We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$714
View deal
Booking.comUS$714
Hotels.comUS$714
TravelocityUS$714
PricelineUS$714
Hyatt.comUS$714
Trip.comUS$840
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,517)
Filter reviews
2,517 results
Traveller rating
1,711
403
222
105
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,711
403
222
105
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course family pool organic garden outdoor tub carmel valley wild turkeys adult pool bee keeping s mores fitness classes hiking trails great resort the main lodge beautiful property main restaurant tennis courts golf club
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,517 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

I am so disappointed to write this review. My husband and I stayed here 5 years ago and loved it. This time we have tried to even like it, but we can’t. Let’s start with a positive. We arrived at 1.30pm and were allowed to check in to our room straight away - great we thought until we saw our room. We had booked a vineyard view studio room with outside bath but when we arrived our room was on the bottom floor with no view at all and was dark and rather smelly (more later). We were hungry though so headed straight back to the lodge for lunch. In arriving back in our room a bit later, the smell was oppressive and we worked out that the toilet was leaking, I won’t describe what, all over our bathroom floor. I called guest services immediately asking to change room and was told the resort was fully booked but they would send maintenance to look at our issue. 

We got back to our room after dinner and the smell had gone and the toilet was fixed! Great……

Until at 3.30am we were awoken to what sounded like stomping on the ceiling of our room. This continued until 5am which turned out to be a guest in the room above getting ready for an early check out. It was impossible to sleep through this but again, we put our positive heads on and headed to the gym (which I great) for a very early work out with a view to an afternoon sleep later in the day. But at 2.30pm when we wanted to get some rest, either the cleaners or the next guest was upstairs. I have no idea what they do in the rooms but again the noise was ridiculous and rest was impossible.

As $300 per night this would be forgivable. At $1,000, not so much

Service was patchy - some of the staff (particularly the buggy drivers) were great, others were pretty rude - particularly the lady on the restaurant reception desk.

Tip - insist on an upstairs room or stay well away

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LittleLiability
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I'm saddened to learn your stay with us was less than exceptional. Please reach out to our Front Office Team: Rebecah Roque <Rebecah.Roque@carmelvalleyranch.com> or Nicholas Connelly <Nicholas.Connelly@carmelvalleyranch.com> . We would appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

It is a beautiful property with so much to do. Golf was tied with the best I've ever had (we played Pebble Beach the week prior)...the property is quite hilly with some steps so wear flats, sandals, hiking or tennis shoes. Next time I'll ask for a room away from young kids :)

Date of stay: July 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank drbethdnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranch soon! Please do not hesitate to contact our Team <guestservices@carmelvalleyranch.com> prior to arrival and we will gladly assign your room in preferred location for a relaxing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022

Stayed at the resort to attend a business meeting. Overall, it's pricey (room and food). The room was basic. The food was excellent. The resort is off the beaten path, the grounds are beautiful, the stay (minus the business meeting) was very relaxing. If you need a get-away, this is the place to be to unwind.

Date of stay: July 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank MARIETTA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Dear MARIETTA H,
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay for a business meeting, including the grounds of the Ranch and food. We look very forward to welcoming you back for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022

My family had an excellent time and really enjoyed all the special attention we received. The staff was delightful and we loved the intimacy of the resort. I brought my two grandchildren ages 4 and 2 and they really enjoyed the s’mores in the evening around the fire pits.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank caryn185
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Dear caryn185,
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, including evenings by the fire pit, the food, and service. Thank you for choosing our Ranch - we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

Very well maintained property. Rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in the king ranch suite. Highly recommend if you are travelling with kids. They have a nice adult pool and hot tub, kids/family pool and tons of kids activities. Food is great at vally kitchen.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SwapnilZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tanya Pokhyliuk, Guest Services / Front Office at Carmel Valley Ranch the Unbound Collection By Hyatt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2022

Dear SwapnilZ,
Many thanks for not only making our resort your vacation destination but also for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and hope that we can welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews