We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$1,285
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$1,285
PricelineUS$1,285
CheapTicketsUS$1,285
FindHotelUS$1,285
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,277)
Filter reviews
2,277 results
Traveller rating
1,564
372
189
88
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,564
372
189
88
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course family pool carmel valley organic garden wild turkeys s mores bee keeping outdoor tub fitness classes hiking trails spa treatments great resort the main lodge beautiful property guest services main restaurant tennis courts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,277 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, clean rooms and food in the primary restaurant available was very good. The concierge, Doug, did a great job making personalized recommendations.

We were only there a couple of days in conjunction with a trip to San Francisco, so we didn't have a chance to take advantage of all the activities and amenities this resort has to offer. And one of our two daylight time days was spent 90% of the time sightseeing at Big Sur.

It is a pricey place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank d4bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCEDES EVANS, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi d4bob,

Thank you for staying with us and for the nice comments. While you didn't spend as much time at the Ranch, we are thrilled that you explored Big Sur. It's a stunning location, and we are luck to be as close as we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have to agree with the many reviewers before me and state that for the price you would expect more. We stayed in room 226 and it was about 1000$/night. We wanted to have a memorable anniversary. I emailed the property ahead of time and they said they would make it special, so I relaxed. We got there and the two people Who checked us in said “happy anniversary”, that was it. Not a huge deal but still a part of this review.
Pros: the area is great(however there are other hotels), the restaurant Valley kitchen was good and a shout out to our waiter Bert, the golf course was nice and the practice facility was in good condition, The ranch area where the pool is set up for small kids was by far the best feature of this property.
Cons: the room is dark and dated, the lighting controls were super frustrating throughout the 3 nights we stayed there, the outdoor tub did not hold water very well, you can hear your neighbors loud and clear, the in room coffee machine made the same sounds a Jack hammer makes so you can hear when all your neighbors are making coffee, in room entertainment was lacking as well although we only watched the live tv option.

I really wanted to love this place but was never wowed

Room tip: It’s a kids kind of place during the summer
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank emann1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCEDES EVANS, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello emann1982,

Thank you for the feedback from your stay. We appreciate it and will get to work on these items. We are glad you enjoyed the family pool and golf. Also a huge thanks for the name mention of Bert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A perfect retreat in the valley. Sun, vineyards, and easy access to all the amenities one desires for an extended weekend. Stay in a suite with a tub and fireplace on the outdoor deck. It felt like pampered camping.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Rockfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCEDES EVANS, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dinamarie S,

Thanks for sharing such a nice review from your stay. I’m thrilled you got to enjoy some fun and relaxation. These rooms with the tub are spectacular and we can’t wait to have you back for s’more fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The trip was excellent. The staff was very helpful. It was a most enjoyable trip. Would be good if the cost were a little bit lower so it wasn’t so difficult for a family. We are looking forward to our next day. Please keep us posted on any specials that you might have

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 591brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCEDES EVANS, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there 591brian,

Thanks for choosing the Carmel Valley Ranch for some fun and sun. Most importantly for calling out our great staff. It means a lot for our team to be recognized. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family had a wonderful time staying at Carmel Valley Ranch and we have been coming back year after year. This is definitely a place for relaxation. The food is great! We love all the animals there. There are always plenty things to do at the ranch.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank susanyoung1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCEDES EVANS, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello susanyoung1060,

Thanks for the lovely review and for sharing your stay. I’m glad you got to enjoy all our new animal friends that have joined the Ranch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews