stuffy. Not the case with Carmel Valley Ranch. The valet and bell persons were happy to help and new as much as the people checking us in. The servers brought us food to the pool area and helped setup some utensils. They came by frequently to check in and see that we had towels and were taken care of with drinks. The amenities are extremely clean which is another sign of staff excellence.

I have told my wife that we are going to go her for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kharlo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVRManager, General Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Kharlo,

Thank you for choosing Carmel Valley Ranch for you and your clients. It has been a pleasure to host you, and we certainly will be counting down the days until you arrive back for your anniversary celebration. At The Ranch our mission for our staff is centered around our core values some of which include serving from the heart, freedom to go beyond, being yourself, and finding your fun. From the bell staff to servers, I am delighted to hear your service experience measured up to this expectation.

See you soon,

Giuseppe Lama
Managing Director
Carmel Valley Ranch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews